Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence

I wonder what this news means for the North Melbourne Tasmania Kangaroos in the AFLW? Can North field a standalone team?
Simple North's AFLW team will just readjust and play more at Arden Street

Its 2023 now. And the Tassie side comes in 2027. So there's 2024, 2025 and 2026 to plan this.

Good time to fund the Tassie state league. Start from 2024. Build up and develop the next generation of Tassie kids.

Develop some 16-18 year Olds from 2024. By the end of 2026 those 16-18 year Olds will be 18-20 year Olds. Perfect time for Tassie to draft some kids in the 2026 draft to get ready for the 2027 season.

Agreed. Dockers struggled as they only had 2-3 months to build up the squad. Dockers were competitive despite lack of time and money put in the team.

Gold coast and GWS had a solid 12-18 months to build up the squad and had scouts all over the country.

I don't think Tassie needs 9 of the 1st 15 picks. I don't think they need a massive 50 player squad.

Each AFL side has 42-44 players. 38 on the main squad and 4-6 rookies.

I'm sure you could find a way for Tassie to get 34 players on the main squad.

Let Tassie get 8-12 free agents from other clubs.

Then access to 8-12 delisted list cloggers from other clubs.

Then the 2 earliest picks of each round. So that's 14 picks.

Then 8-10 rookie picks.
I think one of the obvious ways to do this is to start putting the money into player wages immediately and expand list sizes ASAP on the existing clubs (making more players available to Tas to grab upon introduction). ie. Increase list sizes by say ~2+ per team now and have these reducing in 2027 (although personally I'm of the belief list sizes should be increasing anyway).

Good day for footy..

Brendan Bolton should be the inaugural coach to set them up as they go through the VFL and become a reality.

Absolutely pumped.

Now watch them stuff it by calling the team the 'Lakers' (cuz Murica) and putting them in silver and neon pick jumpers...

Can't wait for the stink with Warner Brothers if they want to be called the Devils.

Devils is already trademarked by the AFL precisely for this moment.

I read something earlier about Warner Brothers having a say, but hopefully the Mason Cox appearance on 60 Minutes in the US just makes them realise they should be facilitating such a unique tie-in and not preventing it.

Time to bring the corpse of Sheedy out to coach the team for the first couple of years.

If you want an old school coach, who's up to date on the modern game, and who seems to get buy in from even the most difficult to manage players then Choc Williams is the man.

Only issue is that he'll be 70 by the time the team is entering the comp.

Maybe you poach Gale and Hardwick from the Tigers? Dimma contracted to the end of next year, mutaully agree to step away to refresh Richmond.

Dimma takes over the Tassie team and builds them through the VFL. JRoo on board as assistant coach and helping with the marketing. Gale probably a dream but would be a huge coup.

Rekon it all fits pretty nicely though.

Much better place to live than the over populated, congested crap heaps that Sydney and Melbourne have become

Sent from my SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep, over half the population of Australia who live outside of Melbourne and Sydney are wondering why the question is even being posed.

I think one of the obvious ways to do this is to start putting the money into player wages immediately and expand list sizes ASAP on the existing clubs (making more players available to Tas to grab upon introduction). ie. Increase list sizes by say ~2+ per team now and have these reducing in 2027 (although personally I'm of the belief list sizes should be increasing anyway).
So that means each club has 45-47 players?

40 on the main squad and 5-7 rookie listed players?

Also one of my main concerns is the Tassie squad is gonna struggle to reach the 95 percent minimum of the salary cap.

I have always said the salary cap floor should be 90 percent. If the salary cap is 13 or 14 million, Then there's 1.3-1.4 million of wriggle room to get a free agent or have pay rises to key players.

At least in 2011, the suns 1st season they had to reach a minimum of 92.5 percent. It helped to a point where Gary Ablett junior and Nathan Bock and Jared Brennan had massive wages.

Same with Port Adelaide as they were underfunded in many areas

Wooden spooner misses out on Gather Round?

Smallest membership base misses out.

2022 AFL MEMBERSHIP LADDER

1. West Coast 102,897 (2021 tally: 106,422)
2. Richmond 100,792 (2021 tally: 105,084)
3. Collingwood 100,384* (2021 tally: 82,527)
4. Carlton 88,776* (2021 tally: 81,302)
5. Essendon 86,001* (2021 tally: 81,662)
6. Hawthorn 81,494* (2021 tally: 77,079)
7. Geelong 71,943* (2021 tally: 70,293)
8. Melbourne 66,484* (2021 tally: 53,188)
9. Adelaide 63,009 (2021 tally: 60,232)
10. St Kilda 60,172* (2021 tally: 55,802)
11. Port Adelaide 58,643* (2021 tally: 56,532)
12. Fremantle 56,105* (2021 tally: 50,342)
13. Sydney 55,394 (2021 tally: 50,144)
14. Western Bulldogs 50,941* (2021 tally: 46,541)
15. North Melbourne 50,191* (2021 tally: 46,357)
16. Brisbane Lions 43,319* (2021 tally: 40,289)
17. GWS Giants 32,614* (2021 tally: 30,185)
18. Gold Coast 21,422* (2021 tally: 19,460)

TOTAL - 1,190,671 (2021 tally: 1,113,441)
* Club membership record in 2022

Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence