Resource The 2016 AFL Crowds and Ratings Thread

You would think that the AFL Members,MCC Members and Walkups would be at least 20,25,000 so that leaves less than 50,000 club members I reckon the the figures the clubs are putting out are total BS The real figure of genuine hard core members that actually attend matches is about half what the clubs would have you believe.

Don't forget that many of those MCC members and guest pass holders will be club members as well. For example, I attended last weeks season opener as an MCC member even though I hold a club membership as well, which I didn't use.

Looks to be an excellent turnout at the MCG today. And by all reports extroadibary scenes at the walk with upwards of 10,000 involved. Some unbelievable photos of the event.

For a Showdown?

That said crowds at AO have been consistently impressive

This is actually the second highest Showdown crowd ever. The Phil Walsh game is number 1 of course at 53518, then this then the next biggest is the 2003 Showdown XIII at 51140

18k is really disappointing for us. Despite it being our first game at the Gabba for the year + giving away 3,000 free tickets away in the middle of the week. Although it was against the Roos who aren't generally big crowd pullers in Brisbane, is still an awful result.

Well if it makes you feel any better the rugby league mob were in cahoots about 21k for the local derby between Broncos and Titans on Friday night and both teams performing well on field. 18k isn't too bad in that context.

Not bad, probably about what I expected, but I really miss the days when St Kilda and the Bulldogs would regularly draw 40,000+. I hope we can reach those heights again but it seems unlikely.
Considering a lot of Saints fans would have been expecting their side to be well beaten it's not too bad at all.

Disagree about the well beaten part. I think most of us expected us to give the Dogs a challenge. All of the ingredients were there for a big crowd last night but it still failed to reach the heights of the mid-2000s.

Well if it makes you feel any better the rugby league mob were in cahoots about 21k for the local derby between Broncos and Titans on Friday night and both teams performing well on field. 18k isn't too bad in that context.
Guess so, but given the fact we gave 3,000 free tickets away I was expecting at least 20k at the Gabba

The reality is that they have to win, or at least win at home, competitive on the road, only then will we see crowd increases, which in turn leads to grass roots growth, it has been a really slow turn around, far slower than most people would have imagined in Brisbane, but a decent rusted on supporter base exists and a reasonably strong grass roots base underpins it.

It is just a matter of time before it turns around, they really had the potential to be Swans like and be competitive every year, but something went horribly wrong.

The reality is that they have to win, or at least win at home, competitive on the road, only then will we see crowd increases, which in turn leads to grass roots growth, it has been a really slow turn around, far slower than most people would have imagined in Brisbane, but a decent rusted on supporter base exists and a reasonably strong grass roots base underpins it.

It is just a matter of time before it turns around, they really had the potential to be Swans like and be competitive every year, but something went horribly wrong.
true. 45k watched Friday night footy in Brisbane. Many NRL games rate in the low 100k's or lower. So the interest in AFL is definitely there, they just need a competitive team to follow

I would agree the interest is there, however i really don't put a great deal of reliance of TV ratings, although they all tell me it is all legit and mathematically based etc etc, the interest is there for mine based on the strength of community football and attendance at Lions games.

At one stage footy in QLD was far and away stronger than footy in NSW north of Wagga, NSW has picked up a bit and QLD maybe slipped a bit.

Mcc was the only real area with massive empty areas, didn't get the walk ups to push it closer to the 80.
Great turn ups from the pies after a dismal first week I would say personally

I thought the crowd was reasonable. Irrespective of MCC predictions it was probably not an outstanding crowd, a solid crowd. Maybe 3-4,000 below what would've been regarded as a good decent crowd for this.

Tbh, to get over 80,000 for a non public holiday you need almost everything aligned. Collingwoods performance last week possibly let a bit of air out if the fixture. Still over 70,000 which takes it above the disappointing rating.

To put it in context, I can only find 10 matches in history that have got to 70k when one of the teams involved got beaten by at least 10 goals the week before. Not surprisingly, every single match involves Collingwood. Here's the list in order of biggest loss the previous week:

Untitled.png

The biggest question coming from that list is - how the hell did Collingwood v Melbourne in 1988 get 75k when both teams got thrashed the week before? Melbourne lost by 73 points and Collingwood by 90 points. It wasn't a Queen's Birthday game either, just a regular Saturday arvo game at the G. I was probably part of that crowd, but as I would have been 10 at the time I don't remember any particular significance to the game.