Tallangatta League

Porch thanks for your reply. Have not had a bad experience with Thurgoona at all, just don't enjoy going to football and seeing 40 goal margins. Glad to see you are getting it together this year. However, like every Tallangatta league person, we have heard it all b4, just saying, keep a lid on it. As for winning another one this year, there would not be a person in Mitta thinking we have it won. There are a couple of good sides about, yourselves included at this stage, we won't be taking anyone lightly. My final point, buying a premiership, I recon everyone out there would no mitta just doesn't spend the cash that other clubs do. Success breads success, its simple. The footy club has something up there that other clubs don't. That is what equals premierships not the $. Try speaking to anyone past or present about why they play for Mitta and they will all tell you its not for the cash. Good day to you monkey and good luck Saturday, I look forward to watching a good game. :thumbsu:

a well thought response mm. its probably the most sensible thing ive heard you say. i take back my earlier comments on the $ it would seem im wrong. just got on me high horse and a bit carried away. i think it will be a pretty good match this week and look forward to hearing (to cold for me to watch) about the doggies putting up a show. good day to yourself mm. :thumbsu:

Nothing to tell as RS said in an earlier post that there was a massive crowd there saturday and these guys were probably like most Thurgoona ressies just down for a look.

Saw the first half of Yack v Barny good contest. Saw the second half of Denderang v Doggies. The Doggies looked good but how bad are the bombers?
As I thought this season will be the closest we have seen in the TDFL for a while

budge murray was there watching on saturday and spent some time behind the scenes after the game with the doggie boys. is there a chance to add another murray to their side next year?.. some good games coming up this week.. wod saints vs beechworth could be a tight one, good test for tallangatta against yack which i think has potential to be a danger game for yack, good chance to judge where rutherglen are at against barny, and who woulda thought come round 3 mitta and thurgoona would both be sitting in the top 3 with only 1% separating them so interesting see if the dogs are competitve against everyone's flag favourites. any predictions....
ill go;
Saints d Beechworth (15 points)
Mitta d Thurgoona (26 points)
Kiewa d Dederang (100 points)
Yack d Tallangatta (10 points)
Barny d Rutherglen (30 points)

Tips for this week
Saints by 21
Mitta by 65
Kiewa by 92
Yack by 47
Cats by 9

I wish:D Alan is a brother to Dek and Johnny thats why he was there just visiting for the weekend. Hope you had a good day out there RHG and i hope you bought a membership so we see you again. :thumbsu:

John isn't Dek's brother. Dek, Matt & Alan are brothers. Robbie & John are brothers. Just in the interests of accuracy.

Kerlin played in the ruck and probably played his best game for the cats? As for Craig Tafft, We would all like to see the best CHB in Country Footy play again but I don't think he will

Heard there may be a couple of new recruits coming soon, but I haven't heard any names

I also heard that Rutherglen had 7 or 8 new faces around, any truth??? If so names?

For the Cats supporters was wondering how Doddsey has been going at Rutherglen so far. At 6'3 he would add to the Cats forward line height and may provide a target, even though he only played 2's all year for the Tigers. Noticed he is going to miss the Barny game this weekend due to a wedding. Shame as he will miss catching up with a few of the Barny boys on the paddock after leaving on the eve of the season to join the Cats. Noticed he received a rather 'cool' reception when he caught up with a few at the pub after the Yack game.

Also curious for the Thurgoona boys how big Gunny's hammy is travelling. Will we see him on the paddock in the near future or is he some time away yet?

gav hates playing anywhere other thatn the ruck and usually tells anyone who tries to give him a rest to **** off. and if you know gav thats about all he'll say for the rest of the game. great bloke tho. probably "Dodds" was "donnas", mark donaldson, two time reserve best and fairest winner for corowa rutherglen. first year at cats last yeaar. great player, yes kicking sometimes dodgy, but also sometimes super.

Kerlin did play well.
Gavin Tafft played at Full forward for some strange reason?? Is he injured or just doesn't play in the ruck anymore?
That Dodds bloke that played for Rutherglen on the weekend, is he the one that used to play at Barny?? if it is, his kicking hasn't improved one bit!

yeah "donnas" was #9 but this other bloke was being called "doddsy". doesn't really matter anyway, he had no impact on the game like his height suggests.

For the Cats supporters was wondering how Doddsey has been going at Rutherglen so far. At 6'3 he would add to the Cats forward line height and may provide a target, even though he only played 2's all year for the Tigers. Noticed he is going to miss the Barny game this weekend due to a wedding. Shame as he will miss catching up with a few of the Barny boys on the paddock after leaving on the eve of the season to join the Cats. Noticed he received a rather 'cool' reception when he caught up with a few at the pub after the Yack game.

Also curious for the Thurgoona boys how big Gunny's hammy is travelling. Will we see him on the paddock in the near future or is he some time away yet?

See above Big Al. I thought it was him.
When he played Yack he got about 5 kicks at best! 2 were shots at goal, about 25-40 out, one went out on the full and the other snuck in for a point. His kicking is atrocious! if he worked on it he might have an impact on a game, cos' he can get the ball and with his height, should be a focal point, but you would'nt want him kicking for your life would you?

He might be better playing CHB? take the grabs and handball off to runners.

Hey, didn't Romeril pump up the Bushrangers in the paper today!
quote "we have only lost Brock, Crisp and McInness"
Those 3 blokes would have been in their best 5 every game last year.
Good luck to them though, if their youngsters stay around, they may be a force in a few years.

Thanks MTAG, obviously his performances suggest he is struggling to match the clubs outlay for his services. Hopefully for the Cats he improves as the year goes on.

For the Doggies, where do you think you can beat Mitta this weekend. Obviously you boys look potent up forward with Murray and Madden but do you have enough in the engine room to compete with Conway, Packer, McGregor and the Nelson boys. Has Tucker been playing fwd or back?Should be a good game going on both teams start to the year. Be good to see the Doggies stand up and not fall away as they may have in the past, looking forward to the result as most TDFL followers would be :thumbsu:.

Thanks MTAG, obviously his performances suggest he is struggling to match the clubs outlay for his services. Hopefully for the Cats he improves as the year goes on.

For the Doggies, where do you think you can beat Mitta this weekend. Obviously you boys look potent up forward with Murray and Madden but do you have enough in the engine room to compete with Conway, Packer, McGregor and the Nelson boys. Has Tucker been playing fwd or back?Should be a good game going on both teams start to the year. Be good to see the Doggies stand up and not fall away as they may have in the past, looking forward to the result as most TDFL followers would be :thumbsu:.

You seem to have a bit of a Doggie obsession Al. 2 enquiries on this page alone and going back through your previous posts you seem to dig for a bit of info regularly. Anything there or are you and STP planning for Round 11 ?

James Alexander Gunn has pulled up a bit lame and has been sent to the long yard but is expected to return soon.

You seem to have a bit of a Doggie obsession Al. 2 enquiries on this page alone and going back through your previous posts you seem to dig for a bit of info regularly. Anything there or are you and STP planning for Round 11 ?

Have a bit of interest purely due to an ex-team mates involvement there:thumbsu:.See above.

Just had a bit of a flick through the sides in the paper especially Mitta and Thurgoona could be some interesting match ups. I think Conway could end up on Murray as they have reguarly matched up at O & M level. Looks like Cohen will go to Wightman be an interesting one if its wet. Mitta seem to have thrown there side around a bit can't see McGregor starting in the back pocket or Mollison on the pine. What about Kiewa is Barber unavailable or has age finally caught up with him. Also notice Jarrod Klepiak named on the bench in the 2's. Can anyone say why Purcell hasn't rated a mention yet for Yack is he carrying something or just out of touch.

Just to circulate the rumour mill a little more. Paul Giltrap, James Hodgkin and Paul Hodgkin will all be suiting up for mitta at some stage in the next 2 - 3 weeks. Expect Shaun Harper to be back also. Tom Paton in the seconds this week and Jiggs Paton another few weeks away. All players mentioned are multiple TDFL premiership players. Should be a great game at Eskdale 2morrow between Thurgoona and mitta. The mountain men are looking forward to the challenge

RHG i wouldn't take any notice of how the sides are named in the paper most likely won't be anywhere near that at start time. I don't think Conway would play back considering the state of his knuckles wouldn't be able to spoil. Although wet conditions will make the game a slog fest both sides have got players who won't mind it slippery. :)

Hey big Al can you tell me about the match up with jaz and two bob last week. Both got BOG's for respective sides but i heard they didn't go anywhere near each other two bob close to 40 possies. Who was more damaging.

I thought Two was BOG bit the dust early but got quality touches around the ground. Jaz was great for Yack, in my opinion there standout best in a midfield that was clearly beat. Got a lot of contested possession and was generally the one to push them inside 50. Your right they did play off each other but Barny had a bit more depth around the ground which probably heped the little angry man out.

Curious about news I heard regarding Yack's CHB (not sure of his name)breaking his neck at the Player Auction after falling off stone bridge near the ground. Heard it from a couple of Yack people. Can't confirm though.

Curious about news I heard regarding Yack's CHB (not sure of his name)breaking his neck at the Player Auction after falling off stone bridge near the ground. Heard it from a couple of Yack people. Can't confirm though.[/quote]

Yeah, I Heard the same thing last night, from someone outside of Yack footy club. From the entire footy community, Lets all wish him well and for a healthy recovery hey boys.... :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

I thought Two was BOG bit the dust early but got quality touches around the ground. Jaz was great for Yack, in my opinion there standout best in a midfield that was clearly beat. Got a lot of contested possession and was generally the one to push them inside 50. Your right they did play off each other but Barny had a bit more depth around the ground which probably heped the little angry man out.

Curious about news I heard regarding Yack's CHB (not sure of his name)breaking his neck at the Player Auction after falling off stone bridge near the ground. Heard it from a couple of Yack people. Can't confirm though.

Yeah, I Heard the same thing last night, from someone outside of Yack footy club. From the entire footy community, Lets all wish him well and for a healthy recovery hey boys.... :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:[/quote]

firstly, Jazz and Two Bob were not direct opponents, but both were the most valuable contributors for each side. From where i was on the fence it looked like Two had busted his snoz early. Jazz got him a ripper in a tackle apparently.

second, the story is true about the accident.
Aaron Daniels (aka Ratty) good back pocketer/back flank, only turned 21 a couple of months ago and will never play footy again.
Broke #2 vertebrae and was operated on Wednesday to put him in traction for 12 weeks.
If you know of any good fundraising ideas, the Yack boys are trying to get some money together to pay some of his costs (silly boy wasnt covered by ambo insurance and he was flown to Melb from Albury)

third, Purcell has been playing at CHB for some reason and Fraser at CHF.
i see todays paper has them where they should line up all the time, so it may have just been something different for the first two games.
Dont worry about Purcell, we all know he will flick the switch soon and turn a game on it's head!

Just to circulate the rumour mill a little more. Paul Giltrap, James Hodgkin and Paul Hodgkin will all be suiting up for mitta at some stage in the next 2 - 3 weeks. Expect Shaun Harper to be back also. Tom Paton in the seconds this week and Jiggs Paton another few weeks away. All players mentioned are multiple TDFL premiership players. Should be a great game at Eskdale 2morrow between Thurgoona and mitta. The mountain men are looking forward to the challenge

Interesting to see your previous posts Mountain Man regarding Thurgoona that you now belive them to be a challenge. Could it be that within a matter of two weeks Thurgoona are gaining a little respect? Good to see if this is the case.

second, the story is true about the accident.
Aaron Daniels (aka Ratty) good back pocketer/back flank, only turned 21 a couple of months ago and will never play footy again.
Broke #2 vertebrae and was operated on Wednesday to put him in traction for 12 weeks.
If you know of any good fundraising ideas, the Yack boys are trying to get some money together to pay some of his costs (silly boy wasnt covered by ambo insurance and he was flown to Melb from Albury)

Damn that's a nasty accident :(

If you have any form of fundraising event I can sticky / announce it over the Regional Leagues for yers. Just PM me when you have an event to run with.

Yeah, I Heard the same thing last night, from someone outside of Yack footy club. From the entire footy community, Lets all wish him well and for a healthy recovery hey boys.... :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:[/quote]

Agreed IHTT that is terrible news and I sincerely wish him a sppedy recovery. :thumbsu: I take it having broken 2 vertabrae and having had surgery with him in traction for 12 weeks means he'll be right at some stage to walk again? Lets just hope this is the case.
Anyone with contacts within the AFL should perhaps look at a sportsman night. Maybe the league can organise a raffle at each home ground one week so as all clubs/supporters could contribute in some way.

Interesting to see your previous posts Mountain Man regarding Thurgoona that you now belive them to be a challenge. Could it be that within a matter of two weeks Thurgoona are gaining a little respect? Good to see if this is the case.

Beating Tallangatta and Dederang doesn't mean we have to bow to you every time we see you AD!!!
Thurgoona has done a great job in building a side over the last few years, but Id like to wait a few games until I get on the Doggies bandwagon.
Ill reserve my judgement until you play a side that will finish above 7th.