Game Day Suns vs Crows, R3 2020

The only thing I have liked so far is Ned Jones and Fog the first three in when Tex threw old mate over the line.

Jones plays with heart I like him a lot shame there isn’t many others like him. Hopefully these tough years don’t **** with him to badly.

Tex in the ruck.

Only positive at the moment.

Well that and we're truly off the hamster wheel of responding after a shit performance to prevent actual change.

Looks like we've not tried to fix clearances

We didn't drop anyone. We backed in failures and we're getting our just dues right now.

3) You may as well sack them then and there if a coach blames player effort.
2) Player effort is the coaches responsibility. He's got to motivate them, and he's got to get rid of the ones who are broken/selfish/incapable. 1) I liked Nicks presser a lot, he hyped up Jones and he took responsibility by saying its in the method.
1) Nicks talked up Jones after his 4th quarter :thumbsu: , after Jones was moved into the centre --- where he should have had more minutes, and that's not just hindsight. Many posters in here want to see Jones get more time in the middle. Jones is a mid, even as scrawny as he is, and has been ineffective when played on a flank. I like Jones; I reckon he's got the attributes of a really good player, but he'll only learn his craft playing where he should.
2) we see player effort/motivation very differently and it might be from how we played sport/s ourselves. I don't know.
Playing AFL footy, getting paid very well for playing the game you love, playing in and for the team and your teammates, playing to improve, playing to do your best add up to most, if not all that a player needs to be motivated and give 100% effort. Nothing in there about the Coach; that stuff comes from the player him/herself. Nicks' job is complex, multi-pronged, to formulate a game plan to best utilise the cattle he's got to get wins for the Club. Along the way, the Coach can add to team spirit, team bonding, can praise and reward players or show them how to play better, but if Nicks/Crows were unable to get better than a 75-point thrashing from our enemy (beating Port isn't enough motivation?) then something is seriously wrong.
I watched 2.5 quarters last week --- they were unaccountable, did not pick up loose men, didn't run hard for each other etc. and those factors are about effort. They were bystanders. It was a weak effort, and I wish I knew why, or better, that Nicks and the players themselves knew why. It's early days, sure, but it's looking grim.
3) That's dismissive, silly, and I didn't say or intend that.

Game Day Suns vs Crows, R3 2020