Sydney Salary Cap

The Qld clubs, like the NSW clubs, should have some form of benefit not afforded clubs from traditional AFL states. The relocation of players from interstate is a massive headache and the 100 year gap in junior development puts both states at an immediate disadvantage. No one wants to recognise this. Everyone justs wants to complain. Big Footy would have to be the biggest collection of whiners ever collected in one place. While the Lions may not need financial assistance, draft priority or compensation would seem fair to me

Exactly the COL allowance is "probably" being used to this affect at Sydney, which is then inherently unfair to the Queensland clubs.
IF we want an "game development allowance" than thats what it should be. Lets not pretend its something different.

The Qld clubs, like the NSW clubs, should have some form of benefit not afforded clubs from traditional AFL states. The relocation of players from interstate is a massive headache and the 100 year gap in junior development puts both states at an immediate disadvantage. No one wants to recognise this. Everyone justs wants to complain. Big Footy would have to be the biggest collection of whiners ever collected in one place. While the Lions may not need financial assistance, draft priority or compensation would seem fair to me
there is already a relocation allowance built in. "retention" is hogwash, you build a good culture and players want to stay (refer 1999-2004 and how few left), you let it go to shit and blokes want to leave (even if it's just down the road a la rischitelli/brennan).

lol

a very, very, very thinly veiled attempt to reinstate the lions own allowances by linking it to interstate recruits

apparently if you were born in adelaide the cost of living in sydney is higher than it is if you were born in sydney :confused:

You won't find a discussion about the Sydney salary cap without Swans fans saying 'oh but we need it to retain players because we can't develop our own', so Kerr like Nisbett before him has every right to question why the allowance is afforded to one (established) club only.

If it's for cost of living pressures, then the Perth clubs should receive some sort of allowance. If it's for player retention, Brisbane and GC should receive some sort of allowance.

It's the complete lack of transparency and 'sydney need it, end of discussion' mentality from the AFL that gives people the shits.

In a way it could be argued that players in non Melbourne based clubs do work harder than players in Melbourne based clubs as non Melbourne clubs have to go interstate every second week and as you all know going interstate to play a match means the players need to leave their homes earlier and they get home later as well so it is arguable that a player in a non Melbourne club would spend a extra couple of weeks (added up) away from their families during the season than a player in a Melbourne based club. Being forced to spend more time away from your family does mean a player deserves a little extra payment.

You've made a lot of assumptions about the personal situations of the players here.

there is already a relocation allowance built in. "retention" is hogwash, you build a good culture and players want to stay (refer 1999-2004 and how few left), you let it go to shit and blokes want to leave (even if it's just down the road a la rischitelli/brennan).
You've missed teh point, or just chosen to ignore it

You've made a lot of assumptions about the personal situations of the players here.

Well this is presuming that the players have families in their home state (state they are living in). I know many Swans players have children and because of the way the draw works a Swans player would have to spend a couple of weeks extra away from their family than a St Kilda player would away from his wife and kids.

Reality is when you are living on $250k a year, you are going to be living in a decent place in a decent suburb regardless of the city you are in.

Looking at median prices, the current annualized numbers are:

BONDI:
Unit - $650,500
House - $1,355,000

CLOVELLY:
Unit - $830,000
House - $1,837,000

COOGEE:
Unit - $655,000
House - $1,650,000

ELWOOD:
Unit - $535,000
House - $1,162,500

BRIGHTON
Unit - $770,000
House - $1,730,000

Now the Sydney prices are higher, but thats irrelevant. Adelaide prices are much less, but they get no reduction on their cap. The issue is affordability. Assuming these kids have SFA investments, and only have a small deposit, they can borrow around $1m and still remain below the level most consider mortgage stress to be kicking in at. This means the unit prices are easily affordable to anyone earning $250k. The houses are much more of a stretch, but its unlikely they would be needing to buy a house first up anyway (no wife and kids yet most likely).

What I agree on is for rookies especially, and first year players, a juice in the base salary is needed for BOTH Sydney and Perth. Beyond that though, I struggle to see how Kirk Tippett need an extra $100k a year to afford to live in Sydney. He can already afford to live there, the extra is just gravy.

I find it strange that the amount extra amount needed to live in Sydney v Melbourne is perfectly correlated to income.

Surely the CoL difference is the same regardless of how much you earn?

There is a difference between after-tax income, cost of living, and total personal spending (which would include essentials and discretionary).
A CoL allowance should not be correlated to income, or even correlated to predicted spending (which would be correlated to income).
A CoL should be correlated to the extra costs of essentials such as rent, food and transport for someone on an average wage (average for Australia not the AFL).

Reality is when you are living on $250k a year, you are going to be living in a decent place in a decent suburb regardless of the city you are in.

Looking at median prices, the current annualized numbers are:

BONDI:
Unit - $650,500
House - $1,355,000

CLOVELLY:
Unit - $830,000
House - $1,837,000

COOGEE:
Unit - $655,000
House - $1,650,000

ELWOOD:
Unit - $535,000
House - $1,162,500

BRIGHTON
Unit - $770,000
House - $1,730,000

Now the Sydney prices are higher, but thats irrelevant. Adelaide prices are much less, but they get no reduction on their cap. The issue is affordability. Assuming these kids have SFA investments, and only have a small deposit, they can borrow around $1m and still remain below the level most consider mortgage stress to be kicking in at. This means the unit prices are easily affordable to anyone earning $250k. The houses are much more of a stretch, but its unlikely they would be needing to buy a house first up anyway (no wife and kids yet most likely).

What I agree on is for rookies especially, and first year players, a juice in the base salary is needed for BOTH Sydney and Perth. Beyond that though, I struggle to see how Kirk Tippett need an extra $100k a year to afford to live in Sydney. He can already afford to live there, the extra is just gravy.

I agree.

Well this is presuming that the players have families in their home state (state they are living in). I know many Swans players have children and because of the way the draw works a Swans player would have to spend a couple of weeks extra away from their family than a St Kilda player would away from his wife and kids.

They can take their family's on holiday with their FF points.
Does Kurt Tippett have family in Sydney ( I assume they arent bringing his brother in )?
Do you have any evidence to suggest that those with family's get more of the slush fund than those who dont?

They can take their family's on holiday with their FF points.
Does Kurt Tippett have family in Sydney ( I assume they arent bringing his brother in )?
Do you have any evidence to suggest that those with family's get more of the slush fund than those who dont?

A person often gets paid more for work if their work keeps them away from their family than a person who is not kept away from their family. Soldiers for instance.

Living in Sydney playing sport professionally is not quite the same as working 12 hour days for weeks at a time on a remote mine site or serving on the front line in Afghanistan...

During that period Matthew Clarke, Shane O'Bree, Jason Gram and Des Headland all moved back to their home states, either by trade or through the PSD. Craig Bolton (a Canberran) also left for Sydney during that time. Jarrod Molloy was traded to Collingwood but I'm not sure if he'd requested a trade.

Chris Johnson also requested a trade, but was fobbed off and eventually stayed. Simon Black was also said to be unhappy being away from home at that time. God knows how many more there were.

It has been a constant issue for the Lions, regardless of how well they're going.

Yeah it would be interesting to see how Melbourne clubs would cope if more than 80 percent of their players came from interstate. They are kidding themselves if they think that Sydney and Brisbane don't the same bang for their salary cap buck as teams in AFL markets. Would be better if the AFL just called the Sydney allowance what it really is, a retention allowance.

At least you still have yours. We committed the mortal sin of beating Collingwood in a grand final, and they had to blame it on something other than themselves.

The other way to equalise things is to give NSW and Queensland clubs priority access to local players. That is why the Academy system is underway. But I am sure the Victorian mafia will take that away from us soon enough though when Brisbane or Sydney get to take the next Riewoldt or Crawford under the same rules as father/son.

Yeah it would be interesting to see how Melbourne clubs would cope if more than 80 percent of their players came from interstate. They are kidding themselves if they think that Sydney and Brisbane don't the same bang for their salary cap buck as teams in AFL markets. Would be better if the AFL just called the Sydney allowance what it really is, a retention allowance.

At least you still have yours. We committed the mortal sin of beating Collingwood in a grand final, and they had to blame it on something other than themselves.

The other way to equalise things is to give NSW and Queensland clubs priority access to local players. That is why the Academy system is underway. But I am sure the Victorian mafia will take that away from us soon enough though when Brisbane or Sydney get to take the next Riewoldt or Crawford under the same rules as father/son.

The AFL shot themselves in the foot when they scrapped the player retention allowance.

Instead of simply giving in to Eddie's wishes they should have revised both that and the COLA. Both should be available to all teams on a sliding scale.

The allowance we get is actually a COL player retention allowance, it's just easier for flogs on this site to see it as extra money the AFL gives us, which they don't actuallly give us. The one thing I'm certain of in this crud, is that the AFL will look at TPP between Sydney and Hawthorn for 2012, discover that Hawthorn paid more, and continue on their merry way

Oh? Where is the next Riewoldt going to come from?
You seem confused on a number of points.

I work away from home a bit. have also been a soldier.

As the company pays my travel and accom (as for a player) I get to claim $19 per day on tax.

so lets cut the garbage - it is charity and an unreasonable skewing of the cap.

Sydney supporters still showing they don't understand the game or its administration.

Staggering.

Surely there's something in your life more worthwhile than going from thread to thread trolling Sydney supporters.

It's been over a month now mate. Did the reality check we gave you on Grand Final day really affect you this badly?

On the flip side, there is more salary cap inflation with Victorian sides because any of the 10 clubs here can offer money to any player and the move is fairly simplistic for them, a lot of players interstate resist moving because it will be a major upheaval to move, even if they are going back home.

Did Voss or Brown or Akermanis leave because of a lack of money, it is well known Brisbane players took unders to stay together. If your club has a good strong culture players generally don't leave if they are happy where they are.

Brisbane has 14 players from Victoria, we have 11 players from outside Victoria. Brisbane and Sydney just do not have the local produce to pad their home numbers out like teams do in Vic, SA or WA. But, how many of these players are lining up to leave the club? Most players move due to a lack of opportunity, a very small minority miss family or dislike the different location, more money is not going to help fix that.

Supporters and clubs will just convince themselves they need the drip feed if it is there on offer. Who has left Brisbane due to a lack of money since Brisbane's extra space has been removed? I am not talking about all the people Voss pissed off either or the ones who jumped ship to GC.

Is it any more or any less than other clubs? Can clubs do more to make the environment more appealing to people who come from out of state. We recruit a lot of boys from SA and WA and most do not even entertain the idea of going back and it is not because we are throwing buckets of money at them. Some players are always going to want to leave, more money isn't going to stop the ones who are hell bent on going home.

Sydney Salary Cap