List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)

If we offer our Hawks first rounder next year to Richmond for pick 10 and see if they bite
If they don't deal with North they might be amenable to having another first round next year
Depending on where Hawks finish could be a worst pick than ten or a much better pick than 10

if not no loss and keep what we have if they want more we just walk away

Judging what has happened with pick trades so far, there's no chance at all of Richmond accepting that imo

I wouldnt rule out our F1 being on the table if someone we like is available, and am fully prepared for this board to explode

In order of likelihood, I feel we end up with:
1. Lindsay
2. Reid
3. Travaglia
4. Allan
5. Berry
6. Hotton
7. Shanahan
That would be my shopping list, in order.

1. FOS
2. Lalor
3. Smith
4. Draper
5. Langford
6. Smillie
7. Lindsay
8. Reid
9. Travaglia
10. Tauru
11. Allan

If we jagged Lindsay or Reid, it's like trading from 3 down to 7 or 8. But I think those top 4 are a level above. Obviously other clubs will go for KP's which wouldn't be a priority for me.

If we offer our Hawks first rounder next year to Richmond for pick 10 and see if they bite
If they don't deal with North they might be amenable to having another first round next year
Depending on where Hawks finish could be a worst pick than ten or a much better pick than 10

It would be in Richmond's best interest to at least move 1 first rounder into next year to offset some risk. I think 10 would come with a premium. Maybe Hawks f1 + f2, unless the accommodating baker deal ment Richmond and Clarke had a gentleman's agreement behind closed doors

On SM-A155F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I wouldn't even be bothering with Lindsay at CBD's for a while if we draft him. That can come later.

Outside run and carry midfielder who'd be fine off a wing or flank. Insta replacement for pre gimp Gaff/Masten, which we need. He's not perfect, but a solid choice IMO.

Right now we've got no equivalent on our list so it makes sense. Got a couple grunts in there like Graham and Yeo, along with Harley, so an outside accumulator that can hurt you would accompany that nicely.

TT would be great in other ways, but I feel the list need with Lindsay is more glaring.

I am baffled as to what our strategy is for the draft.
We have six main list spots available and we haven't bagged a DFA.
So are we going to use six picks in the draft and how do we get better picks in this draft.
We use some picks in the rookie draft.
Do we have train on players to fill out the list.
I don't mind missing out on Carroll but could we have picked up Parfitt or someone else.

In Clarke we trust.

I think it’s best to keep Clarke from anything Richmond related. The guy can’t help to show how much of a mate he is still.

Yeah I'd be happy picking up Knobel with a super late main draft pick - the only benefit to rookieing really is that we could cut him after a year, which would make sense for other players/situations but not this one.

We'll need at least 2 years of him continuing to develop to look at him properly and it might be something we can promise him to give a bit of certainty if we're getting in his ear for his blessing to pick him up.
Not only re Knobel but more generally, is there some sort of ‘gentlemen’s agreement’ not to draft players that clubs have agreed to re-rookie?

Just not sure if it’s a thing.

If so, then surely it’s only a matter of time before it’s out the window.

Besides, player movement between the WA teams makes sense because there’s no relocation. (Like the huge advantage the 10 teams in Vic have.)

Lel. Daresay they'd want just a tad bit more than that cobby 🤏

Outright pick 10 in a strong draft this year for Hawk's F1 (likely 10-18 next year)?

Not exactly sure where the upside is for them, unless you're adding a F2 at the minimum along with it. Either ours or Hawk's.

You don't trade top 10 picks unless it's a clear win for your club.

Linked too...

Reid - poor man's jagga smith
Allan - don't need have ginbey
Travaglia - yes please
Lindsay - yes please
Hotton - nah after acl
Shanahan - wtaf
Berry - nah

On SM-A155F using

Lindsay still clear best option for mine. Done plenty as a midfielder and Gippsland captain this year to alleviate any concerns about him finding the footy or not being a mid. Hasn't missed a beat, been AA twice, won the Morrish medal, his CV is stacked.

Lock him up with that pick and the pickswap fiasco could look a whole lot better down the track.

Wouldn't throw around "looks a safe 200 gamer" often, but he does.
Surely we would pick Reid if he was available.

Lel. Daresay they'd want just a tad bit more than that cobby 🤏

Outright pick 10 in a strong draft this year for Hawk's F1 (likely 10-18 next year)?

Not exactly sure where the upside is for them, unless you're adding a F2 at the minimum along with it. Either ours or Hawk's.

You don't trade top 10 picks unless it's a clear win for your club.
You don't trade a top 3 pick for anything less than........ woops, my bad.

Judging what has happened with pick trades so far, there's no chance at all of Richmond accepting that imo

I wouldnt rule out our F1 being on the table if someone we like is available, and am fully prepared for this board to explode

I really hope we don't do that.
Rodriguez with our F1 please, he looks like the quality midfielder we're lacking amongst our youth.

I really hope we don't do that.
Rodriguez with our F1 please, he looks like the quality midfielder we're lacking amongst our youth.

I don't have enough knowledge of what's coming next year to comment. However if Warner decides he's coming next year our F1 will be going to Sydney without a doubt if we still have it

Trading it out this year for something like Richmond’s 10+24 could be a play. We'll still have Hawks F1, 2 xF2s, 2xF3s plus 2 years of futures to play with next year.

I reckon we will have a choice between Lindsay and M.Reid after watching gettable this morning.

Sounds like Allen will be of the board, which is probably a good thing as we need a pure midfielder

It's a difficult choice between Lindsay and M.Reid i'd be happy with either

Lindsay is a lock to be a 200+ game player and i also believe he has more upside than people realise. His inside game is better than people give him credit for, he's throws his weight around in contests effectively, his core strength is quite good and he reads the play really well inside and outside. I think best case scenario he could develop into a Zac Merrett type player.

M.Reid has been considered a top 5 prospect for most of the year and has only recently slid down the rankings due to his athletic profile. He would probably be a slightly riskier pick than Lindsay but has the most upside out of any player at our pick. He could absolutely be a gun and i would be stoked if we picked him up.

Twomey also linked us to Hotton with pick 12. He would be a high risk, high reward pick, however if the club has done there due diligence on him he has massive upside and could be a good running mate for Harley.

At this stage my preference would be
1. Lindsay
2. M.Reid
3. Hotton
Founded it interesting we weren’t really linked with any with our 2nd pick. Power, Tigers, Dogs linked to players by Cal around that range. Nothing I can recall about us.

Noticed that as well. Maybe because the players we're into aren't in his top 30? Davis, Boxhall and Mraz/Nicholls perhaps.

Surely we would be into Hynes or Oliver if they we're available.

Fair chance it’s because Twomey doesn’t really have any real insight into what we’re doing

He linked us to any of Allan, Lindsay, Reid, Berry, Travaglia, Hotton, Shanahan and even a Whitlock with pick 12 which indicates he’s guessing like the rest of us

So we have a top 3 mid, vic country boy, mates with Harley with just about the highest ceiling in the draft as well as the class we desperately need wanting to come west and we **** him off.

Pathetic list management.
Yeah but how bout those training standards by Liam Baker? :fire:

List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)