Roast The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

What happens to well known public figure Simon Goodwin during this 2025 season?

• Sacked in rounds 1-8

• Sacked in rounds 9-16

• Sacked in rounds 17-24

• Sacked post-season

• Extended for 2 more years

• Ratified in Constitution as Demon Spiritual Leader for life

Results are only viewable after voting.

James Hird singing straight from the Goody hymn book. "You love going to watch them coz you know what you are going to get." ... **** off campaigner. No one loves going to watch us. 😂

Thought under the lid would be a great time to unleash our devastating new ball movement/kick in strategies.

But alas, I think after GWS we went straight into an increased training load block and thought we'd keep our new ball movement strategy on the shelf for another week. Genius

I didn't like the mentioning of Max in his press conference. Yes we have our struggles, yes he might be going through something. But airing it out despite not wanting to not comment on it, seemed rather pointless. He could have just said he was beaten this game by a good and classy ruckman. Footy is a simple game, you don't have to always provide reasons as to why your player was beaten by a better player on the day. No one isn't going to see you as not supporting Max if you credit the opposition on the day

Instead he's

1 Using a cop out for his own player, for them

2 He's drawing more attention despite saying he won't comment, has already aired out publicly there's something the media's going to invest in

3 The opposition actually played well, be fair and admit that too

Also as cringe as the Goody supporters at the club are, if the crowds and membership really drop off (which they will) the club will 100% sack him this year. Our crowds before mid 2024 were solid for a while, the club will absolute shit itself when we start getting sub 15k fans through the gate and membership drops below 50k.
Nah mate don't make predictions on the crowds you'll have your post called the most stupid comment ever

Jokes aside when i made that post i thought round 1 would be given a free pass by the board and then we'd get a win against norf and draw some fans in against gold coast as they tend to rock up around some early enthusiasm. After the cooking today and the form gold coast have started in, it'll scare some difference makers in the numbers next week, or put them off. I still don't feel the board will panic though. They'll go, eh it's just gold coast that's normally a small crowd

Then yeah i think we will still do get some inflated numbers from vic clashes to come, i don't think they'll panic on crowds until late in the season. But if memberships drop off at the end of the season then that is clear alarm bells at board level

Definitely one of Simon's worse pressers that's for sure. The man's clearly had media training on how to use 500 words to say nothing of value and then comes out with this? Bizzare. Has to be gone before the bye. Sooner the better.

Time to go Simon and all those who continue to back him.

Write an open cheque to Nathan Buckley.

Time for this club to stand for something.
do you think if we all voted with our feet and our $ they would listen to us. The members? Stop paying our memberships?
at least untill Badlose is shown the door?

I saw somewhere we have 40,000 members. Down from some 70,000 in 2021. With displays like against the Roos can’t see many more jumping on . When it starts affecting the bottom line they might have to act .

This is probably the most concerning thing.

I think most of us can deal with losing and even needing to rebuild.

But all enjoyment and fun have been removed from this group and it's hard to keep investing in them for many fans - emotionally and financially

Remember when crazy Luke Beveridge was rightly cooked for his insane plan to play four talls in the forward line? I suppose you could at least make an argument for Naughton being the best pack mark in the game, Darcy a young stud, Jamarra being a bit more mobile and Lobb sometimes good sometimes a shit. After a week or so, crazy Bevo abandoned that plan. Yet here we are 3 years later trying to roll out the same plan with Fritsch, The Magician, Disco and JVR.

Don't worry we will make changes this week mate, AJ in for The Magician. Very exciting.

Definitely one of Simon's worse pressers that's for sure. The man's clearly had media training on how to use 500 words to say nothing of value and then comes out with this? Bizzare. Has to be gone before the bye. Sooner the better.
The whole place needs a broom through it. I'd be open to Hinkley coming onboard. Reckon he did well with Port. Didn't win a flag, but i like the way he goes about it. Could bring a Butters with him too :) We should be throwing $$ at Jennings as well. Not sure if he wants a senior coaching gig, but seems like the perfect assistant coach. This is where i am envious of Hawthorn. Goody would be out the door if he was coaching Hawks. We'll hold onto him until the list is completely cooked and we need another 15 year rebuild and a handout from the AFL to get us out of perpetual darkness. Need to move now!

We get that potato and I'd never watch a game again.
Surprised by this Toump, thought you'd be on board with combining your two great loves the Port Adelaide Power and the Melbourne Football Club.

Simpson is a premiership coach.

Then again, so is our current lemon.
Another coach who was given a ridiculous amount of time to turn it around and nothing ever changed. **** that, seen enough of that shit to last me a life time.

Roast The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

Write your reply...