Swans Worst XVIII 1990 - 2010

What a stupid ****ing thread, at least these guys have kicked one more footy at AFL level than most of you.

Bay 13 style rubbish. Matthew Nicks you are absolutely ****ing kidding, jeepers.

Another "jeepers".

As for the rest of your sentiments, let's just hope you've never criticised any Swans player on this board. Not one, not even a hint of criticism, otherwise you're being a wee bit hypocritical.

Another "jeepers".

As for the rest of your sentiments, let's just hope you've never criticised any Swans player on this board. Not one, not even a hint of criticism, otherwise you're being a wee bit hypocritical.

I tend not to criticise players too much, though I do criticise some of the things they do at times. I am probably a hypocrite but I see a massive difference between criticising a player for their recent efforts vs naming the spudliest to have bled for the club.

Nicks handed my boy his junior footy jumper in Auskick and was our club patron and it annoyed me to see his name brought up. I also liked the way he went about it and he had a few good years and some great games for the Swans.

Maybe I am just no fun, but seeing what these players have to go through to get to AFL level I am annoyed by these types of insensitive threads, particularly about our players.

The thing is, we all love these guys, anyone who has pulled on a Bloods jumper is treasured forever, they just couldn't cut it for us at AFL level and it's just funny to jest about the ones who didn't do that much.

OK, with apologies to Skank but I did ti anyway.

No apologies for a strong early 1990s presence, we were purely woeful and sub AFL standard for a couple of seasons.

Have picked guys who were meant to bring something to the club or had moments of excitement that led us to believe they would do something.

Shayne Smith, Nettlebeck (VC), Lang
Bomford, Hepburn, Angove
Begovich, Brunton (C), Barlow
Powell, West, Considine
Strooper, Hutton, F.Campbell
Chambers, Licuria*, Spriggs
Bryce, R.Ahmat, O'Farell, Werner

*at Sydney this guy was a joke.

A very special Worst Club man award: Brad Tunbridge. A good culture at a football club is priceless and when a ******** gets a hold of the culture of the club you need to throw out an entire generation of players.

And Mr DG - If I did this side again Nicks still wouldn't be close.

I tend not to criticise players too much, though I do criticise some of the things they do at times. I am probably a hypocrite but I see a massive difference between criticising a player for their recent efforts vs naming the spudliest to have bled for the club.

Nicks handed my boy his junior footy jumper in Auskick and was our club patron and it annoyed me to see his name brought up. I also liked the way he went about it and he had a few good years and some great games for the Swans.

Fair enough, I respect your comments.

But Nicks seemed to be the one, more than any other in the Eade era, to break my heart with his fumblings and bad decisions. He seemed an Eade favourite.

And yes, every player in the AFL is far above and beyond anything I could ever have dreamed of for myself, but they earn money far beyond my dreams too. Playing in the AFL doesn't make them superhuman.

I am with you SkankDanker you cyber snore! We have far more spud posters than players!:eek:

But in the spirit of things, Gerard Bennett you fv<king forgetful flogs!

As long as this thread is amiable - I'll post in it. Can't take this sort of topic seriously on any level.

The problem I have with this sort of thread, is that complete plonkas were sometimes also great blokes who really just tried their best. I still warmly refer to the entire 1999 squad - despite the greats who played, and the records that fell from pluggers boot - as the Stegglers (headless chooks - and I think a good proportion of the players mentioned were in that side - but I cheered for them all the harder because of it). :D

Troy Cook. Possibly the worst skilled player (in his time for Sydney) I ever loved the most. I saw him miss a shot from a mark inside the square once. He kicked the mud and it didn't make the distance from memory. (I think Eade traded him at the end of that year). But he was still exciting to watch. :thumbsu:

Ah Ricky Mott. My mates and I still refer to the 'Ricky Mott end' of ANZ stadium after he missed that infamous goal in 2002. Poor old lurch. :(

Simon Feast? Yowzers. That brings back some mediocre memories. :eek:

Nah...can't really sink the slipper in too much though. You shouldn't kick a man when he's down - especially a Swan.

A very special Worst Club man award: Brad Tunbridge. A good culture at a football club is priceless and when a ******** gets a hold of the culture of the club you need to throw out an entire generation of players.

What's the story behind this one? Never knew he had any attitude or off field incident?

First of all Matthew Nicks, Rowan Warfe and Troy Cook were all good players and i don't know why they were even brought up in this thread. Secondly Paul Chambers is a superstar compared to Stefan Carey....he should definately be the starting ruckman.
On another note personally i never thought much of Stephen Doyle.....had potential but played terribly.

Henry Playfair as a Swan.

166 Possessions. 10.3 Possession Average
14 goals 11 behinds. 0.8 goals Average
75 marks 4.6 marks Average.
16 Games.

Ummm... they're actually decent stats for someone playing as the 3rd tall.

I'm not sure why some of our posters are so keen to rubbish and disrespect someone like Playfair, who from all reports was actually a really good bloke around the club.

I don't mind the idea of a worst 22 thread so long as it's in good humour and not used to rubbish and put down players who worked their arse off for the good of our club.

I guess some people just support their club in different ways.

Henry Playfair as a Swan.

166 Possessions. 10.3 Possession Average
14 goals 11 behinds. 0.8 goals Average
75 marks 4.6 marks Average.
16 Games.

You have Brereton in the Forward line, obvious swap is Playfair.
Spud.

Dermot Brereton as a swan...

49 Disposals.. 7 Average
7 Goals.. 1 Average
21 Marks.. 3 Average

Dermot Brereton as a swan...

49 Disposals.. 7 Average
7 Goals.. 1 Average
21 Marks.. 3 Average

In a lot weaker side then Playfair has played in.

I don't mind the idea of a worst 22 thread so long as it's in good humour and not used to rubbish and put down players who worked their arse off for the good of our club.

I guess some people just support their club in different ways.

I support my club how it should be supported, you dont candy coat a players skill and abilities.
After all this thread isnt based on not rubbishing players, its a thread called Swans Worst...

Swans Worst XVIII 1990 - 2010