B Sutherland, Dickens, Knight
HB Nelson, Teunon, Rhodes
C Packer, Rodgers, Hooper
HF Beggs, Purcell, Semmler
F Murray, Withers, Andrews
Foll Fraser, Cohen, Davis
INT - Hillary, Bell, Policia, Whiteman, Cameron, Roche, Landgrove, Brand:thumbsu:
Who did I miss. I hope this sparks the site up a bit, can we stop talking about the standard of the upper murray and the colour of Tallangata's jumper. Fire up doggies, we need some banter. Sorry for my absence to (I no you thurgoona lads have missed me) I have been away at a family function. My cousins got married:D

MM, you must have had way too many moo juices at the reception, cause you've missed (I beleive) the BEST ruckman in the competion. That being Locky Hunter (Doggies).
Tell ya what, love to see a team of wanna be's. Anyone got ideas?

Well guys, we may have to auction off 5th spot. It appears nobody wants it !!
Yack & Dederang probably coughed up any hope of claiming it, with unexpected losses on the weekend. Beechworth have thrown their hat into the ring, but have a tough run home, so if they get it they will more than deserve it.
Chiltern remain the overwhelming favourites to claim the last finals spot. They are the only one whose destiny lies in their own hands, as they only have to win 3 of their remaining 4 games, and have Yack(a), Wod(a), Tall(h), Ruth(h).
Beechworth have Wod (h) Kiewa (a), Thur (h), Tall (a).
Yack have Chil (h), Ded (h), Barny (a), Mitta (h).
Dederang have Kiewa (a), Yack (a), Tall (a), Mitta (h).
The above 3 would have to win 3 of their last 4, and rely on Chiltern losing twice. Swans for 5th.

Good to see the hoppers having a crack out at the mini oval...Dekka train kicking ten has stepped it up a gear and hopefully the doggies are heading full steam ahead for the finals.The cats winning after a poor year well done...Mitta are slowly creeping towards the finals and are starting to look dangerous...Beechworth winning as made the top 5 looking jam packed...But can they keep it up and push the other teams out:confused:..Are Barny the real thing i'm not sure at the moment!!! Can yack make a late charge or will there star players lose the plot again????

Just a quick one ..there's still alot of talk about Tallangatta going back to their old jumper and dropping the valley name??? Will that attract new players not sure but it would had a fresh look to the TDFL and maybe had a bit off spark????

Good to see the hoppers having a crack out at the mini oval...Dekka train kicking ten has stepped it up a gear and hopefully the doggies are heading full steam ahead for the finals.The cats winning after a poor year well done...Mitta are slowly creeping towards the finals and are starting to look dangerous...Beechworth winning as made the top 5 looking jam packed...But can they keep it up and push the other teams out:confused:..Are Barny the real thing i'm not sure at the moment!!! Can yack make a late charge or will there star players lose the plot again????

Just a quick one ..there's still alot of talk about Tallangatta going back to their old jumper and dropping the valley name??? Will that attract new players not sure but it would had a fresh look to the TDFL and maybe had a bit off spark????

reggie! can you please elaborate on your comment above (in bold & underlined) what do you mean by that?

Does everyone agree that there are probably 4 teams who realistically have a chance of winning the flag ?
Kiewa. Thurgoona, Mitta & Barny ?
Who is the favourite ?
Have a crack at rating them in order of their likelihood to win the flag.
Are any of them no chance ? Why ?

Does everyone agree that there are probably 4 teams who realistically have a chance of winning the flag ?
Kiewa. Thurgoona, Mitta & Barny ?
Who is the favourite ?
Have a crack at rating them in order of their likelihood to win the flag.
Are any of them no chance ? Why ?
I have my doubts over Barny from what i hear AP. I reckon it will finish like this.
1 Kiewa
2 Thurgoona
3 Mitta
4 Barny
I will say that Mitta on their day will beat any of these teams. If their old blokes can be injury free heading into september they will add some more silverware to their collection. Kiewa seem to have a perfect mixtutre of old & young heads that stick to a game plan. I think they are the team to beat.

B Sutherland, Dickens, Knight
HB Nelson, Teunon, Rhodes
C Packer, Rodgers, Hooper
HF Beggs, Purcell, Semmler
F Murray, Withers, Andrews
Foll Fraser, Cohen, Davis
INT - Hillary, Bell, Policia, Whiteman, Cameron, Roche, Landgrove, Brand:thumbsu:
Who did I miss. I hope this sparks the site up a bit, can we stop talking about the standard of the upper murray and the colour of Tallangata's jumper. Fire up doggies, we need some banter. Sorry for my absence to (I no you thurgoona lads have missed me) I have been away at a family function. My cousins got married:D
Thats an interesting side you put in there MM stirring the pot. Interesting 6 players from Mitta, and 4 from Barny in the run on side. only 3 from KSC and only 1 from thurgoona in the run on side. I bet Boney and Boxhead would enjoy seeing this because it must make them are really good team if they have only limited stars in there sides. remembering both clubs have only lost 1 game thus far.

Thats a fair call but if the club had any pride they would of had a crack. looked ominous early first goal kicked by the dogs after about 10 seconds and they had 4 in the first 5 minutes. Good luck to Beechworth but rounds 15 and 16 will sought them out when they have Kiewa and Thurgoona resectively. If they get past 1 or even both of these 2 they deserve there spot. Albeit will probably only delay the footy trip by a week the top 4 are clearly a class above the rest.

Thats an interesting side you put in there MM stirring the pot. Interesting 6 players from Mitta, and 4 from Barny in the run on side. only 3 from KSC and only 1 from thurgoona in the run on side. I bet Boney and Boxhead would enjoy seeing this because it must make them are really good team if they have only limited stars in there sides. remembering both clubs have only lost 1 game thus far.

Perhaps have been a little biased.:D I'm sure Boney would be happy with 4 players from his side. Sure Cammo might consider himself stiff starting on the bench but I had Withers and Andrews already. Pure size and ego's meant there was no room left in the square at all.:D Just kidding Dale. As for the doggies, the jury is still out. I think its fair to say that Murray and Whiteman have proven themselves prior to playing footy at Thurgoona. As for Hunter, seems to be solid but you cant leave out Fraser who has won the last two best and fairests at a club that has won the last three grand finals. I think its fair that the majority of players come from the top clubs, perhaps could of had Hunter running off the bench or out of a pocket instead of a Policia or Hillary. Apologies to Beechworth, have got some handy players, if you sneak a top 5 spot then you probably deserve a player or two in the side. Halliday has proven handy since returning. I think coach of the side would have to be Franzey, the respect he commands around the TDFL is second to none, if blokes aren't going to listen to him then who will they listen to. Assistant coach, that would be Franzey holding a clipboard in the other hand. Franzy will also strap ankles, run drinks, do the time keeping and run the boundary. Culphy can look after the scoreboard and chat up the chicks as they walk past, he is a machine. he hehehe:D

fair enough with the biasednes but you are talking about fraser in past tense. Hunter is the form ruckman of the comp, before which i would have said Bradshaw and on more recent form Storey. Fraser would be lurking somewhere next probably with big Petrovic. Plus i'd have Cameron in before Purcell. ON FORM.

Depends RHG if MM is picking a name side, or a form side. If he was picking a name side he has probably not done too badly, notwithstanding a Mitta bias for obvious reasons. However, on 2007 form, Nelson, Packer, Purcell, Fraser, Cameron & Brand could consider themselves lucky to be in. Tuenon would be in neither side.

One of the funniest things this year in the TDFL occurred on saturday night. Where a certain publican who plays with Mitta and part owns the Kinross was refused entry to his own establishment by the hired security guards there for the Boxing. Apparently a heated argument followed with the publican trying to explain that he owned the place which was greeted by a "yeah right mate heard that before" response from the guards. Turns out a member of the bar staff had to be fetched in order for Mr Conway to gain entry. Not really footy related but piss funny never the less.:D:D:D

fair enough with the biasednes but you are talking about fraser in past tense. Hunter is the form ruckman of the comp, before which i would have said Bradshaw and on more recent form Storey. Fraser would be lurking somewhere next probably with big Petrovic. Plus i'd have Cameron in before Purcell. ON FORM.

I can appreciate your opinion OP. I'm sure Mitta and Thurgoona will cross paths at some stage, so lets let the duel between the two ruckman determine who is better. Dont forget to tell the boys that Sandy Creek is the second right once you come down the hill, Heee haaa:D

Depends RHG if MM is picking a name side, or a form side. If he was picking a name side he has probably not done too badly, notwithstanding a Mitta bias for obvious reasons. However, on 2007 form, Nelson, Packer, Purcell, Fraser, Cameron & Brand could consider themselves lucky to be in. Tuenon would be in neither side.

Fair call on Tuenon, he's been a passanger in his 6 premierships at Mitta. Who would you replace these so called name players with? I would like to see your side for interests sake. Not having a dig by the way. I have been known to be a little bias towards the mountain men. I gotta run, I have to do a pap smear on my pet ostrich:eek:

One of the funniest things this year in the TDFL occurred on saturday night. Where a certain publican who plays with Mitta and part owns the Kinross was refused entry to his own establishment by the hired security guards there for the Boxing. Apparently a heated argument followed with the publican trying to explain that he owned the place which was greeted by a "yeah right mate heard that before" response from the guards. Turns out a member of the bar staff had to be fetched in order for Mr Conway to gain entry. Not really footy related but piss funny never the less.:D:D:D

Would of payed money to see that:thumbsu:

I can appreciate your opinion OP. I'm sure Mitta and Thurgoona will cross paths at some stage, so lets let the duel between the two ruckman determine who is better. Dont forget to tell the boys that Sandy Creek is the second right once you come down the hill, Heee haaa:D

haha yer i'll take that one MM, since its been a long time since we made finals. this year will be different cos FRANZEEE! is at the helm.
i will blitz on the sandy creek ground (cos red is faster). Culphee we need u back

"Thats the worst effort seen for a senior team" Not true Reg. Mitta played Thurgoona a couple of years ago and kicked about 46 goals. That was in the wet to, short memory. My Granma played at full forward that day and I have to say she had a day out. Granny was slotting them from everywhere:D

Fair call on Tuenon, he's been a passanger in his 6 premierships at Mitta. Who would you replace these so called name players with? I would like to see your side for interests sake. Not having a dig by the way. I have been known to be a little bias towards the mountain men. I gotta run, I have to do a pap smear on my pet ostrich:eek:

You're living in the past MM, time to get into 2007 and get yourself a form guide! :thumbsdown:
The Franzy thing was funny once too, get yourself some new material and stop riding coat tails! :cool:

You're living in the past MM, time to get into 2007 and get yourself a form guide! :thumbsdown:
The Franzy thing was funny once too, get yourself some new material and stop riding coat tails! :cool:

AD, if I wasn't here we'd be talking about jumpers, the push in the back rule and Barny blokes taking there own grog to games. Living in the past, harsh call I would of thought but hey I'm not going to worry about it. Lets just let the performances on field do the talking, what do you say? As for the Franzey thing, we just love it. We should be encouraging Franzy and Culphy, makes it a bit more interesting I say, carn the red nuts:thumbsu:

haha yer i'll take that one MM, since its been a long time since we made finals. this year will be different cos FRANZEEE! is at the helm.
i will blitz on the sandy creek ground (cos red is faster). Culphee we need u back

Im issuing the challenge now for someone (anyone) to construct the Shane Franz banner. Its to be displayed proudly at one of the finals games this year. AD, just to be safe, don't save it to the last game of the year, just in case, ha ha ha:D

Sorry MM, didn't realise we were picking a side on past performances. If that is the case, my side is:

B/ Peter Star, Darren Elliot, Jack Clancy
HB/ Lawrence Hodgkin, Ray Mack, Glen Page
C/ Brendan Way, Rod Barton, Nigel Lappin
HF/ Jade Culph, Roger Peters, Peter Copley
F/ Simon Corr, Ross Hillary, Travis Tytler.
R/ Daryl Butler, John Smith, Robbie Barber.

Sorry MM, didn't realise we were picking a side on past performances. If that is the case, my side is:

B/ Peter Star, Darren Elliot, Jack Clancy
HB/ Lawrence Hodgkin, Ray Mack, Glen Page
C/ Brendan Way, Rod Barton, Nigel Lappin
HF/ Jade Culph, Roger Peters, Peter Copley
F/ Simon Corr, Ross Hillary, Travis Tytler.
R/ Daryl Butler, John Smith, Robbie Barber.

Very nice stuff. I would like to retract all my previous sides and statements and go back to talking s#it. I will take some of my own advice and let the actions out on the ground do the talking. (that was a serious statement so I take that back also, anyone confused) Just for the record 'Quinny' can consider himself a bit stiff not to have made your side. Well I have got to go, my pet Wombat requires my assistance to dig a hole:D

Reg, read the threads mate - the Valley has already been dropped of the name!!!!!! The jumpers were discussed but beaten and as far as i hear there is no discussion on them again.