Resource The 2016 AFL Crowds and Ratings Thread

take it the membership discussion thread guys

2016AFLRatings_R2.png

New member here from the United States. . .

I want to post about the future of the sport internationally, but I have to wait four days or ten posts to be a full member to create a new thread. . .

So, I visited Australia last year and attended a Swans game on opening weekend in the rain and was absolutely taken by the sport. I have followed it ever since, including staying up until 3:00 AM EST to watch the Grand Final between Hawthorne and West Coast.

I have a few questions: how do fans get the tickets behind each goal? How many total stadiums are there (it seems quite a few Melborne-based teams share the MCG)? What venue is considered the best/newest/most historic? Do a considerable number of fans travel to road games? Is there any club who is considered to have the best fan following (I know this might spark some debate)?

Anyway, please take some time to educate this Yank.
New member here from the United States. . .

I want to post about the future of the sport internationally, but I have to wait four days or ten posts to be a full member to create a new thread. . .

So, I visited Australia last year and attended a Swans game on opening weekend in the rain and was absolutely taken by the sport. I have followed it ever since, including staying up until 3:00 AM EST to watch the Grand Final between Hawthorne and West Coast.

I have a few questions: how do fans get the tickets behind each goal? How many total stadiums are there (it seems quite a few Melborne-based teams share the MCG)? What venue is considered the best/newest/most historic? Do a considerable number of fans travel to road games? Is there any club who is considered to have the best fan following (I know this might spark some debate)?

Anyway, please take some time to educate this Yank.

Everyone will say his own club has the best following in terms of passion for the game but the objective reality is it is either my club Richmond or perhaps Collingwood. All the non Melbourne teams come from villages with sheep on the streets and don't count.

However please don't support us. Save yourself while you can. Richmond will break your heart and leave you desolate. It's like a beautiful girl who simply ignores you. Richmond just refuses to have success and toys nonchalantly with our love and affection. Every year we approach her with love and every year she scorns us.

Richmond is like the Chicago Cubs? Get it?

Everyone will say his own club has the best following in terms of passion for the game but the objective reality is it is either my club Richmond or perhaps Collingwood. All the non Melbourne teams come from villages with sheep on the streets and don't count.

However please don't support us. Save yourself while you can. Richmond will break your heart and leave you desolate. It's like a beautiful girl who simply ignores you. Richmond just refuses to have success and toys nonchalantly with our love and affection. Every year we approach her with love and every year she scorns us.

For many years of my childhood Collingwood was exactly the same - always the brides maid and never the bride, ran second with excruciating regularity, after seeing Collingwood lose about 6 or 7 grand finals i had had enough and told all my mates i was now going to barrack for Fitzroy ( i secretly had a soft spot for them anyway - who didn't) ------- look what happened to them :D

its a fun ride though, the passion of the ups and the heartbreak of the downs. Builds Character ;)

Looking forward to going to Etihad to watch my Tiges play crows on the weekend, said no Richmond supporter ever.

If we won last week it may of been a different story, but can see this being our lowest home attendance since 2014 when we played at 'home' against port.
Expect probably less than 30000 there which is will be horrendous, just for god sake please let it be a nice day with the roof open to let some atmosphere into the joint!

Welcome, mate! Always good to hear of someone from another country seeing the light!

To answer your queries:

1 - It differs from ground to ground, but there's usually an allocated area behind each goal for each team's 'Cheer Squad', which are 'special' groups fans can join. At many grounds you can easily find tickets near to these areas as well.

2 - There are 15 different grounds that will host a game this year, however 3 will only host 1 game.

The main venues are the MCG and Etihad Stadium in Melbourne (all Melbourne teams and Geelong play home games at these), Adelaide Oval in Adelaide (all Adelaide and Port games), Domain Stadium in Perth (all West Coast and Freo games), the Gabba in Brisbane (all Lions games), Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast (all GC games), the SCG (all Sydney Swans games) and Spotless Stadium (most GWS games) in Sydney, Aurora Stadium in Launceston (4 Hawthorn games), Blundstone Arena in Hobart (3 North Melbourne games), Manuka Oval in Canberra (3 GWS games) and Simonds Stadium in Geelong (8 Geelong games). Melbourne also play a game in Darwin and Alice Springs, and the Western Bulldogs play 1 game in Cairns.

As a general rule the MCG is considered the home ground of Melbourne, Richmond, Collingwood and Hawthorn. Etihad is considered the home of St Kilda, Western Bulldogs, North Melbourne and Essendon. However most play home games at both stadia. Carlton split their games between the 2 almost evenly.

3 - No doubt there'll be a big debate over best stadium, but the majority would nominate the MCG. It's the biggest ground by far (100k capacity), and it's got the most history (almost every Grand Final ever has been played here). The newest ground is also one of the oldest, as the historic Adelaide Oval underwent a near complete renovation before opening back up to football games in 2014. It's quickly become one of the favourite grounds for crowds. There's a new stadium in Perth under construction as we speak.

4 - The amount of travelling fans varies greatly but there's usually a decent smattering of them at games. If the game is big enough or is played at a convenient time (i.e. school holidays, long weekends) then there can be a few thousand. I've been in quite a few huge Collingwood turnouts in Sydney and the Gold Coast, and I've seen big Adelaide and West Coast contingents at our home games as well.

5 - Obviously Collingwood. There is no debate. ;)

In all seriousness we're generally held to have the largest following, with Essendon, Richmond, Adelaide, West Coast and Carlton up there as well. As for 'best' that is way too subjective for anyone to answer. Too many rivalries to get an unbiased response.

Thanks for the thoughtful reply. Forgive me if I ask some stupid questions as there is almost exactly zero coverage of the AFL here in the States.

As a follow up on the stadium question: I understand that each oval is not uniform. How different are the playing fields in terms of size and how do teams build their roster to exploit that to their advantage (if at all)? Are stadium construction/revonations publicly financed in part like they are here (unfortunately) in the United States?

How much does revenues impact the contenders in the AFL? In baseball here in America, there was a time when there were huge disparities in payroll (like over a hundred million dollars) and a team like the New York Yankees could effectively buy the best team. How does the AFL regulate that?

And lastly, I have gravitated toward following the Swans because they had a tremendous comeback in the rain in the game I went to (and followed it up with a strong season). That said, my 12 year old son picked the Pies because "they have the coolest uniforms" and we loved the thrilling last second win this past weekend over the Chicago Cubs . . . err, Richmond.

Thanks again for the welcome everyone.

Looking forward to going to Etihad to watch my Tiges play crows on the weekend, said no Richmond supporter ever.

If we won last week it may of been a different story, but can see this being our lowest home attendance since 2014 when we played at 'home' against port.
Expect probably less than 30000 there which is will be horrendous, just for god sake please let it be a nice day with the roof open to let some atmosphere into the joint!

Sick of this "Etihad has no atmosphere" rubbish. With crowds of 25-30,000 it has a much better atmosphere than the MCG.

As a follow up on the stadium question: I understand that each oval is not uniform. How different are the playing fields in terms of size and how do teams build their roster to exploit that to their advantage (if at all)? Are stadium construction/revonations publicly financed in part like they are here (unfortunately) in the United States?
Each Oval/Ground/playing surface is unique in terms of length & width. Most teams play better on their home ground because a- home support, b- no travelling involved and c- their game plan is mostly adapted to cater to their specific home gorunds dimensions, the most obvious current case in the league being with my own team, who rarely lose a match in their home stadium but struggle at certain other venues.
Overall though, whilst playing a small part, ground sizes don't impact on results too much, usually the better team will win no matter where a game is played.

How much does revenues impact the contenders in the AFL? In baseball here in America, there was a time when there were huge disparities in payroll (like over a hundred million dollars) and a team like the New York Yankees could effectively buy the best team. How does the AFL regulate that?
There is a salary cap in place for all teams, i think it is about $10.36 million dollars (aud). No teams can spend more than this amount, except in some special cases, such as rookie players etc. But overall in terms of the amount each team can spend on their players it is very even.
Richer clubs do benefit somewhat from a higher revenue in the way that they can spend more money on equipment, research and coaching staff.

Crowds have been mainly excellent. Even comp is great for the league. Hope lions, Saints, dockers and blues win one soon and Roos, Suns, dogs and swans lose one

Thanks for the thoughtful reply. Forgive me if I ask some stupid questions as there is almost exactly zero coverage of the AFL here in the States.

And lastly, I have gravitated toward following the Swans because they had a tremendous comeback in the rain in the game I went to (and followed it up with a strong season). That said, my 12 year old son picked the Pies because "they have the coolest uniforms" and we loved the thrilling last second win this past weekend over the Chicago Cubs . . . err, Richmond.

Thanks again for the welcome everyone.

Listen mate when I advised you to avoid supporting Richmond I was being friendly and matey and protecting you from years or decades of soul searing heart aching pain.

However if you come on here and start telling us you enjoyed watching wins against our beloved Tigers we will soon fall out. Are you with me?....as Sir Les Patterson would have said.

Listen mate when I advised you to avoid supporting Richmond I was being friendly and matey and protecting you from years or decades of soul searing heart aching pain.

However if you come on here and start telling us you enjoyed watching wins against our beloved Tigers we will soon fall out. Are you with me?....as Sir Les Patterson would have said.

As a tortured Buffalo Bills fan from American Football, I am with you 100%. Go Tigers!

What would be a respectable crowd for the Collingwood v Saints match on Saturday arvo? It's a saints home match. Will more fans attend based on the 50th anniversary of their only flag in 1966? I reckon about 45,000, only because the Saints fans will be unimpressed with the way their club played last Saturday against the Doggies.

Sick of this "Etihad has no atmosphere" rubbish. With crowds of 25-30,000 it has a much better atmosphere than the MCG.

I don;t know how anyone can possibly think Etihad has anything close to atmosphere even with a full house. It's a shit stadium in a shit location. Level 1 is too small and the flat roof just kills off what little atmosphere it has.

I don't expect too many tiger fans to show up on Saturday. It's just not a Richmond friendly stadium. I will be there though under sufferance.

What would be a respectable crowd for the Collingwood v Saints match on Saturday arvo? It's a saints home match. Will more fans attend based on the 50th anniversary of their only flag in 1966? I reckon about 45,000, only because the Saints fans will be unimpressed with the way their club played last Saturday against the Doggies.

Could get to 55k the weather forecast is good. Pies fans will show up in decent numbers.

Maybe for saints supporters.
The MCG brings more to us than the atmosphere.

The grog squad is always in the standing room behind the punt road goals who lift the crowd every week

The reserved seat members know all the other regulars that sit near them, where you discuss the heat break of last weeks loss and how you dealt with it for the rest of the week

Richmond station is a sea of yellow and black and all the pubs in Richmond are full with supporters getting in one final drink to calm the nerves before.

It's not just the game atmosphere that will be missing, it's the whole experience that won't be the same.

Not to mention you can pretty much guarantee 35000 at the G where as it won't even get 30000 at Etihad or the fact it is our home game and Adelaide have played there more recently than us.

Could get to 55k the weather forecast is good. Pies fans will show up in decent numbers.

MCG has estimated 52k. I'd be very happy if it got to 50k as we only got 45k in Round 3 last year with both teams 1-1.

Still, the 50th celebrations and the buzz from the finish to Friday night's game might tempt a few more through the gate with a bit of luck.

25 degrees. Round 3 with 1 win and 1 loss by a point. If we can't get over 35k there it would be atrocious

Its posts like this that reinforce my belief that the rep Melbourne has as a sporting capital is mostly because of the MCG. If you cant follow your team down the road simply because of the stadium than you just dont deserve to be called a genuine fan.

Its posts like this that reinforce my belief that the rep Melbourne has as a sporting capital is mostly because of the MCG. If you cant follow your team down the road simply because of the stadium than you just don't deserve to be called a genuine fan.

Understand what you are saying here, but people are creatures of habit and ease, Richmond fans have spent over 100 years doing the same things pre and post home game, Collingwood fans spent over a 100 years doing the same at Vic Park, they would gather at their favourite watering hole pre and post game which usually meant only a 5 minute walk to a myriad of pubs around the ground, and if they no longer lived around the area they usually had family that did or at one stage did and they could point out where their dad or mum or grandfather grew up. As well as being a game of football it was also catching up with mates or family members and relaying experiences to kids or younger family members about the area or famous games etc.

But you are right about the MCG, it is a huge jewel in the crown, it is central, easily accessible from quite a few different areas, people love it, it has a huge bearing on Melbourne's love of sport.