List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)

The West is running with an article tomorrow that we are interested in Berry surely we won’t use our first pick on a small speedy fwd.
Our fwd line is the least of our problems atm.
Hopefully they are throwing out a red herring !
Especially when we picked up brockman and have champion and wally the next 2 years

This is a very poor take. Baker is quality and improves the best 22. The price paid is a separate issue.
Mate that’s the poor take, it is absolutely the same issue we can’t just throw draft capital at any player that “improves the best 22”. If we got Baker for F3 no worries, but the price we paid is absurd. Should we offer our 1R next year for Sheldrick because he improves the best 22 knowing that would get it over the line? No.

I don't think there's anything I said that can be construed as "coughing up pick 3 is not that bad at all, come to think of it".

My stance on this board is pretty clear: You need A+ graders to build a team around to win a flag. They are hard to find. The best place to find them is at the pointy end of the draft. Your hit rate is much higher in getting that absolute top end quality. When you're bottom 4, go to the draft. If you're short on experience (25-28 year olds), trade them in, just not with top 10 picks unless they are elite.

It's not decided in hindsight. With each individual player, it is. But with a spread of top picks, you're going to find your guns. You'll have some misses, but you'll find some diamonds with later picks, too. Baker is not A grade. We gave up the chance to find an A+, for a B-grader. That's shit for brains.
100%
We should have fought tooth and nail to retain pick 3 and still got Baker.

Instead they seemed eager to accommodate Richmond at the expense of our top pick .

Matt Clarke is a buffoon that doesn't know what he is doing

Sources have told The West Australian that Berry is among the contenders for the Eagles’ first pick — currently No.12 — after having several interviews with the club in the lead up to the draft. Berry was one of the premier small forwards in this year’s crop, kicking an equal-best nine goals in this year’s Under-18 National Championships while also averaging 13 disposals and three tackles.

West Coast have no shortage of small forwards after recruiting former Carlton goalsneak Matt Owies as well as already having Noah Long, Tyler Brockman, Liam Ryan, Jack Petruccelle and Cripps on their list.

Berry will fit in with the type of style new Eagles coach Andrew McQualter wants to implement at his new club, with pace and skill in the forward half set to be at the forefront of their regeneration under the one-time Richmond caretaker coach.
Morrish medallist and Gippsland Power captain Xavier Lindsay is also set to be around the mark for the Eagles, while Fremantle also have interest in the left-footed speedster at pick No.14.

Banfield F/S next year is an outside mid/HFF

Also if we get the Chad next season we could probably pick up corey warner for nothing as another outside option .

Elite ball winners , Elite distributors off the HBF and a KPD is what we need IMO

With champion and wally as NGAs the next 2 seasons small forward has been filled too .

We still have a massive hole in our ruck division.

Taking Knobel pick 3 in the rookie draft would be a sound move

Yeah agree on elite distributor and ruck too. Still think a run all day high possession wingman is key.

I’d like to see Dewar potentially play off the back, loved his kicking this year.

Nah. He's showing a lot forward. Maybe Brockman? Could get him into games more.

I'd be very happy with Berry as a player type, but in the particular case I've always felt I'm missing something with him. Would be sceptical but comfortable enough deferring to the consensus.

Would much prefer taking a risk on M.Reid of available for a similar set of strengths and weaknesses (but stronger strengths).

Absolutely we should. :thumbsu:

But we won't. :thumbsdownemoji:

The Club, of late, has become so polite and genteel that it too scared to fart in public, rather it now discretely goes outside, to inoffensively pass wind.

These last five years shift in the Clubs attitude, reminds me of the change in character you observe after you castrate a spirited stallion and then get a placid gelding.
If we were willing to trade for him and we are indeed interested in him, it would be remiss of us not to rookie draft him when Freo have presented him on a platter available for anyone to take him.
The least we can do is chat to him if we wanted to be polite lol. 😂

Any team that delists a player due to list spots, would and should fully expect the chance that another team can draft them, unless there are special circumstances.

Mate we extended Barnett and Jamieson.

Not sure our radar for rucks is what it used to be.

Still think Jamo looked OK down back so I'm not too concerned with that extension, but I get your point

I'm just saying if we don't pick him up it's not necessarily because we are respecting Freos wishes and we may simply (rightly or wrongly) not rate him

There’s going to be a lot of BFers scuttling for cover when we start riding rapidly up the ladder.
Yep - I heard the same doom and gloom shit back in 2010. Apparently we'd completely stuffed our midfield build (which was probably true at the time). Next thing you know, we nailed the 2010 draft and made a prelim.

I'm not expecting that this year (figure about 8 wins is best case) but 2026 is our year for finals, once we get Chad Warner over.

Yep - I heard the same doom and gloom shit back in 2010. Apparently we'd completely stuffed our midfield build (which was probably true at the time). Next thing you know, we nailed the 2010 draft and made a prelim.

I'm not expecting that this year (figure about 8 wins is best case) but 2026 is our year for finals, once we get Chad Warner over.
Id say this is a worthy point except we arnt fighting or trying to battle against a bad draft hand here. We have deep rooted cultural issues too that need resolving.

If you believe otherwise, i can take you down to a WAFL game a hour before game time and you can see for yourself.

List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)