Training Summer Footy Fix - 2022 training watch

I would have been very unhappy had that trade gone down...

Getting rid of a stalwart/possible 500 goal small forward for a 10-pick upgrade. Blurggghhh

If it was pick 13 on its own, yes, you'd have to try to do it, I guess...
And it would have stopped the “trade Bruest” posts which I know you love. I am happy that we will continue to have these posts until he retires

No one ever thinks of the kittens. They should have traded him.......

This is the team we picked to play Richmond in Rd 2:

BFrostHartiganHowe
HBImpeyHardwickMorrison
WMooreO’MearaDay
HFBreustKoschitzkePhillips
FO’BrienCeglarHanrahan
FOLMcEvoyMitchellWorpel
INTJiathBurgoyneShielsBrockman
EMGCousinsMorrisLewisScrimshaw

Not a lot of size in that team. We will be bringing a lot more grunt to the context this year - the youngsters will have had another pre-season and Newcombe and/or Nash will add hurt to the midfield.
TOB, Ceglar and Hanrahan as our FF line. Can’t work out why we couldn’t kick a winning score…

Hi guys, I’m a new resident in Waverley Park and am pretty keen to head down to the track to watch the intra club tomorrow. Is anybody ontop of the time it starts or any further information etc.
I am reasonably sure Jaeger asked us are we coming to the intra club on Tuesday afternoon.
There are a number of very informed residents that live around Waverly that will put you in the loop.

TOB, Ceglar and Hanrahan as our FF line. Can’t work out why we couldn’t kick a winning score…
To be fair we were getting domianted for periods on their transition and our attempted transitions.
The Richmond defense man handled us.

This is the team we picked to play Richmond in Rd 2:

BFrostHartiganHowe
HBImpeyHardwickMorrison
WMoore O’MearaDay
HFBreustKoschitzkePhillips
FO’BrienCeglarHanrahan
FOLMcEvoyMitchellWorpel
INTJiathBurgoyneShielsBrockman
EMGCousinsMorrisLewisScrimshaw

Not a lot of size in that team. We will be bringing a lot more grunt to the context this year - the youngsters will have had another pre-season and Newcombe and/or Nash will add hurt to the midfield.

There was quite a bit of progress over the 2021 season

Me and my teenagers are in there as well.

My observations from what was a family day was that Duke gives Worpel a run for his money in contests and has a presence.
Ward is just so fast in mind and neat with disposal. He looks like a lad that has had two or three preseasons already.
Will Day doing drills for touch makes the difficult look easy.
Mitch Lewis told us he has been eating heaps since Christmas and he is in ripping nick with added size.
Ned Reeves has also put on size and is not a bad kick for someone his size.
Finn misses kicks regularly as opposed to Moore who has vision and the ability to hit them.
Fionn the Irish lad didn't look out of place considering he has just arrived.
McEvoy and Shiels (and Sam)run like they are old blokes whilst Gunston runs smooth over the ground. Hopefully he can handle some physicality.
Harry Morrison enjoys the work and puts in. There maybe a bit of a point to prove this year.
DGB is a funny bugger and has "good bloke" in spades. Potential captain qualities is the years to come.

The last observation that stood out to me was how quickly the lads stopped sweating post training. I reckon they might be fit.
I havent seen the lads up close for a while and this current side has the feel of a young side that will be dominated by bigger experienced teams.

Well worth the drive out to Waverly for the morning.
Thanks for the observations Hotdog - even if ppl disagree with some comments, it's good to get a range of opinions/insights from those who were there.

Extremely bullish and super biased but Worpel could be the modern type mid, he’s not tall but he’s a decent height at 185/186cm. If he’s 90+ with good explosiveness he can really push to become that ig “Dusty” type.
Dom, pls.

Extremely bullish and super biased but Worpel could be the modern type mid, he’s not tall but he’s a decent height at 185/186cm. If he’s 90+ with good explosiveness he can really push to become that ig “Dusty” type.
I feel that Worps at 90kg can be a much more valuable player for the Hawks than at 85kg

5kg might not seem much but if its an extra 5kg of pure muscle his ability to break tackles, etc will improve a lot.

I personally don't trust the player stats (height, weight) on the Hawks website, always feels like its a couple of years out of date!

I feel that Worps at 90kg can be a much more valuable player for the Hawks than at 85kg

5kg might not seem much but if its an extra 5kg of pure muscle his ability to break tackles, etc will improve a lot.

I personally don't trust the player stats (height, weight) on the Hawks website, always feels like its a couple of years out of date!
Yeah for sure, if it's says 88 there, he'd be a fair bit bigger than that. I mean Sicily is for sure taller than what he's listed at like 188 or whatever, he wouldn't be too dissimilar to Scrimshaw.

They could have them accurate to the day if they wanted to.

At the end of the day, there's just no advantage to giving out bio data to your opponents.

it seems no-one can answer the question about WHEN training is on though... IIRC Monday and Thursday mornings, but then sometimes Friday morning. Oh, family day is different, and then if it's finals time, forget it...

But seriously, how many of us can you have on the balcony ?
Hahaha if I can bolt down the time, I’ll provide a full match report. Might have to keep an eye out throughout the day.
3 weeks leave, and all-round just stupid excited to see footy start up again.

It was a beautiful, warm evening in country NSW as the Bulldogs boys took to the track this evening. Great numbers tonight, with 35+ in attendance.

Coach was almost late but set the cones up in between drills to make up time.

Karen informed us of the new registration process but spoke for so long we needed a second warm up.

Off the fence work to start for 15 minutes with variations with everybody blowing hard by the end.
Running sets filled the gaps between drills.

Each drill gradually expanded out in distance which got tougher after each running set as fatigue set in.

Finished with ruck set up into full ground ball movement. Then ANOTHER running set.

Weekly fines followed this. Blackhawk42 copping a whopper for a rare double falcon thanks to overcommitting to a footy that got lost in the sun.

None of the young boys pulled on the weekend so that was disappointing.

My almost 32 year old body after a 2 hour Monday training session makes me question everything now 4 days of work are to follow.
The Red Rooster my wife picked up on the way home was placed in the oven to keep warm since I wasn't able to consume it until quarter past 8.

I may not make it to Wednesday but I'll try my hardest.

His numbers were down on his career averages last year. May not mean much but at his age, he is a year by year proposition.
Agree. A couple of signs last year he was starting to slow down. Had long periods in games of not touching it and numbers were down. His brilliance around goal remained however. Who knows we were a poor side so let's hope lack of supply was the reason but agree he is on the watch list due to being closer to the end than the beginning. One of my all time favourites the great man.

Training Summer Footy Fix - 2022 training watch