AFL Grand Final The Grand Final awaits!

Seems like Vanders isn’t gonna get up.

For some reason I’d keep Cordy in over Gardner. Cordy was good last week and I don’t see a match up for Gardner.
Melbourne will have Brown and McDonald as their key forwards. I'd rather Gardner on either of them over Cordy since they both like to lead and mark, which is what Cordy is weakest against.

No respect in the media and all the focus being on how great the opposition is, is exactly what you want. Back in 2018 Robert Walls said we'd finish last, as the finals started people in the media started saying that a Grand Final spot would be wasted on us blah blah blah, all it did was galvanise the squad. I'd be loving the current environment if I was a Doggies fan. And you can bet Bevvo will be exploiting it like Simmo did:

[Will] Schofield explained the Eagles tried to exploit Melbourne’s overconfidence, talking them up in the media and planning to ambush them in the opening minutes.

“We also wanted the mindset of Melbourne to be ‘how good are we, and how bloody good’s this story gonna be? How’s this fairytale of us, you know, picking ourselves up and playing this contested brand and coming over to Perth, beating West Coast, going to a Grand Final, winning a Grand Final’, we wanted them just patting themselves on the back,” he said.

“So any media we did that week, any media Simmo did, there was a huge thread from the leadership group to go over and above pumping up how good Melbourne is.

“And internally, it was, we’re gonna shove the fairytale so far up their behinds that they’re never gonna want to come back to Perth.

“We set them up for exactly what happened, and we spoke about it during the week, they’re gonna come out in the first quarter and they’re not gonna kick a goal. It so happened it went for the first half. But it was talked about, that wasn’t just us playing well, that was - it’s easier to say - that was what we wanted to happen, and it did.”

No respect in the media and all the focus being on how great the opposition is, is exactly what you want. Back in 2018 Robert Walls said we'd finish last, as the finals started people in the media started saying that a Grand Final spot would be wasted on us blah blah blah, all it did was galvanise the squad. I'd be loving the current environment if I was a Doggies fan. And you can bet Bevvo will be exploiting it like Simmo did:

Great perspective, thanks for sharing mate

For some reason I’d keep Cordy in over Gardner. Cordy was good last week and I don’t see a match up for Gardner.
If that’s the case, it’s be great if Wally got to be sub. Scott was obviously preferred last week, and I get why, but in all likelihood it would only be for a quarter max.

Would be a nice contrast to Melbourne if we won.

The vision I saw from yesterdays training had VDM going pretty hard and pretty quick so it didn't look like his hamstring was that much of a concern.
A lot depends on who is going to make way for Cody. VDM and JJ would be the obvious choices but I think JJ has gotten his mojo back and experience counts in a GF.
With Cordy and Gardner, I was a big Cordy fan (and still am) but I just think Gardners extra pace and bigger tank get him over the line. Also like the big pack mark he took early on against Port. Just hoping that his confidence switch has been thrown to on so he can actually start showing the attributes that the club obviously believe he possesses.

Melbourne will have Brown and McDonald as their key forwards. I'd rather Gardner on either of them over Cordy since they both like to lead and mark, which is what Cordy is weakest against.
Agree. Jackson is Rucksized and is the 3rd tall, so Gardner's extra cms and jump are also valuable in that match up. Essential for mine.

The vision I saw from yesterdays training had VDM going pretty hard and pretty quick so it didn't look like his hamstring was that much of a concern.
A lot depends on who is going to make way for Cody. VDM and JJ would be the obvious choices but I think JJ has gotten his mojo back and experience counts in a GF.
With Cordy and Gardner, I was a big Cordy fan (and still am) but I just think Gardners extra pace and bigger tank get him over the line. Also like the big pack mark he took early on against Port. Just hoping that his confidence switch has been thrown to on so he can actually start showing the attributes that the club obviously believe he possesses.
I think that’s the general consensus - all things considered JJ and Gardner are a bit safer than VDM and Cordy.

Then the question is who is the sub. If VDM is available the. You’d think he would unless they’re more concerned about needing to replace a KPP.

Had a dream last night and Naughton kicked 1.8 in the first quarter and we were up 36 - 33 at quarter time.

Hoping for a more accurate 2nd quarter in my dream tonight.

So 4.12? That would be pretty difficult to handle.

But I am guessing that one team (could be the dees, as they're not lights out when it comes to goal kicking either imo) puts up a dominant quarter and kicks something like 3.7. I know it's a trite thing to say, but this could genuinely hinge on a few set shots either way. Not sure my heart is completely ready for that.....

Had a dream last night and Naughton kicked 1.8 in the first quarter and we were up 36 - 33 at quarter time.

Hoping for a more accurate 2nd quarter in my dream tonight.

I had a dream last night that Weightman was playing as a fill-in (for some reason) for the Bombers of all teams… He kicked a ripper from the pocket but no other players wanted to high five him. Got another kick in a similar position a minute later, guy in the crowd has a bulldogs top under a jacket which brought a smile to his face. He kicked the goal and no high fives again.

My only reasonable conclusion from all this as that the Bombers are all campaigners.

For those who care, Matt Stevic, Brett Rosebury and Jacob Mollison will be the umpires. Like the first two but not too sure about Mollison.

But I’m sure they will be pro-Dogs like all umpires according to the Main Board.

Stevic is on our payroll 100%. Rosebury I have no idea about. Mollison I've seen at Barker's cafe a few times.

I can’t believe how different I’m feeling this year compared to 2016. I’m changing my feeling on almost an hourly basis between losing and winning. Nervous as all hell.

I'm the opposite. I was sick with worry in 2016 (which completely dissipated with the 0-0 scoreline after 5 minutes) but I've got much more confidence this time around.

That's not because I don't rate Melbourne, they are a very solid team, just feel like we're so much more likely to handle the occassion.

Even if Melbourne get a few goals up, I'm confident we'll keep coming at them. If we get a few goals up, reckon they'll feel the heat so much more.

I'm the opposite. I was sick with worry in 2016 (which completely dissipated with the 0-0 scoreline after 5 minutes) but I've got much more confidence this time around.

That's not because I don't rate Melbourne, they are a very solid team, just feel like we're so much more likely to handle the occassion.

Even if Melbourne get a few goals up, I'm confident we'll keep coming at them. If we get a few goals up, reckon they'll feel the heat so much more.

This is the kind of post I’ll keep coming back to in the next few days!

Was just looking at R16 2016, a pretty standard midtable scrap

6th placed Dogs grind out a hard fought 85-75 victory vs 12th placed Richmond at Marvel in front of 39k.

Dogs haven't played a GF in 55 years, Tiges not for 33 years.

How many people would've watched that game believing it possible these 2 teams could between them play in 5 of the next 6 GFs and win at least 4?

Crazy

AFL Grand Final The Grand Final awaits!