Certified Legendary Thread Sympathy for *essendon III - 4 Sept 2024 marks 20 years since *Essendon have won a final; Coached by the anti “RESULTIST”, RIP D2D and T_S

I think this dude has gone full smoke and mirrors behind the shadows.

1702884991178.png

32 is now the opposite number to 23. I'm no blardy Albert Einsteins, but I don't think it is or ever will be. So his first reason is wrong, and I wish him luck with his third reason. Year 9 will not be easy for him.
But as he is yet again on a modified program, he will have time to get the text books out.
I believe in you Magoo. Well besides your fourth reason, Beckham was really good at what he did.

Looking forward to beating them next year, has been a long time coming.

View attachment 1874358

32 is now the opposite number to 23. I'm no blardy Albert Einsteins, but I don't think it is or ever will be. So his first reason is wrong, and I wish him luck with his third reason. Year 9 will not be easy for him.
But as he is yet again on a modified program, he will have time to get the text books out.
I believe in you Magoo. Well besides your fourth reason, Beckham was really good at what he did.

I like Harry’s reason the best. Hilarious.

View attachment 1874358

Wow/ A nine year veteran, pushing how many? 150 games at senior level. On a million plus a game. I didn't recall him winning a B&F or getting an AA nomination but for that money he'd have to have been close (Brad Scotts would know this).

I suspect he's never had 2684 likes on any post he's ever made before so that's gotta count for something.

I guess.

I doubt if many who clicked LIKE on that post were Albert Einsteins though.

Wow/ A nine year veteran, pushing how many? 150 games at senior level. On a million plus a game. I didn't recall him winning a B&F or getting an AA nomination but for that money he'd have to have been close (Brad Scotts would know this).

I suspect he's never had 2684 likes on any post he's ever made before so that's gotta count for something.

I guess.

I doubt if many who clicked LIKE on that post were Albert Einsteins though.

I reckon I cannot be the only one relieved he's gone, of course we orchestrated his departure and played it very nicely.
We would have dropped him during the year but we didn't want to diminish his value.

View attachment 1874358

David Beckham and he have a lot in common in seems…
dumb and dumber harry dunne GIF

Tipping Jim Carrey GIF

View attachment 1874358

isn't 32 the number of the father of the only bloke to ever have the Brownlow stripped from him for drugs?

Here you go legend.

Essendon president David Barham says Bombers aren’t in a financial position to give away pokies revenue​

The Bombers won’t step away from the pokies game anytime soon, with president David Barham saying at the club’s AGM the club was not in a financial position to give up the revenue.

Scott Gullan
@gullanHeraldSun

less than 2 min read
December 19, 2023 - 6:00AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

Essendon is still not in a position to live withoutpoker machine revenue with president David Barham saying there would be “massive damage” if the club cut off the controversial financial lifeline.
Barham faced questioning about the Bombers pokies interests at the annual general meeting, saying the club was actively searching for alternative sources of income.
Essendon is one of four clubs – alongside Carlton, Richmond and St Kilda – who own gaming venues. The Bombers have two venues – Windy Hill, which has 101 machines, and Melton Country Club, which has 89 machines.

Five AFL clubs have weaned themselves off poker machines over the past four years: Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs.
Essendon President, David Barham says the club can’t step away from the venues. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

“All I can say is this club is not in a financial position at the moment to step away from the venues we have at the moment and the venue revenue we have,” Barham said.
“So the only way we can do this realistically, and I am genuine when I say this, is that this club is actively looking at alternative sources of revenue, that’s the only way we can do it without there being massive damage to the football club.
“I can’t give any cast iron guarantees and I can’t give you any promises that other people have to keep but we are committed to trying to find ways to bring revenue into this footy club to give us choices,”
Barham said there were “two or three projects” in the pipeline to bring in the extra revenue but they were unable to reveal them because of commercial sensitivities.
The launch of Essendon's problem gambling taskforce in 2005: CEO Peter Jackson (Essendon FC), Jason Winderlich (Essendon footballer), Warrick Giddey and David Stiff (basketballers), James Aubusson (Melbourne Storm) and Caitlin Thwaites (Kestrels).

The Bombers last month announced an operating loss of $579,777 for this financial year.

Former Essendon premiership coach Kevin Sheedy and fellow incumbent board member Tim Roberts were re-elected to the two vacant board spots, ahead of challenger Graham Evans who was standing on an anti-poker machine platform.​

Evans did receive significant support – 2600 votes compared to Roberts (5422) and Sheedy (5380) – which was noted by Barham as he explained how the club was listening to the members’ concerns around the pokies issue.
It was also announced that former player Dean Rioli had stepped down from the board after just 14 months with his replacement to be announced in the new year.

Here you go legend.

Essendon president David Barham says Bombers aren’t in a financial position to give away pokies revenue​

The Bombers won’t step away from the pokies game anytime soon, with president David Barham saying at the club’s AGM the club was not in a financial position to give up the revenue.

Scott Gullan
@gullanHeraldSun

less than 2 min read

Essendon is still not in a position to live withoutpoker machine revenue with president David Barham saying there would be “massive damage” if the club cut off the controversial financial lifeline.
Barham faced questioning about the Bombers pokies interests at the annual general meeting, saying the club was actively searching for alternative sources of income.
Essendon is one of four clubs – alongside Carlton, Richmond and St Kilda – who own gaming venues. The Bombers have two venues – Windy Hill, which has 101 machines, and Melton Country Club, which has 89 machines.

Five AFL clubs have weaned themselves off poker machines over the past four years: Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs.

“All I can say is this club is not in a financial position at the moment to step away from the venues we have at the moment and the venue revenue we have,” Barham said.
“So the only way we can do this realistically, and I am genuine when I say this, is that this club is actively looking at alternative sources of revenue, that’s the only way we can do it without there being massive damage to the football club.
“I can’t give any cast iron guarantees and I can’t give you any promises that other people have to keep but we are committed to trying to find ways to bring revenue into this footy club to give us choices,”
Barham said there were “two or three projects” in the pipeline to bring in the extra revenue but they were unable to reveal them because of commercial sensitivities.
The launch of Essendon's problem gambling taskforce in 2005: CEO Peter Jackson (Essendon FC), Jason Winderlich (Essendon footballer), Warrick Giddey and David Stiff (basketballers), James Aubusson (Melbourne Storm) and Caitlin Thwaites (Kestrels).'s problem gambling taskforce in 2005: CEO Peter Jackson (Essendon FC), Jason Winderlich (Essendon footballer), Warrick Giddey and David Stiff (basketballers), James Aubusson (Melbourne Storm) and Caitlin Thwaites (Kestrels).

The Bombers last month announced an operating loss of $579,777 for this financial year.

Former Essendon premiership coach Kevin Sheedy and fellow incumbent board member Tim Roberts were re-elected to the two vacant board spots, ahead of challenger Graham Evans who was standing on an anti-poker machine platform.​

Evans did receive significant support – 2600 votes compared to Roberts (5422) and Sheedy (5380) – which was noted by Barham as he explained how the club was listening to the members’ concerns around the pokies issue.
It was also announced that former player Dean Rioli had stepped down from the board after just 14 months with his replacement to be announced in the new year.
Thank you

Here you go legend.

Scott Gullan
@gullanHeraldSun

less than 2 min read

The launch of Essendon's problem gambling taskforce in 2005: CEO Peter Jackson (Essendon FC), Jason Winderlich (Essendon footballer), Warrick Giddey and David Stiff (basketballers), James Aubusson (Melbourne Storm) and Caitlin Thwaites (Kestrels).'s problem gambling taskforce in 2005: CEO Peter Jackson (Essendon FC), Jason Winderlich (Essendon footballer), Warrick Giddey and David Stiff (basketballers), James Aubusson (Melbourne Storm) and Caitlin Thwaites (Kestrels).

TLDR; Essendon is one of four clubs – alongside Carlton, Richmond and St Kilda – who remain dependant on the tears and suffering of those who are least able to afford it. And they are addicted to pokie money, rejecting the members who stood for the board on an anti-pokie platform and voting for hacks like Sheedy instead.

Here you go legend.

Scott Gullan
@gullanHeraldSun

less than 2 min read

190 one-armed-bandits. That produces a huge income stream at the expense of many desperates who can't afford to lose any money. Quite some time ago, I'm guessing at least 20 years, I read an article about how much annual profit a well utilised poker machine could generate in NSW. The majority of gross profits would be eaten up by the likes of taxes and licensing fees, but even then the club/pub would still have $60k profit per machine to show for it. Things might have changed since then, but so have poker machines that can take increasing amounts of money per spin. Many of the old style drinking pubs have been transformed into entertainment destinations with restaurants and the like over the last few decades, all on the back of pokies income.

I've always been proud that North took the moral decision to resist the temptation of the easy money from pokies, even when we were in desperate financial trouble. We are the only club that can claim that we placed community benefit above our own by rejecting pokies from early on.

“Essendon is still not in a position to live without poker machine revenue with president David Barham saying there would be “massive damage” if the club cut off the controversial financial lifeline.”

IMG_4206.gif

Needs to be a concerted campaign targeting * sponsors asking why are they putting money into a club that rides on the backs of the bruised through poker machine revenue.

Certified Legendary Thread Sympathy for *essendon III - 4 Sept 2024 marks 20 years since *Essendon have won a final; Coached by the anti “RESULTIST”, RIP D2D and T_S