Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 2

one of the blues podcasters (can't remember which) was saying he won't stop being nervous until we're mathematically a lock.

after last year, who can blame him?
I haven't been nervous in the week before a game in a while, we are a different team to last year, a totally different mindset. If we lose playing the way that we are that's ok too, as long as we stick to what we are doing we will win many more than we lose. We'll be there this year, I have no doubt about that, whatever happens from there is to be seen but I reckon that we can all get very excited about what we will see next year.

I understand people getting nervous but personally, I'm more relaxed and confident in the lead up to games than I have been in 2 decades.

Pretty simple- we win this year.

What I’m not sure of is against whom, and by how much.

I think it will be Melbourne and 28 points

Interested in others’ thoughts

Jordan stated-

“Let’s see if all that trash talking starts when it’s zero zero, instead of five-six point lead. That’s where it starts. That’s the sign of a good man. If you can talk s*** when it’s even score, or talk s*** when you’re behind score. When you ahead,it’s easy to talk.”

I think we should have greater confidence in ourselves.

I find the discussion around Big H interesting to say the least. I knew Charlie has made some beautiful passes and setup quite a few goals recently but I was surprised to learn he's the number 2 ranked player for kicks inside 50.

Charlie with a clean kick to Harry and our smalls there if needed..yes please.

Just listened to Hutchi on Footy Clas still managing with utter stupidity with a trade scenario trying to trade Harry, bloke is seriously delusional…

The bloke is actually miles ahead of producing some of the most idiotic statements/scenarios you unfortunately could listen to…

FMD…

Hutchi on Footy Clas still managing with utter moronic stupidity combined with trying to pump up idiot feedback responses trying to sell/trade Harry…

The bloke is actually miles ahead of producing some of the most idiotic statements/scenarios you unfortunately could listen to…

FMD…
Hutchi owns half the sporting media in this town these days.

He's not an idiot. He knows exactly what he's doing.

He is extremely good at his job. It's just that his job sucks.

I find the discussion around Big H interesting to say the least. I knew Charlie has made some beautiful passes and setup quite a few goals recently but I was surprised to learn he's the number 2 ranked player for kicks inside 50.

Surprisingly enough H is a beautiful field kick and kick inside 50..
there is no way a list manager would trade out mackay if he wanted to stay .
Ross Lyon wasn't wrong with his game plan to stop Charlie and dry up our scoring he just didn't have the players to keep doing it effectively all game . Put Harry in that game with Charlie and Martin we win by 10-15 goals .. same as the first qaurter against Melbourne . I laugh at stats picking of our fwd pressure without Harry ( whole side applied no pressure ) our first three wins of 8 our fwd pressure was still high ..
I more worried about two rucks and TDK impact dropping off as a ruck fwd not being involved in the game as much with Harry in side .

Hutchi owns half the sporting media in this town these days.

He's not an idiot. He knows exactly what he's doing.

He is extremely good at his job. It's just that his job sucks.
Fully understand how well he has been successful as a business person Ferris, i get that, and I’m open to any media person having their own opinions no matter how left field they might be…
Ive been recording the show for years, his knowledge of footy imo is basically average but some of the utter crap he comes up with in general is friggin laughable, being nice…
Although we see it differently and I’m coming off harsh, it’s got nothing to do with his business success it’s how i rate him as a media spokesperson… 👍

For anyone considering jumping on the "we don't need Harry" bandwagon (I know there aren't many Blues supporters who believe this, but I have seen some), our current 8 game streak is broken into two blocks of 4 games. 4 with Harry, 4 without. Small sample sizes though.

With Harry:
Average points for = 113
Average points against = 57.5
Average margin = 55.5

Without Harry:
Average points for = 91.5
Average points against = 63.8
Average margin = 27.8

Points for and margin without Harry is inflated due to the big win against WC and the trend is going down. Now, that could be attributed to the higher caliber of opponents, but could also be that opponents have worked out that Charlie can be double/triple teamed without Harry on the field.

To me, the argument is just utterly ridiculous. Harry is 100% a required player who is vital to our structure and chances of winning.
Cats have Cameron and Hawkins. Lions have Daniher and Hipwood. Tigers had Lynch and Riewoldt. You need a good 1-2 punch that can trouble defences and make you unpredictable.
I understand that these people need media content, but there has to be a limit to the stupidity.

For anyone considering jumping on the "we don't need Harry" bandwagon (I know there aren't many Blues supporters who believe this, but I have seen some), our current 8 game streak is broken into two blocks of 4 games. 4 with Harry, 4 without. Small sample sizes though.

With Harry:
Average points for = 113
Average margin = 55.5

Without Harry:
Average margin = 27.8

Points for and margin without Harry is inflated due to the big win against WC and the trend is going down. Now, that could be attributed to the higher caliber of opponents, but could also be that opponents have worked out that Charlie can be double/triple teamed without Harry on the field.

To me, the argument is just utterly ridiculous. Harry is 100% a required player who is vital to our structure and chances of winning.
Cats have Cameron and Hawkins. Lions have Daniher and Hipwood. Tigers had Lynch and Riewoldt. You need a good 1-2 punch that can trouble defences and make you unpredictable.
I understand that these people need media content, but there has to be a limit to the stupidity.
Not only that, the last 2 games before injury Harry was the highest rated player on the ground, he was flying!

Yeah, he's been doing great work up the ground, not just in F50. Dragging a defender completely out of the area, which gives Charlie more space, less opponents and more room for the crumbers to work. He's had a few games this year with 6-7 inside 50s and two games with 14 marks!

Every day of the week

Wasn't sure where to put this. Does anyone know how to get tickets for our GWS game?

The AFL site doesn't have the buy tickets options and neither does ticket master, has it been sold out?

And before anyone asks neither me or Sinjin Jnr are members this year, I thought I was going to have to travel heaps for work hence I didn't get memberships but turns out I've only done two trips to Singapore. Obviously that is going to change next year and Ill be signing us both up.

Wasn't sure where to put this. Does anyone know how to get tickets for our GWS game?

The AFL site doesn't have the buy tickets options and neither does ticket master, has it been sold out?

And before anyone asks neither me or Sinjin Jnr are members this year, I thought I was going to have to travel heaps for work hence I didn't get memberships but turns out I've only done two trips to Singapore. Obviously that is going to change next year and Ill be signing us both up.
I just had a look on ticketmaster and tickets are for sale now.

With Harry:
Average points for = 113
Average margin = 55.5

Without Harry:
Average margin = 27.8

[/QUOTE

The key part of the discussion on Footy Classified was Mathew Lloyds reply.

As soon as Hutchi finished his statement Lloyd piped up “ Carlton don’t think they can win it without MacKay”.

Where do you think he heard that - maybe his brother!