Autopsy Swans vs Roos Rd 7 2018

Sounds like I chose perfect weekend for camping with no reception. In no rush to watch the replay reading some ‘reviews’ on here

Oh you should watch it. If we’re to believe some of the press, it’s a priceless chance to see the Kangaroos in awesome form, as they clinically dismantle runaway flag favourites $ydney $wan$, eventually smashing the $wan$ by a record-breaking margin of two behinds.

Do watch it! Very few people are lucky enough to be alive and following footy in the same era as a team like these Kangaroos.

No he didn’t. Go and have another listen to the press conference.
The 19-year-old's kick never looked like missing, but Longmire told reporters after the game he would rather the forward had held up play by going back to take his kick. (I take that as a criticism- defined "the expression of disapproval of someone or something on the basis of perceived faults or mistakes".)
"That might have been a preference at that particular point in time," Longmire said with a laugh.
That's a ringing encouragement. Typical of Longmire. Go back and hold it up.
The kid took the game on clearly against instructions.
That's what's good about him. I just spoke to him then and he just said, 'What's the problem? I went back and kicked it'."

The 19-year-old's kick never looked like missing, but Longmire told reporters after the game he would rather the forward had held up play by going back to take his kick. (I take that as a criticism- defined "the expression of disapproval of someone or something on the basis of perceived faults or mistakes".)
"That might have been a preference at that particular point in time," Longmire said with a laugh.
That's a ringing encouragement. Typical of Longmire. Go back and hold it up.
The kid took the game on clearly against instructions.
That's what's good about him. I just spoke to him then and he just said, 'What's the problem? I went back and kicked it'."

He got asked a direct question “would you prefer he had held the ball at that point”

To which Longmire -"That might have been a preference at that particular point in time," Longmire said with a laugh. (With 23 seconds left on the clock and up by one point)

Went onto to say that’s the great thing about kids, have the confidence to back themselves.

There is not one coach in the AFL that would have wanted their player to play on in that situation. NOT ONE!

Let’s say he plays on, gets tackled or misses and the Dogs run down and score a goal. We lose. Do you think the fans around here would be feeling good about the fact that Florent took the game on at the wrong moment to do so? I very much doubt it.

This isn’t defending Longmire, this is bloody common sense!

The push is to the side with one hand on the back. McVeigh has no forward momentum from the push. Its to the side. Anyway how come in one of the most scrutinised passages of play on the weekend you are the only person I have seen raise the issue that it was a push in the back free kick. I might be old and feeble but I have a lot of mates apparently. I am not biased against McVeigh. His lack of leg speed is a joke now. He gets a game on the old mates rates favouritism of Longmire. Newman who should be playing in the firsts would have beaten Hartung to the ball with that start. It would not have been goal fingernail or no fingernail. Its pretty pathetic actually for a club to be whining about a video replay decision and ignoring the elephant in the room with McVeigh. He is past it.

Well you are completely wrong about the push in the side and completely wrong that McVeigh has no momentum forward from the push. It's right in front of you and you refuse to accept it.

If your "mates" think it's a push in the side then that's an interesting conclusion to draw.

I am not advocating it to be a free kick I am disagreeing with your analysis that McVeigh was easily pushed aside by a lightwieght.

Yes his legspeed is not that of a quick player but you seem on a mission to retire him on that one effort. He has been good this year not spectacular and probably worthy of the year contract they gave him. Whether he can keep that up for the year remains to be seen. Yes he is ageing but just like you who goes to that old chestnut in describing yourself he's not useless. I enjoy your posting style and love that you are a loyal supporter from the South days but ease up on your retirement plans to the end of the year or a few McVeigh stinkers in a row.

I'm probably the only one making any noise about the push being in the back not the side (Again not calling for it to be called a free) because I'm currently analyzing the whole match in fine detail to provide this board with umpiring stats. It's not much fun to be honest as it wasn't pretty to watch but that may be why I'm giving it more scrutiny than anyone else.

Well you are completely wrong about the push in the side and completely wrong that McVeigh has no momentum forward from the push. It's right in front of you and you refuse to accept it.

If your "mates" think it's a push in the side then that's an interesting conclusion to draw.

I am not advocating it to be a free kick I am disagreeing with your analysis that McVeigh was easily pushed aside by a lightwieght.

Yes his legspeed is not that of a quick player but you seem on a mission to retire him on that one effort. He has been good this year not spectacular and probably worthy of the year contract they gave him. Whether he can keep that up for the year remains to be seen. Yes he is ageing but just like you who goes to that old chestnut in describing yourself he's not useless. I enjoy your posting style and love that you are a loyal supporter from the South days but ease up on your retirement plans to the end of the year or a few McVeigh stinkers in a row.

I'm probably the only one making any noise about the push being in the back not the side (Again not calling for it to be called a free) because I'm currently analyzing the whole match in fine detail to provide this board with umpiring stats. It's not much fun to be honest as it wasn't pretty to watch but that may be why I'm giving it more scrutiny than anyone else.
Have to agree to disagree mate. Respect your opinion.

Assuming Hannebery and Franklin are not ready I'm trying to bring in the 2 tall forwards. So its Cameron and McCartin. Then Allir must come in. Also Stoddard off HB. Possibly Newman as well. Ronke, Fox and Florent must play as they need the experience.

McVeigh and Jack are the obvious outs. Cunningham probably next. So that's 3 players dropped to bring in the talls. Smith maybe? Not sure who else.
Under no circumstances are we dropping Smith for anything less than serious injury.

McVeigh played really well except for the brain fade kick, and although Jack couldn't kick straight, he was very involved in that game, especially in the midfield and contested ball. So I don't reckon either of them will be dropped. I thought Cunningham was having a really good year...

I'm really hopeful Franklin will be back this week (based on absolutely nothing :rolleyes:) and I reckon Aliir will get a run this week or next at the latest (for the same reasons :rolleyes:).

If they drop someone I reckon it will be Fox which will be harsh, I know...

He got asked a direct question “would you prefer he had held the ball at that point”

To which Longmire -"That might have been a preference at that particular point in time," Longmire said with a laugh. (With 23 seconds left on the clock and up by one point)

Went onto to say that’s the great thing about kids, have the confidence to back themselves.

There is not one coach in the AFL that would have wanted their player to play on in that situation. NOT ONE!

Let’s say he plays on, gets tackled or misses and the Dogs run down and score a goal. We lose. Do you think the fans around here would be feeling good about the fact that Florent took the game on at the wrong moment to do so? I very much doubt it.

This isn’t defending Longmire, this is bloody common sense!
Not one coach? I think the Richmond coach would, certainly Woosha and Clarkson doesn't encourage and want Rioli to run on? And the Bulldogs coach? I think there are a number of coaches that would encourage young players to run on. Ross Lyon wouldn't I grant you. Florent made the right decision, took the game on and knew he was being chased by a 200 cm ruckman kicking into an empty goal square. I know for a fact Ron Barassi would want him to run on because those were his precise instructions when he won a GF and changed the style of the modern game. Coaches before that wanted players to prop and cop. Been a bit of water under the bridge sine then.

At some point in the match for sure, but with 23 seconds to go and 1 point up? No way would they want any of their players playing on at that point. Completely Unnecessary risk. lol and you don’t know for a fact that Barassi would want his player playing on with 23 seconds left on the clock with a 1 point lead. Him changing the game is completely irrelevant. It is in the context of the game. Halfway through the second quarter, absolutely. Not in the last 23 seconds.

Good on Florent for pulling it off, I am a big fan and have been since his debut.

At some point in the match for sure, but with 23 seconds to go and 1 point up? No way would they want any of their players playing on at that point. Completely Unnecessary risk. lol and you don’t know for a fact that Barassi would want his player playing on with 23 seconds left on the clock with a 1 point lead. Him changing the game is completely irrelevant. It is in the context of the game. Halfway through the second quarter, absolutely. Not in the last 23 seconds.

Good on Florent for pulling it off, I am a big fan and have been since his debut.
Fair enough its all speculation. But there no doubt about one players point of view.
I knew he was lighting quick and a beautiful kick, so I backed him in,” Hannebery told K-Rock Football post-game.
Now there is a statement full of positivity, encouragement and celebration of the kids decision. And without a hint of criticism. Pity Longmire couldn't come up with something unambiguously positive to say like Hanners did. Still horses for courses I guess.

Can't remember who Forrito did it to but one spoil was just a blatant punch in the back of the head. Grub
I remember a game I think at Canberra where Forrito drove his knee in to Paul Williams when he was on the ground, absolute turd of the highest order.

Fair enough its all speculation. But there no doubt about one players point of view.
I knew he was lighting quick and a beautiful kick, so I backed him in,” Hannebery told K-Rock Football post-game.
Now there is a statement full of positivity, encouragement and celebration of the kids decision. And without a hint of criticism. Pity Longmire couldn't come up with something unambiguously positive to say like Hanners did. Still horses for courses I guess.
Go and actually watch the presser Connolly, it's available on the afl app. Words on paper don't show how happy he was with Ollie mate, he was genuinely stoked. I get what your saying btw but in this instance your taking it a bit far.

Id like to know the question? I am doubtful it was “should Florent have played on given the context of the game” I am not sure the response would have been the same.

I reckon there would have been close to 18 Swans yelling “HOLD!” when he marked the ball. I would have been if I was on the ground, and not because I don’t back the kids, but because given the context of the game, it was unnecessarily reckless.

The kid will be a gem though!

Go and actually watch the presser Connolly, it's available on the afl app. Words on paper don't show how happy he was with Ollie mate, he was genuinely stoked. I get what your saying btw but in this instance your taking it a bit far.
ok I will. Can I have my dinner first?

I'm not posting it to complain about the umpiring call I'm demonstrating something to another poster who was describing it as a push in the side. It is in the back and once agin you ignore that I say it would be a soft call if paid. In all fairness get lost.

I was posting generally apologies if it came across as directed personally.

Under no circumstances are we dropping Smith for anything less than serious injury.

McVeigh played really well except for the brain fade kick, and although Jack couldn't kick straight, he was very involved in that game, especially in the midfield and contested ball. So I don't reckon either of them will be dropped. I thought Cunningham was having a really good year...

I'm really hopeful Franklin will be back this week (based on absolutely nothing :rolleyes:) and I reckon Aliir will get a run this week or next at the latest (for the same reasons :rolleyes:).

If they drop someone I reckon it will be Fox which will be harsh, I know...

I’d keep fox over Cunningham after the weekend

Autopsy Swans vs Roos Rd 7 2018