TAC Cup - Kids to look at (Circa 2009)

We are one of the slackest teams going around in terms of running hard, not just to the ball, but to an opponent, especially when we need to work defensively through the middle of the ground.

Whilst I tend to agree with you J, if you have a look at the following names, you will see that we do have a sprinkling of players in our 22 that will apply pressure to the ball carrier

AJ
Armfield
Judd
Betts
Garlett
Fevola
Robinson

We do have a long way to go here, but if you look at the coach, and look at what he did on the football field, then I reckon we're a good chance of becoming a pretty good team when the ball is with the opposition.

Re: This is my final bandwagon...Maybe...

B: Thornton Jamison Joseph
HB: Bower Austin Grigg
C: Walker Gibbs Simpson
HF: Robinson Waite Yarran
F: Kreuzer Fevola Betts
FOL: Warnock Judd Murphy
INT: Cunnington O'hAilpin Browne/Carrazzo Garlett/Armfield
Fixed.

Grigg, Walker, Robinson, Browne, Joseph, Gibbs, Murphy, Carrazzo and Cunnington rotating through the middle would free up Judd to play outside. We won't get full value of Judd if we don't find him some support and avoid having him smashed around in the middle each week.

Cunnington might be that type of player in a year or two. :confused:

Re: This is my final bandwagon...Maybe...

We don't need him. Sure we don't win ever centre clearance but thats sometimes the ruckman hitting it to the wrong team

Anyone who looked at the game on the weekend would say Sandilands was the dominant ruck on the ground.

Yet, more of Kreuzers hitouts went to advantage than Sandilands did.

Whether the hitout goes to advantage or not is a combination of the ruckman putting it where he wants (which Sandilands does IMO >80%) and the midfielders making good position to clear it (which Freo do < 10% IMO).

Good strong bodies around the clearance are essential, otherwise it doesn't matter how well your ruck directs it, you won't win the clearance.

Whilst I tend to agree with you J, if you have a look at the following names, you will see that we do have a sprinkling of players in our 22 that will apply pressure to the ball carrier

AJ
Armfield
Judd
Betts
Garlett
Fevola
Robinson

We do have a long way to go here, but if you look at the coach, and look at what he did on the football field, then I reckon we're a good chance of becoming a pretty good team when the ball is with the opposition.

If we include Fevola we may as well include everyone else on the list because Fevola does it at a rate of 1 game in every 3 or 4.

Besides, I was talking about midfielders, not key position players.

Robinson isn't in the team at the moment either.

I'm not so sure about Judd either. Yeah, he's an incredible player but one weakness is his ability to keep up with his man - that's why we often see taggers try and run off him to hurt him and the team going the other way....the best example of this would be Andrew Welsh. (And by the way, this is in no way me bagging Judd, but it is a fact that he often struggles to keep up with his man when we have turned the ball over and they start running as an offensive weapon).

The others you are correct on, but the truth is that we struggle, at least at the moment, enormously in this regard.

It is a major issue that needs to be rectified if we seriously want to push deep into finals. The strength of our midfield often means we can manage to overcome issues such as this one during the regular season, but come finals I would think that it would become even more of an issue than it is currently as teams will really try to exploit our weaknesses.

AJ
Armfield
Judd
Betts
Garlett
Fevola
Robinson
Fishing HBF?

I'd add Russ to that mix. There are plenty of things he can't do.....but he does at least apply pressure to his direct opponent and often Russ' opponent won't have much impact on the game.

Players like Sheppard, Talia, Luff... should all be considered in the later rounds..

Wouldn't be so sure on Talia. If a club is after a KP player they could nab him with a late first, or just a plain second round selection. Nice prospect.

Need to try to get hold of some WAFL games, but from what I'm reading I wouldn't be upset if we called out his name in the second round

Yeah Gilly thats all well and good, but if we do select him in the second round we'll have to put up with a whole lot of flogs telling us about how we should have just waited until the rookie draft to get a goal sneak FP............

lol, true that.....sounds like Jetta plays more up the ground, more Andrew Lovett than Alwyn Davey?

Need to try to get hold of some WAFL games, but from what I'm reading I wouldn't be upset if we called out his name in the second round

He will be a good pick up for whoever gets him IMO.

Id actually be pretty happy if we called him out with pick #10/11... although would also be happy with a Gun KP Forward if available. Reckon the Eagles would be keen on Jetta with their second round pick at @ #19 or so.

They did a bit on him on 'the Western Front' (WA Footy show) and showed a passage of play - him running 100m down the wing, stepping around three blokes like they weren't even there... It was awesome.

If anyone can find it let me know. I wish I could find it online somewhere.

Some good highlights in the embedded video above. The 60m goal near the end... and the running goal from the wing... quality.

Blinding speed, good endurance, great skills, confident little shit.

Only downside appears to be slight build (fix-able) and the 'go-home' factor. I only mention the go-home factor, as when you watch his interview, he mentions that while he would play wherever... he pretty much only wants to play for the Eagles. You'd reckon he'd be pretty keen to leave at some point. Also a little top aged IIRC.

I think he's 19 or 20, a bit like Garlett last year. We already have the two Swans boys here, as well as Ellard and Armfield, and Betts, so the go home might be somewhat nullified.

Jetta reminds me a bit of Stephen Hill. Both very slight, very quick and use their footskills kind of like Roger Federer uses his raquet. Bit like a "wand" and always know how it's going to come of their boot.

Semms very comfortable in his ability.

Please draft a KPP, or two of them - we have no depth as illustrated this year once a Waite or Thornton goes down! If Fev goes down, we are also shot with no quality replacements!

This would be the one draft i'd go positional needs over best player. Of course if the next best player is a KPP, then all good and well.

All along I've thought 2011 (my namesake) would be our first real attack on a flag with some follow up in 2012/13. If we take a KPP in 2009 they will be able to contribute if we get lucky in 2011/12/13!!

Got a feeling WCE will take Jetta with their second rounder.

Looks like thats the general feeling over at the WCE board as well.

Anything can happen come draft day. But, we do need to get some leg speed into the club. We may just have to reach for someone to get them. Would be great if we could just land Rohan with our first round selection.

Jetta reminds me a bit of Stephen Hill. Both very slight, very quick and use their footskills kind of like Roger Federer uses his raquet. Bit like a "wand" and always know how it's going to come of their boot.

Semms very comfortable in his ability.

That is the same type of comparison that sprung to my mind also.

Anything can happen come draft day. But, we do need to get some leg speed into the club. We may just have to reach for someone to get them. Would be great if we could just land Rohan with our first round selection.

Re: Jetta

Seen him play once (briefly), and initial thoughts he has a LOT of Cyril Rioli/ Stephen Hill about him. Might try and get down to a Swannies game to have a closer look.

By all reports he's burning it up.

If he was drafted on the strength of that 'Western Front' highlight of him slicing through the wing of Subiaco, taking half a dozen bounces and stepping three blokes, he easy would push into the top 5. It was that good.

Played alongside half a dozen AFL footballers (inluding Peter Bell and Jeff Farmer) in the state champs and did not look out of place at all. Kicked the sealer in fact - a nice 55-60m bomb. Was outmuscled a few times, but for a kid of his size (who was playing regionals only last year), it was a fantastic performance.

There were a few at the WABLUES function that expressed a similar opinion as well.

TAC Cup - Kids to look at (Circa 2009)