Mega Thread The 2017 'Buckley's Chances' Thread

Did you even bother to listen?

When the senior coach of a football side is offering absolutes like "We'll be better next year and the year after and contending in the next 3-5 years" when we massively fail to do so then clearly something has gone badly wrong with his plans and questions need to be answered.

Why hasn't the improvement happened?

What has gone wrong?

Have I failed?

All are very legitimate questions in light of how we're tracking. Buckley, Pert et al all deserve to be under increased scrutiny for the constant failure to meet their own public expectations as has occurred the past 4 seasons.

I did listen to it.

What did you expect Buckley to say back in 2014?

Clearly the expectations have not been met and everybody here knows that. If the losses continue he will be sacked, once again everybody knows that.

Love the sarcasm. Youd sign him up for 10 years no question if you had the chance.
Why not? That is how long Mickey got.
By the way, what year did you start calling for Mickey's head to roll?

So we are all Idiots and we know nothing. Like You as a Fan as well
Show me where I used the word idiot?
Of all the other teams that lost this round, which team lost because of their coach?

Why not? That is how long Mickey got.
By the way, what year did you start calling for Mickey's head to roll?
Come on Maggie5, in what universe is Buckley comparable to MM as a coach and therefore entitled to the same treatment. MM arrived as a dual premiership coach and took us to 2 grand finals before achieving the ultimate success.

Who the f came up with this succession planning role? I can understand the concept in the case of Goodwin 'did his apprenticeship'.. but we gave the job to an AIS coach.

Seriously Edddie.. mate.. you should be held accountable for this f up.

It's hilarious how we signed Bucks for an extra 2 yrs based on JLT form.. wreaks of Ed!!!

At the end of the day.. this friendship between Mcguire and Buckley.. will see both of em bid a farewell.

Time for a new regime.

Maggie
Every club when they lose have supporters who bag everything.
Some love it when we lose.
Some genuinely are just frustrated.
But whatever, it's just social media and as strong as some are on here it may not remotely correlate to what the real decision makers (ie Ed) really are going to do.

Personally I think Ed's time is done, but if he's there I still want us to succeed.

And I'm with you, I'd sign Nathan for another two years (ducks proudly) we finish what we started.

Oh, and if nothing else, the melts on here would be something else.

You are seriously taking the piss arn't you.. 'sign Buckley another 2 yrs'?

The bloke hasn't been able to coach since day 1.

One game that really gets to me is the Port Adelaide Elim Final. One of the worst displays of coaching I have ever seen.

I have seriously yet to see a game in 6 yrs where we have been consistent throughout all 4 quarters. Literally!

Please.. if you don't mind me asking.. why the hell does he deserve 2 more yrs?

I long for the day the club makes the announcement that he's gone! Go to France for a yr or some shit Bucks.. come back refreshed for foxfooty commentary.

Are you aware there's an uprising of Collingwood supporters who want him out? What is this group? Stupid?

Reading the anger and frustration on here, and understanding most of it, although not the vitriol. But the highlighted terrifies me. It's what kept Richmond in the dark for 30 years. Fans calling for the head of the coach is not the way to go. The CFC Board need to show some leadership, need to identify a clear way out, a structure for rectifying this mess. If that includes removal of the coach, then so be it. But not on the back of fans baying for blood. That sickens me.

It is also only round 4. While yesterday was devastating, and right now I have no expectation of improvement, it is still too soon in the season to sack a coach. Although two more losses in that way may bring it on.

Reading the anger and frustration on here, and understanding most of it, although not the vitriol. But the highlighted terrifies me. It's what kept Richmond in the dark for 30 years. Fans calling for the head of the coach is not the way to go. The CFC Board need to show some leadership, need to identify a clear way out, a structure for rectifying this mess. If that includes removal of the coach, then so be it. But not on the back of fans baying for blood. That sickens me.

It is also only round 4. While yesterday was devastating, and right now I have no expectation of improvement, it is still too soon in the season to sack a coach. Although two more losses in that way may bring it on.

Seriously I have been saying from my very first post on bigfooty that it was the wrong decision to sign him.

How can anyone overlook the fact that he was signed with absolutely sweet f all experience. Except at AIS level.

You say the CFC board need to show some leadership? How is that possible when they showed an enormous amt of immaturity as a group for signing him in the first place.

Instructing our great captain Pendlebury to come out and say we've got a 'culture problem' at the club in 2012.. after a brilliant 2011. Wreaks of lies and deceat and SELFISHNESS on behalf of Buckley.

I'll reiterate it again and again and again.. Signing a bloke with sweet f all experience was a complete joke.. the shit did not hit the fan yesterday.. it hit the fan yrs ago.

He should not have been given a 2 yr extention bc of a jlt series.. that wreaks Ed! Reinforcing his decision to sign him to save his own face.. and helping out a mate.

Ed as good as he has been.. he's like a kid!

It's absolutely ludicrous.

Gee judging by most of the comments tonight I may just have enough posters to play poker with when we re-sign Buckley.:p

Do you really think they will re-sign him Maggie? Or are you being cheeky? What are your thoughts on Bucks right now?

And what's Ed gonna do on Triple M and in front of the camera again.. grinning from ear to ear like nothings happened. Laughing it off and telling the crew it's all hunky f dorry.

The truth is in watching his face turn a deep red everytime he watches our boys play like a bunch of losties.

And what's Ed gonna do on Triple M and in front of the camera again.. grinning from ear to ear like nothings happened. Laughing it off and telling the crew it's all hunky f dorry.

The truth is in watching his face turn a deep red everytime he watches our boys play like a bunch of losties.

I am no Ed fan, and have called before for a rethink on/replacement of our President. But I get no satisfaction from seeing him distressed. And sensible decisions are not made in anger.

You appear to want to vent your rage on here, and you are not alone. But nor does it achieve much.

There will be improvement and i suspect it will be on Anzac Day. This team (group of young men) seems to need some adversity to evoke a passionate and spirited effort. It smacks of immaturity as there appears no ability to realise what the baseline of effort is required to win with continuity. I reckon this is the greatest shortcoming of this coaching group, they have not impacted on the squad to perform at its optimum week in week out. There is a reliance on an emotional response to a poor or ordinary effort and also it appears a response to a negative week in the media.
What is also patently clear is that our understanding of how to play at Etihad is limited, at best. Forward spacing all wrong, press way to high and over reliance of handball in traffic rather than gain ground quickly and place pressure (if only perceived) on the defence that has not had time to set up and get midfield cover. Unfortunately this again is a coaching group shortcoming.
All of this aside we will not sack a coach mid season and we should as a fan base be consoled that this is a good thing. The inner turmoil that results from that sort of upheaval has an impact on young players that can take years to get over. A loss of faith in senior management at its core.

I am no Ed fan, and have called before for a rethink on/replacement of our President. But I get no satisfaction from seeing him distressed. And sensible decisions are not made in anger.

You appear to want to vent your rage on here, and you are not alone. But nor does it achieve much.

Of course it achieves a lot.

Its an avenue to vent one's frustrstions with those who understand it. Its social. Its informative. Reading the views of others. Understanding and learning more about it. Seeking answers. Asking questions. Becoming more footy astute. It all adds up.

I did listen to it.

What did you expect Buckley to say back in 2014?

Clearly the expectations have not been met and everybody here knows that. If the losses continue he will be sacked, once again everybody knows that.
Do they?

Some on here are saying a contract extension is warranted again so Bucks can "see it through" or to "ease the pressure on the players".

When a coach has as obviously fallen short of his guaranteed objectives as Bucks has then he has to be held to account no matter who they are or how good a player they were. It sadly looks like the Football Dept has ballsed things up badly this past 3 years and perhaps a change needs to occur sooner than expected.

Hopefully today is a catalyst and we turn it all around and win the next 18 games and march into finals and glory but it's looking like another wasted year again already and I hate that.

Do they?

Some on here are saying a contract extension is warranted again so Bucks can "see it through" or to "ease the pressure on the players".

When a coach has as obviously fallen short of his guaranteed objectives as Bucks has then he has to be held to account no matter who they are or how good a player they were. It sadly looks like the Football Dept has ballsed things up badly this past 3 years and perhaps a change needs to occur sooner than expected.

Hopefully today is a catalyst and we turn it all around and win the next 18 games and march into finals and glory but it's looking like another wasted year again already and I hate that.

Ed has slowly turned it into a private boys club. Pert Rocca Sanderson Buckley.. this is mateship. The club doesn't deserve this.

Like doing renovations.. you hire a tradie.. ask if he has indemnity insurance.. ask for references.. he has none? Move on to the next tradie. He has it? Ok go and do your job and don't expect beers and a giros for lunch cause you're a nice bloke. Do your job!!!!

That's how the club should be run.

No more favours!!!!!!

If Bucks was coaching say ADE or GWS how do they think they'd be going?

I think tactically he's good, I'm not sure why the players are making silly mistakes every week though.

not well cause both gws and ade have a game plan we haven't had one since MM boundary line plan
Not true... Using Cloke as a decoy and Blair as our main fwd 50 target worked well. If he brought Blair across with him then Bucks could implement this strategy at Adelaide. Turn Betts into a defensive forward, use Tex as a decoy and let Blairy run amok. Then he could trade out Rory Sloane because he doesn't like his face. Business as usual