The 2017 Rolling All-Australian Thread

How about the fact that when he gets it we score 50% of the time?

And how does that compare to the competition average or other players that rate well in that stat?

Even still, he's averaging less than 11 touches a game. That means he has 5 score involvements per game. I'd suggest that there are a heap more players in the AFL averaging more than 5 score involvements per game.

And how does that compare to the competition average or other players that rate well in that stat?

Even still, he's averaging less than 11 touches a game. That means he has 5 score involvements per game. I'd suggest that there are a heap more players in the AFL averaging more than 5 score involvements per game.
He is 37th overall out of 430 players. I would say he is near the top of the list for 2ND year players.

Didn't you know he's "the best defender in the game"?

According to the Vic-centric footy shows we are forced to watch at least.

Don't ****ing complain about 'being forced' to watch Vic-centric shows when SA can only produce flogs like Mark Ricciuto, Kane Cornes & Michaelangelo Rucci to commentate & write.

He is 37th overall out of 430 players. I would say he is near the top of the list for 2ND year players.

That's decent for a second year player. You should be happy that he appears to be developing well.

However, this is an All-Australian thread. So ranking 37th overall in percentage terms (and I'm guessing much, much lower in terms of total score involvements) isn't really that noteworthy.

B: Davis Talia Docherty
HB: Yeo J.McGovern Laird
C: Z.Merrett M.Murphy Bontempelli
HF: Dangerfield Kennedy D.Martin
FF: Betts Hawkins J.Cameron
R: S.Martin Sloane J.Selwood
I: Pendlebury Cotchin Wines Riewoldt
Tex a bit stiff.. he has played well especially the past 2 weeks.

Is he though? Wasn't that flash at all vs Richmond IIRC.
Yes?
Averaging 4.2 more disposals, 3.7 more marks (1.5 more contested), same frees for but 0.8 less against, 1 goal assist to 0. Mcgovern made a couple of errors early against richmond but had a good 2nd half and was elite in round 1, 2 and 4. In no universe has Rance had a better season this year.

FB: R.Laird D.Talia C.Salem
HB: S.Docherty J.McGovern E.Yeo
C: A.Gaff Rockliff M.Murphy
HF: D.Martin J.Cameron M.Bontempelli
FF: E.Betts T.Hawkins D.Menzel
R: S.Martin, P.Dangerfield, R.Sloane
I/C: B.Grundy, N.Reiwoldt, J.Selwood, T.Rockliff, S.Pendlebury

FF: A four horse race with Tex, Lynch, Hawkins, and Kennedy.
CHF: Feel like Reiwoldt, Buddy and Cameron are fighting for it. Buddy dropped down a bit this week
Small forward: Betts by a landslide then Materia and Green
Medium forwards: Menzel comfortably ahead of Le Cras with not much competition. Could be replaced by a KPF.
Mid/Forwards: Dusty and Bont playing forward a bit more than Danger get the nod

Outside: Gaff and Murphy standout for high uncontested numbers and good ball use. Merrett and Adams unlucky
Inside: Danger, Rocky and Sloane top in terms of clearances and contested possessions. Selwood and Pendles best all round of the rest, Treloar the snub but couldn't find a place.
Ruck: Martin by a margin followed by Grundy, these two miles ahead

CHB: McGovern dominating intercept marks again, hard to assess KPD's this early though
Small/Medium defense: Laird and Docherty stand out for rebound, Yeo and Salem fighting it out with a few, Montagna probably closest.
FB: None particularly stand out, Talia probably the best of them but again hard to asses KPD's this early.

FB: R.Laird D.Talia C.Salem
HB: S.Docherty J.McGovern E.Yeo
C: A.Gaff Rockliff M.Murphy
HF: D.Martin J.Cameron M.Bontempelli
FF: E.Betts T.Hawkins D.Menzel
R: S.Martin, P.Dangerfield, R.Sloane
I/C: B.Grundy, N.Reiwoldt, J.Selwood, T.Rockliff, S.Pendlebury

FF: A four horse race with Tex, Lynch, Hawkins, and Kennedy.
CHF: Feel like Reiwoldt, Buddy and Cameron are fighting for it. Buddy dropped down a bit this week
Small forward: Betts by a landslide then Materia and Green
Medium forwards: Menzel comfortably ahead of Le Cras with not much competition. Could be replaced by a KPF.
Mid/Forwards: Dusty and Bont playing forward a bit more than Danger get the nod

Outside: Gaff and Murphy standout for high uncontested numbers and good ball use. Merrett and Adams unlucky
Inside: Danger, Rocky and Sloane top in terms of clearances and contested possessions. Selwood and Pendles best all round of the rest, Treloar the snub but couldn't find a place.
Ruck: Martin by a margin followed by Grundy, these two miles ahead

CHB: McGovern dominating intercept marks again, hard to assess KPD's this early though
Small/Medium defense: Laird and Docherty stand out for rebound, Yeo and Salem fighting it out with a few, Montagna probably closest.
FB: None particularly stand out, Talia probably the best of them but again hard to asses KPD's this early.
Gaff's numbers are good but he's only had 1 AA worthy game so far this year IMO, Shuey has been far better for us, averaging 30.2 disposals but has been far better by foot than Gaff, 5 marks, almost a goal a game, 6.5 tackles, 7.5 clearances, 5.5 I50's. Would've been top 3 in every game this year so far.

B: R Laird, D Talia, J McGovern
HB: E Yeo, P Davis, S Docherty
C: Z Merrett, T Rockliff, M Murphy
HF: D Martin, T Walker, T Greene
F: E Betts, T Hawkins, J Kennedy
R: B Grundy, R Sloane, P Dangerfield
I/C: S Pendlebury, O Wines, L Shuey, S Martin

Fair bit of Crows bias in there, but

Tex Walker stiff to be picked only once.

Team wouldn't have fared to well playing a solid team like Brisbane if yesterday's performance is anything to go by. A massive 16 possessions running at 50% effeciency, also managed to rack up the team high in clangers and free kicks given away.

Yep, Dusty is a hack.

Betts is clearly the best small forward at this point. The Sloane and Laird selections can be fairly easily justified.

Talia is probably doing as well as any KPD, but is not a massive stand out.

Walker selection is probably showing Crows bias. Walker is 5th in terms of goals kicked by KPFs. He has the best accuracy and is 3rd in terms of average goals per game by KPFs.

Betts is clearly the best small forward at this point. The Sloane and Laird selections can be fairly easily justified.

Talia is probably doing as well as any KPD, but is not a massive stand out.

Walker selection is probably showing Crows bias. Walker is 5th in terms of goals kicked by KPFs. He has the best accuracy and is 3rd in terms of average goals per game by KPFs.
Yeah I mainly went off average goals per game as my reasoning for putting Tex in there. Is definitely the 3rd KPF of the lot, but he's certainly lifted his output and influence on previous years so far. Reckon it can be justified at this stage, although you could justify many others, too

Hawkins FF, Betts and Martin in the forward line. The other 3 spots up for grabs their thus far.

Grundy is an easy choice for first ruck, I'm not sure you need to pick a second ruck that isn't a noted KPF, so Stef Martin misses in my eyes.

Midfield spots are hard too, Sloane and Dangerfield are easy picks, then you could rattle through about another 10-12 names that could be in contention.

Hasn't been an outstanding year for KPDs just yet, I certainly wouldn't have Rance in the 22 at this point, but only 4 games in he was very good against Collingwood and Eagles so you would expect he would force his way in at some point. Talia/McGovern I'd probably go with as of now.

Yeah I mainly went off average goals per game as my reasoning for putting Tex in there. Is definitely the 3rd KPF of the lot, but he's certainly lifted his output and influence on previous years so far. Reckon it can be justified at this stage, although you could justify many others, too
In any case, it is only R4. Plenty of things can change, which is why these early season discussions are generally just a way to pass the time. A player isn't going to make the AA team based solely on 4 games.

The 2017 Rolling All-Australian Thread