Oct 14, 2003
Spain
Athletic Club de Bilbao
Schwarz sure Scully is going
June 12, 2011 - 1:19PM

Tom Scully has been linked with a move to Greater Western Sydney. Former Melbourne forward David Schwarz says he is nearly certain the club's star young midfielder Tom Scully will play with Greater Western Sydney next season.

Schwarz said he believed Scully, the No.1 pick in the 2009 national draft, had already committed to the expansion club.

"I think Tom Scully's gone, I think he's signed. For Melbourne it's a bitter blow," Schwarz told Channel Seven's AFL Game Day today. He said he was "98 per cent" sure the 20-year-old was leaving.

"I've heard it from the right people and I trust the people that have told me," Schwarz said.

Link: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/schwarz-sure-scully-is-going-20110612-1fysn.html#ixzz1P3JRk69x

Doesn't bode well for his good mate Basti - what's the mail?

GoKangas has another username?

FFS, all it means is that David Schwarze (aka Pelican) thinks Scully is leaving Melbourne.

Don't we have to put up with enough fabricated shit in the media without our own people manufacturing it?

Seriously, money is nice, but it will be cold solace when playing for a poor team no one cares about while living in western Sydney.
And the taxman takes half the money anyway.
By all reports Basti loves it at North...and in 12 months time when his contract is close to an end, he'll be part of an exciting young midfield combo on the verge of making its mark.
I'm pretty sure almost all players want premierships more than money, and I reckon blokes like Scully who make mercenary decisions based on how happy wealth will make them, will find themselves pretty unhappy at the end of the day.
Basti will make the right decision.

I am tipping none of the above posters are 18 or 19 years old and have the prospect of earning 400 to 650 K per year in the immediate future. And that the parents of the player have earned nothing like these figures at any stage of their lives.

Im tipping youre not either.

At the end of the day no matter how much us fans like to romanticize footy, it's a job. And in general people go to the jobs that make them happiest. For some the draw is money, for some other factors are more important.

All people are different, and as such players are different.

GoKangas has another username?

FFS, all it means is that David Schwarze (aka Pelican) thinks Scully is leaving Melbourne.

I've met DS a few times - he knows the Dees list inside out and still has lots of contact with players and staff. So, he may know something. :rolleyes:

Just hoping GWS blow lots of money signing some big recruits and our boys hold out until their $ run low.

I'd really hate to lose Busta, he provides that outside run that we really need to complement our hard nut ball winners.

Indeed. But I am trying to illustrate the dilemma of the player.

Yup, what i mean though is its all well and good to say "Young guy, lots of money, set for life" but on the other hand you look at Andrew Swallow.

Was 23 (still very young) offered near on a mil a season, knocked it back. We can't know what anyones thinking.

Yup, what i mean though is its all well and good to say "Young guy, lots of money, set for life" but on the other hand you look at Andrew Swallow.

Was 23 (still very young) offered near on a mil a season, knocked it back. We can't know what anyones thinking.

Absolutely true. Some will and some won't. But the temptation will be there and the quantum is enormous for kids who have been getting 50 a week pocket money.

If he's a player who thinks like that, we don't need him at North.
He should make a decision now and piss off. Reminds me of a certain figjam who move to Collingwood in the nineties and achiebed f... all

Seriously, money is nice, but it will be cold solace when playing for a poor team no one cares about while living in western Sydney.
And the taxman takes half the money anyway.
By all reports Basti loves it at North...and in 12 months time when his contract is close to an end, he'll be part of an exciting young midfield combo on the verge of making its mark.
I'm pretty sure almost all players want premierships more than money, and I reckon blokes like Scully who make mercenary decisions based on how happy wealth will make them, will find themselves pretty unhappy at the end of the day.
Basti will make the right decision.
Is that you Caro?

Yeah, and David Schwarz was 98 per cent sure that <insert name of horse here> would win a few times too.

If he leaves I want D.Swallow as his replacement or that Patton kid.

Its very funny we get cut up when someone wants to leave but everyone has no problem putting up a loyal severant(Hamish) of the club for trade.

Its a business and that's the stark reality.

If he leaves I want D.Swallow as his replacement or that Patton kid.

Its very funny we get cut up when someone wants to leave but everyone has no problem putting up a loyal severant(Hamish) of the club for trade.

Its a business and that's the stark reality.
Yes, its a form of hypocrisy that clubs used to specialize in (still do, really). They make big claims of disloyalty in relation to players who want 'greener pastures', and yet happily delist or trade players when it suits. Harris, who was a commited club man (+Jones and Harding) told "so long and thanks for all the fish" whilst scorn was heaped on Gibson.

Twas always thus, and always thus will be, I'm afraid.

Yes, its a form of hypocrisy that clubs used to specialize in (still do, really). They make big claims of disloyalty in relation to players who want 'greener pastures', and yet happily delist or trade players when it suits. Harris, who was a commited club man (+Jones and Harding) told "so long and thanks for all the fish" whilst scorn was heaped on Gibson.

Twas always thus, and always thus will be, I'm afraid.

Lovely lyrical lamentation. :thumbsu:

Easily the most interesting part of this thread.

Lovely lyrical lamentation. :thumbsu:

Easily the most interesting part of this thread.
Love to claim it, but one from Robin Williams' character, Keating, in Dead Poets Society.

"Only in their dreams can men be truly free
Twas always thus, and always thus will be."

The bell tolls for Basti