Tallangatta League

Haven't played AFL mate, but have played senior footy in a league of better standard than the UMFL, and I don't know everything but I suppose I know how to spell...... :rolleyes:

Anyway, name some good players in the UM league. Would be lucky to get a handful.

Didn't Mathey coach the premiers or runners-up up there last year??? Doesn't say much for his recruiting efforts or the UM in general.

I know of players who couldn't get a game in the TDFL seniors, who went up to the UMFL and played interleague and coached senior teams, and that is usually what happens. Guys try to get some cash before they retire.

Good players I know of who have played UM are Beau McKimmie (who I think still plays), and Brendan Atree. Two guys who came to TVFC in the late 80s/early 90s and did very well with a B&F or two between them.

I think it was fat side who said, the Hoppers are now just called Tallangatta FC, not Tallangatta Valley FC, is that right? If so, that would put a few farmers off-side too most likely.

And can anyone tell me if they offered Karl Elliott the seniors job?? He coached Bullioh to a premiership a couple of years ago, so could have brought a couple of kids back with him. Anyway, as I said, raid the O&M 2nds top 5 teams. There would be 25/26yo's in there who would jump at the chance to coach a team.

Hey oldman, Tallangatta are better off being just Tallangatta i would think, their own identity!! The farmers who are in the valley support Bullioh so would not make any difference or put any offside. Bullioh started up & going again so why should Tallangatta keep the name "Valley"? As for Karl Elliott being asked to coach - they be in same position as Mathey so everyone says - UMFL players and no new blood. Mathey much more drawing power than Elliott i would have thought.

I'm not saying that the UMFL is the greatest of football leagues, however there are more than 5 handy players up there.
Paul and Nev Nugent, Warren Sinclair and the Paton boys (Federal)
Evan Nicholas and Matt Hayes (Corryong)
Greg Wheeler, Matt Aldridge, Matt Bradshaw (Cudgewa)
The 2 Reid's, 2 Nichol's, Wade Prior (Bullioh) are some of the boys up there who would make a significant impact in the TDFL.
Some have played TDFL, O and M, O and M interleague, TAC Cup and VFL reserves so they are hardly mugs.

The Upper Murray boys that Mathey took to Tallangatta were far from being in that league's elite. If he had recruited half of those players above then they would have made significant progress up the ladder.:)

I agree with 2 names there Toe, the nugents as we all know they can play. The others have either tried TFDL and just gone ok, while the Corryong boys have always been there and wont try anything else, remain the big fish in a small pond. The difference between TDFL, Hume or even O & K to UMFL is so large that many are kidding if you think they could all play in better comps- main reason being- They play there cause its easy and dont have the motivation or the desire to improve their football. As oldmanemu said some have like Beau McKimmie but thats cause he had a crack at it & got out of the valley up there.

Bit of a contadiction there benchy, you say its not a long term solution for the hoppers, then say in 3 years when they are out at thurgoona you will get them all - so then will you be looking for a long term solution? Just a thought!!

fair point but dogs not including them in long term plan as RS stated. welcome them with open arms but far from needing them to field two sides every saturday. can only big good for the club when they boost the numbers further

I agree with 2 names there Toe, the nugents as we all know they can play. The others have either tried TFDL and just gone ok, while the Corryong boys have always been there and wont try anything else, remain the big fish in a small pond. The difference between TDFL, Hume or even O & K to UMFL is so large that many are kidding if you think they could all play in better comps- main reason being- They play there cause its easy and dont have the motivation or the desire to improve their football. As oldmanemu said some have like Beau McKimmie but thats cause he had a crack at it & got out of the valley up there.
I suppose loyalty to your home club doesn't count then? If they were serious about improving their football they would bypass the TDFL and have a crack at the O and M coming out of junior football eg. Paul Nugent. I'm not from there but the travel factor for them up there would affect where they play as much as it does for Albury/Wodonga players playing in the bush. Saying those guys like playing up there cause its easy is no different, to guys who didnt have a serious crack at the O and M eg. Lawrence Hodgkin and Robbie Barber. They have showed their clubs tremendous loyalty over the years and haven't been criticised for not playing at the higher level. I would criticise guys who play for the dollars who are weak as piss not playing at the higher level.:)

1 Jack Rhodes Kiewa 72
2 Brenton Surrey Beechworth 56
3 Travis Knight Kiewa 55
4 Ashley Sutherland Kiewa 52
5 Jake Mounsey Dederang 51
6 Lachlan Hunter Thurgoona 46
7 Brett Wightman Thurgoona 45
8 Martin Semmler Barnawartha 42
9 James Ryan Wodonga Saints 42
10 Jason Gentile Dederang 41
11 Ben Davis Rutherglen 41
12 Dale Andrews Chiltern 41
13 Scott Thomson Rutherglen 40
14 Danny Hargreaves Barnawartha 39
15 Daniel Ladgrove Chiltern 38
16 Cameron Cassidy Chiltern 36
17 Chris Moscher Thurgoona 35
18 Julian Day Rutherglen 35
19 Shane Roche Barnawartha 34
20 Danny Cohen Mitta 33
21 Ben Rogers Barnawartha 32
22 John Allen Beechworth 32
23 Alex Beggs Mitta 32
24 Michael Hill Dederang 31
25 Leigh Cameron Kiewa 30
26 Clint Dickens Chiltern 30
27 Matt Hooper Barnawartha 29
28 Joel Butler Mitta 29
29 Josh Mathewson Yackandandah 28
30 Michael Voight Beechworth 26

Great work Al, one of the better player rating systems going around, young Rhodesy's done well with that one. Looking through the list I can't see anyone that doesn't really deserve to be there.

Not much action in the race for 5th spot on the weekend, results fell as predicted, with neither Dederang or Chiltern being able to stake a claim for the last finals spot with an upset win over Thurgoona & Barnawartha respectively. This places Chiltern still in the box seat, and they can sew it up with a win over Yack in Round 14.

hey Big footyarians noticed this thread has been a bit dull lately has everyone gone into hiding because spring is approaching. and you know what that means FINALS FOOTY. Thats right we all pack our bags and head to the Guantanomo Bay of the Tallangatta league. Good old Sandy Creek. Is evryone like me and think that it could well be a 3 horse race with KSC,Mitta and Barny or is Thurgoona the real deal. i know the big giant head and the bald man and big bad bustling Gunny have the dogs up and going but are they going to be there when the whips are cracking. I hope for footy's sake they are, and to think 2 years ago the club was a basket case. Whats going on with the hoppers. I go back to earlier threads and people were talking them up as a top three, all go's to show you shouldn't just chase anyone and everyone. But i think the real interest is which side has to delay there footy trip for a week who will sneak into 5th my money if i were a betting man would be chiltern. But i would take bets (if i were a betting man on anyone else) just drop into the Springdale Heights tavern and we can get set. P.s anyone seen that colusses Culphy me mate skillsy and i have been looking for him:rolleyes:

I suppose loyalty to your home club doesn't count then? If they were serious about improving their football they would bypass the TDFL and have a crack at the O and M coming out of junior football eg. Paul Nugent. I'm not from there but the travel factor for them up there would affect where they play as much as it does for Albury/Wodonga players playing in the bush. Saying those guys like playing up there cause its easy is no different, to guys who didnt have a serious crack at the O and M eg. Lawrence Hodgkin and Robbie Barber. They have showed their clubs tremendous loyalty over the years and haven't been criticised for not playing at the higher level. I would criticise guys who play for the dollars who are weak as piss not playing at the higher level.:)

Well said, i totally agree that loyalty is something that is not shown by players much these days. The ones i were refering to are the payed players who take the dollars and dont put their hand up to help out or try to play another level, i wuld never begrudge a Robbie Barber etc for remaining loyal to their clubs, should be more of it - country footy be much better off for it!!!!!!!!:)

Aaron Purcell is a hack!!!

obviously you are one of the many unfortunate backmen that has had to deal with the big fella on more than one occasion. he probably kicked more than 10 on you did he??? carve you up like a moist roast on Xmas day?
or! you are the umpire that had a sook to the league when Aaron said you were shit!? (and he was right)

True RS, they were the motions and as a lot at club believed there was more success & history in the green & gold than the black & white thats why no change.

FS, can you tell me what the voting was like on the jumper issue? was it close? Who voted against it? (cockys or new players)
Out of interest can anyone tell us how long tallangatta wore the Black and White Strip and when did they change to the green and gold? From photos in the clubrooms the black and white strip seems to go back a long time compared to the new colours.
It would also be interesting to know how many grand finals have been won in each strip (seniors only)

The longer they stay separated from Bullioh gives more reason to change back to the Maggies colours. Given the current performance of the club it might spark a bit more feel into the club and bring back the supporters who have lost interest.

During cricket season i went into their social rooms and was very surprised to see that they still have Bullioh's photo's before the merger with Tallangatta. I think they became the Hoppers after the merger in 1978 (?). Maybe the Bullioh people might be a bit afraid to go back there and get their photo's back.:D

FS, can you tell me what the voting was like on the jumper issue? was it close? Who voted against it? (cockys or new players)
Out of interest can anyone tell us how long tallangatta wore the Black and White Strip and when did they change to the green and gold? From photos in the clubrooms the black and white strip seems to go back a long time compared to the new colours.
It would also be interesting to know how many grand finals have been won in each strip (seniors only)

GF, the voting needed a 75% majority to pass which the name got, the jumpers was i believe around 40 to change 60% to stay, it was an independent vote so couldnt say if it was players, cockys etc. Tallangatta wore the black & white from around 1906 to 1977 when club merged with Bullioh. As for grand finals only 2 wins in the black & white compared to 6 in the green & gold which is why many wanted to stay thats way, more history & success. As for changing colours to spark interest!! It was nearly 30 years ago, those old guys are not around, a new history has been written. If you needed a spark - well seeing how the club is going should be a big enough spark to get in and help - not a colour change.

During cricket season i went into their social rooms and was very surprised to see that they still have Bullioh's photo's before the merger with Tallangatta. I think they became the Hoppers after the merger in 1978 (?). Maybe the Bullioh people might be a bit afraid to go back there and get their photo's back.:D

That may be the case Toey, but their is also Fernvale Fc photos up there, it is history of the area & the club, the merger happened and is part of the club, that wont change!! If bullioh wants em back im sure the hoppers would hand them back no probs, you probaly dont reliase but there are many close relations involved at both clubs and they do still talk to each other so its not a fued.

news from last nights tribunal (kangaroo court) pardon the pun!that the evidence from the "other" umpire, Joe Knight was thrown out as he could not attend. his statement contained comments that suggested the comments from Purcell would not, in his mind, be deemed as abuse, just banter.
there you go, the stupid "old" farts that run the TDFL are at it again. and no, this is not sour grapes either fella's. those of you that know Aaron, know he is a pretty quiet bloke is more laidback than the bloke that used to busk outside Coles on high St Wodonga. a simple case of the TDFL and the struggling men in orange trying to take over the game. it will be interesting to see if Umpire Paul Chapman ever gets a game that Yack plays in again?

Tips for this week:
Thurgoona to beat Tallangatta (28pts) Hoppers to get a lot closer than many will think.
Miita to beat Chiltern (12pts)
Barny to beat Saints (48pts)
Dederang to beat Rutherglen (22pts)
Yack to beat Beechworth (14pts)

Above would probably be considered to be the favoured results, but I know this round has an upset lurking in there somewhere. I just can't decide, and whilst Rutherglen & Beechworth are both capable of beating their opponents, I might tip Chiltern to cause the upset if there is one.

Tips for this week:
Thurgoona to beat Tallangatta (28pts) Hoppers to get a lot closer than many will think.
Miita to beat Chiltern (12pts)
Barny to beat Saints (48pts)
Dederang to beat Rutherglen (22pts)
Yack to beat Beechworth (14pts)

Above would probably be considered to be the favoured results, but I know this round has an upset lurking in there somewhere. I just can't decide, and whilst Rutherglen & Beechworth are both capable of beating their opponents, I might tip Chiltern to cause the upset if there is one.

AP, good to see you've finally picked the Dogs to have a win this week.(last picked them to win 18th May!):rolleyes: I know the Doggies are looking forward to making the most of Tallangatta's misfortunes and play an exciting free flowing brand of footy.

Looking at the other games:
Chiltern : win (half-back line to hold out Mitta)
Barny : win
Yack : win (jaz to make a huge difference)
Rutherglen : win (if bombers start defensively as they did last week, Davis & co. to get ontop in the mid-field)

Best of Luck to all teams this week.

AP, good to see you've finally picked the Dogs to have a win this week.(last picked them to win 18th May!):rolleyes: I know the Doggies are looking forward to making the most of Tallangatta's misfortunes and play an exciting free flowing brand of footy.

Looking at the other games:
Chiltern : win (half-back line to hold out Mitta)
Barny : win
Yack : win (jaz to make a huge difference)
Rutherglen : win (if bombers start defensively as they did last week, Davis & co. to get ontop in the mid-field)

Best of Luck to all teams this week.

Incorrect - I picked them to win by 30 points last week - and they won by 24.

who are they top players in the thirds this year for the league. just wanting to know as i played thirds last year and have now moved and would like to see who is going well.

I will be honest TA , the standard of thirds hasn't been the same since you left mate. You were clearly the best player to come out of this comp since Franzy was a junior, hehehe:D

Tallangatta & Kiewa (Hawks by lots)

well you got the hawks right....but what happened to the hoppers???that's the worst effort seen for a senior team..well the hawks must have thought how easy......the doggies are slowly building for the finals and making it look closer every week...mitta must have there dodgy kicking boots on .......:D

"Thats the worst effort seen for a senior team" Not true Reg. Mitta played Thurgoona a couple of years ago and kicked about 46 goals. That was in the wet to, short memory. My Granma played at full forward that day and I have to say she had a day out. Granny was slotting them from everywhere:D

Great work Al, one of the better player rating systems going around, young Rhodesy's done well with that one. Looking through the list I can't see anyone that doesn't really deserve to be there.

Not much action in the race for 5th spot on the weekend, results fell as predicted, with neither Dederang or Chiltern being able to stake a claim for the last finals spot with an upset win over Thurgoona & Barnawartha respectively. This places Chiltern still in the box seat, and they can sew it up with a win over Yack in Round 14.

I would of thought that was a prety ordinary list. I haven't heard of at least 6 of them guys. Anyone want to have a crack at a decent side instead of a heap of *******s, I'll have a go
Kiewa - Rhodes, Sutherland, Cameron, Knight,
Thurgoona - Murray, Whiteman (not my call) (Franzey, just the team dyamics, we couldnt fit u in) (Sorry Watto, AFL scouts couldn't convince me) (Bring back quinny.) Toony, stiff, you go alright)
Mitta - Fraser, Cohen, Beggs, Nelson, Packer, Tuenon,
Barnawatha - Rodgers, Withers, Roche, Semmler, Hooper,
Chiltern - Dickens, Andrews, Landgrove, Brand,
Yack - Purcell, Hillary, (4 Robbins boys stiff, can play)
Beechworth - Sorry boys
Wod Saints - Bell
Ruth - Davis
Tall - Policia:D

I would of thought that was a prety ordinary list. I haven't heard of at least 6 of them guys. Anyone want to have a crack at a decent side instead of a heap of *******s, I'll have a go
Kiewa - Rhodes, Sutherland, Cameron, Knight,
Thurgoona - Murray, Whiteman (not my call) (Franzey, just the team dyamics, we couldnt fit u in) (Sorry Watto, AFL scouts couldn't convince me) (Bring back quinny.) Toony, stiff, you go alright)
Mitta - Fraser, Cohen, Beggs, Nelson, Packer, Tuenon,
Barnawatha - Rodgers, Withers, Roche, Semmler, Hooper,
Chiltern - Dickens, Andrews, Landgrove, Brand,
Yack - Purcell, Hillary, (4 Robbins boys stiff, can play)
Beechworth - Sorry boys
Wod Saints - Bell
Ruth - Davis
Tall - Policia:D

B Sutherland, Dickens, Knight
HB Nelson, Teunon, Rhodes
C Packer, Rodgers, Hooper
HF Beggs, Purcell, Semmler
F Murray, Withers, Andrews
Foll Fraser, Cohen, Davis
INT - Hillary, Bell, Policia, Whiteman, Cameron, Roche, Landgrove, Brand:thumbsu:
Who did I miss. I hope this sparks the site up a bit, can we stop talking about the standard of the upper murray and the colour of Tallangata's jumper. Fire up doggies, we need some banter. Sorry for my absence to (I no you thurgoona lads have missed me) I have been away at a family function. My cousins got married:D

For your info:

1.FIELD, AaronRutherglen 8 2.PRITCHARD, DylanBeechworth 8 3.SINGH, DylanTallangatta 8 4.ANDREW, JackKiewa Sandy Creek 6 5.BELLINGHAM, PhillipDederang Mt Beauty 6 6.CAREY, DayneBeechworth 6 7.DOVE, ChristopherKiewa Sandy Creek 6 8.GILCRIST, CameronThurgoona 6 9.JOOS, BenThurgoona 6 10.KREUZER, MaxDederang Mt Beauty 6