The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread

This thread is gold. I love some of the arguments from our friends who follow the East Coast Rugby +1. For instance 'yooz get a point fa missin!' yep, and in ECR+1 you score by falling over. You also get rewarded for kicking the ball out of bounds by retaining posession but with much better field (or as the ECR+1 commentators pronounce it 'fooild') position. Every other sport in the world penalises the team going out of bounds, not ECR+1 though! Second the 'yer but we can xpand ya see, da gayfl carnt! We can go ta Perf, Adalayd. Wes Brizzy, da centrul coast, PandG...' Just how has that worked out for you people? Ladies and gentlemen here they are, the Western Reds, Adelaide Rams, South Queensland Crushers, Hunter Mariners and Northern Eagles! With special guest (dis)apperances from the North Sydney Bears and the Newtown Jets! Thirdly 'yer, but we are an intanashnul game! gayfl is onlee played in a cupll of stayts!' I once heard about a little, niche sport called American Football or 'Gridiron' only played in one country in the world, but I hear it's doing ok for itself. And take away NSW and the land of Queens and where else is 'Looige' the number 1 sport? and last but not least, 'jus look at da toyvee ratins! our gran finel raded higha than theres and so do our games on toyvee' The ECR+1 grand final was benefited by higher than usual ratings in Victoria, as some people took a passing interest due to the Storms involvement, although after hearing the commentry for the match, most people won't watch ECR+1 again. Compare this to the Sydney vs West Coast Grand Finals or even the Sydney vs North 96 Grand Final 3.6m for the ECR+1 final of 09 vs just over 4m for Swans vs Eagles II. Also, it's much easier for the regular AFL supporter to see their team on free to air tv than it is for ECR+1 supporters, 4 free to air AFL games per week vs 2 ECR+1 free to air games. Correct me if i'm wrong (and i'm sure that they ECR+1 brigade will) but haven't there been seasons where some teams didn't even get A free to air game all season? Teams like Nth Queensland?

numbers aren't everything...

I'd say tangible numbers like club memberships and attendances carry a fair bit of weight.

While you're here, Chook, why do you believe that league is the "superior product" and why are so many people afflicted with such terminal disinterest with what is apparently such a good product?

633615431445763586-rugby.jpg

(Note: They aren't even looking at the ball)

rugby_scrum.jpg

rugbylift.jpg

split_up_the_middle.jpg

This thread is gold. I love some of the arguments from our friends who follow the East Coast Rugby +1. For instance 'yooz get a point fa missin!' yep, and in ECR+1 you score by falling over. You also get rewarded for kicking the ball out of bounds by retaining posession but with much better field (or as the ECR+1 commentators pronounce it 'fooild') position. Every other sport in the world penalises the team going out of bounds, not ECR+1 though! Second the 'yer but we can xpand ya see, da gayfl carnt! We can go ta Perf, Adalayd. Wes Brizzy, da centrul coast, PandG...' Just how has that worked out for you people? Ladies and gentlemen here they are, the Western Reds, Adelaide Rams, South Queensland Crushers, Hunter Mariners and Northern Eagles! With special guest (dis)apperances from the North Sydney Bears and the Newtown Jets! Thirdly 'yer, but we are an intanashnul game! gayfl is onlee played in a cupll of stayts!' I once heard about a little, niche sport called American Football or 'Gridiron' only played in one country in the world, but I hear it's doing ok for itself. And take away NSW and the land of Queens and where else is 'Looige' the number 1 sport? and last but not least, 'jus look at da toyvee ratins! our gran finel raded higha than theres and so do our games on toyvee' The ECR+1 grand final was benefited by higher than usual ratings in Victoria, as some people took a passing interest due to the Storms involvement, although after hearing the commentry for the match, most people won't watch ECR+1 again. Compare this to the Sydney vs West Coast Grand Finals or even the Sydney vs North 96 Grand Final 3.6m for the ECR+1 final of 09 vs just over 4m for Swans vs Eagles II. Also, it's much easier for the regular AFL supporter to see their team on free to air tv than it is for ECR+1 supporters, 4 free to air AFL games per week vs 2 ECR+1 free to air games. Correct me if i'm wrong (and i'm sure that they ECR+1 brigade will) but haven't there been seasons where some teams didn't even get A free to air game all season? Teams like Nth Queensland?

Yes, you have to laugh at such an oddball game.
When a League player starts, he rolls the ball backward with his foot, as if this isn't weird enough, they haven't been able to find a name for this motion/activity.

They just call it 'the play the ball' like a strange verb.

Leading to such grammatically perverse statements from League Commentators such as "he's been pinged for a, play the ball infringement."
or "he's messed up, the play the ball"

Also there's no other game in the history of games where scoring is so difficult to judge.

I've seen, on heaps of occasions, 4 different slow mo replays of an attempt to score a try, and neither me ,the commentators nor the video ref can tell if it was a score or not.

Such is the confusion sometimes, they have this thing called, 'benefit of the doubt', when all hope is lost, which allows the video ref discretion as to whether or not it is a try, . lol

Yes, you have to laugh at such an oddball game.
When a League player starts, he rolls the ball backward with his foot, as if this isn't weird enough, they haven't been able to find a name for this motion/activity.

They just call it 'the play the ball' like a strange verb.

Leading to such grammatically perverse statements from League Commentators such as "he's been pinged for a, play the ball infringement."
or "he's messed up, the play the ball"

Also there's no other game in the history of games where scoring is so difficult to judge.

I've seen, on heaps of occasions, 4 different slow mo replays of an attempt to score a try, and neither me ,the commentators nor the video ref can tell if it was a score or not.

Such is the confusion sometimes, they have this thing called, 'benefit of the doubt', when all hope is lost, which allows the video ref discretion as to whether or not it is a try, . lol
Or even more strangely, where they take ten minutes on the video referee, still not be sure, and still call no try when there was no evidence that it wasn't (think of the Hayne no-try at State of Origin Game 1, 2009).

WOW.. and how is this "FACT".. got any EVIDENCE as to support this so called "FACT"?

People of Western Sydney DO NOT want a team..... abysmal participation rates illuminate this..

umm what's this the Central Coast don't want an NRL team??? LOL, reli?? and who told you that? Demetriou? LOL

A league troll getting trolled by another league troll taking the piss. That is so awesome :D:D:D

Cool, so how many attended the international footy between Australia and England? Rounded up to the nearest ten. Dogs not included.
The AFL has no professional international scene on which to compare. All we have of a similar size to international League tournaments are state leagues.

Just for fun, can anyone recall any other professional, international tournament that claims to have a strong international scene that drew 6,000 people to a game between two of the four strongest nations? Can you imagine Union or soccer drawing 6000 people to a game between NZ and South Africa or Brazil and France?

and for all those douchebags harping on about NRL being an international game...

AFL is played officialy in 2 countries and by 650 000 people, NRL is played officialy in 5 countries and by 450 000 people, even with international participation the game sucks...

"We should be working to make our game the best it can be. We have the best product. This is the best television sport in the country. Our players are the most gifted and explosive athletes of any football code you can name."

http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/our-real-enemy-lies-within/2009/11/14/1258043830028.html

Here's another Phil Gould sermon from the mount, riddled with the insecurities that league just can't shake.

"We have the best product." If it's the best product why is not clearly the most popular spectator sport? Why keep saying it, unless you're trying to convince someone, or yourself? By constantly having to make these sorts of statements only reinforces to me the deeper insecurities that lie within the administrators. I can't stand it when people say things like "we're the best country", "the best code", "the best city" blahblah. It's parochial, and to me hides deeper fears. If you love your country, team or code, so be it, but if you need to shout it from the rooftops for all to hear...mmmm

"This is the best television sport in the country". Notice he doesn't say the most popular game? Because they don't get anywhere near the numbers in terms of live attendance. It's a big tv sport because people can't be arsed to go out and support "their" game. Plus it's a dead-easy game to cover in terms of television. AFL, on the other hand, is much harder, given the amount of work tactically going on off camera.

Look at say, the Pies, who, regardless of what you think of them as a team, and their supporters, they still regularly pull 50,000+ to most home games (and at times a lot more). Even this year the Swans had an average year (finishing 12th), and yet we still averaged, what, about 28K to our home games? Not too bad at all. Would be interesting to compare the figures for the team that finished 12th in league from this year...

and for all those douchebags harping on about NRL being an international game...

AFL is played officialy in 2 countries and by 650 000 people, NRL is played officialy in 5 countries and by 450 000 people, even with international participation the game sucks...

Which countries "officially play AFL?".

AFL Canada http://www.aflcanada.com/about_us/

AFL USA http://www.usfooty.com/usfooty/content.aspx?section=aboutusfooty

AFL Japan http://www.aussierulesinternational.com/home/about

AFL Great Britain http://www.aflgreatbritain.com/index.php/Table/About-AFL-Britain/

AFL Ireland http://www.arfli.com/index.php

I'm sure there a plenty of others.
The majority have been going for 10 years or less...

Cool, so how many attended the international footy between Australia and England? Rounded up to the nearest ten. Dogs not included.
You're missing the key point here - we don't care if our code goes international or not. I'd rather have no international games than to have international games that are considered a joke by even the code's own fans.

sherrthecat said:
You're missing the key point here - we don't care if our code goes international or not.

Who is we?

The AFL seem very keen and why not. Sometime down the track we may just be able to have an International program which includes Australia being able to play proper games against other nations.

sherrthecat said:
I'd rather have no international games than to have international games that are considered a joke by even the code's own fans.

The numbers who see Internationals as a joke are dwindling each year. As much as it pains people on here, Rugby league is growing at a fast rate Internationally.

Who is we?

The AFL seem very keen and why not. Sometime down the track we may just be able to have an International program which includes Australia being able to play proper games against other nations.

The numbers who see Internationals as a joke are dwindling each year. As much as it pains people on here, Rugby league is growing at a fast rate Internationally.

Sorry, but that's rubbish and you know it. Union dominates league overseas by a big margin.

"We should be working to make our game the best it can be. We have the best product. This is the best television sport in the country. Our players are the most gifted and explosive athletes of any football code you can name."

http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/our-real-enemy-lies-within/2009/11/14/1258043830028.html

Here's another Phil Gould sermon from the mount, riddled with the insecurities that league just can't shake.

"We have the best product." If it's the best product why is not clearly the most popular spectator sport? Why keep saying it, unless you're trying to convince someone, or yourself? By constantly having to make these sorts of statements only reinforces to me the deeper insecurities that lie within the administrators. I can't stand it when people say things like "we're the best country", "the best code", "the best city" blahblah. It's parochial, and to me hides deeper fears. If you love your country, team or code, so be it, but if you need to shout it from the rooftops for all to hear...mmmm

"This is the best television sport in the country". Notice he doesn't say the most popular game? Because they don't get anywhere near the numbers in terms of live attendance. It's a big tv sport because people can't be arsed to go out and support "their" game. Plus it's a dead-easy game to cover in terms of television. AFL, on the other hand, is much harder, given the amount of work tactically going on off camera.

Look at say, the Pies, who, regardless of what you think of them as a team, and their supporters, they still regularly pull 50,000+ to most home games (and at times a lot more). Even this year the Swans had an average year (finishing 12th), and yet we still averaged, what, about 28K to our home games? Not too bad at all. Would be interesting to compare the figures for the team that finished 12th in league from this year...

Phil Gould was one of the biggest critics of News ltd when they took over and created Superleague.

He's been whinging about it ever since.

He is over the moon about the thought of News Ltd pulling out.

What he doesn't realize is that without this backing, League will probably struggle even more.

But he's so blinded by his own 'passion' for an independent admin, that he can't see the forest for the trees.

I've noticed a couple of rugby sleaze trolls seem to be on our side now. Have they seen the light? Can't beat 'em, join 'em.

Or they've gone back to LU with their 'Kevin Shoddy' boggerball stand up skits which bring teh lulz :eek:

The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread