The Precinct at Alberton (Formerly The Port Club)

Gold burger at golden grove is also excellent. I have had a fascination with burger bars lately and am in the process of experimenting on a near weekly basis. I have attended 4 places so far and I rank my experiences as follows:

1. Burger theory
2. Gold burger (very very close second)
3. Nordburger
........Daylight!.........
5. Burger Foundry

I obviously have many to try still and have FB's, Burgastromony, chuck wagon and burger club on the horizon for the next 6 weeks or so. Burger Foundry is shit.
Been to 127 days???

Been to Easeys?

All this burger talk has inceptioned me big time.

Just went to Easey's this arvo and it was f@#kin delicious! Great recommendation. I had the Double Chessburger with a side of Mac'n Cheese that may have found its way into the burger at some stage.

Ma lord.

I'm biased against businesses in the north, they all seem to be rubbish.

Whilst I can appreciate biasm to an area (I hate anything south including the people and culture) you will not be disappointed. The quality f food and service is outstanding. It is also a steak house and whilst I have not tried their steaks, I have heard rave reviews. The only downside would be their chips being nothing special, just plain ordinary chips that you could get at any cafe or restaurant.

Hope nordburger is what you want it to be!!!

I had the bacon double burger and tater tots with cheese and smokey bbq chicken salt. ****ing amazeballs. Then had a peanut butter jelly milkshake, that milkshake was easily one of the best peanut butter related shakes I've had. Very sweet and probably not for everyone but I loved it.

I was was in one of those large table bookings and our food was a mixed bag. The parmigedeon was just 2 dried our regular beef schnitzels (you can get single huge schnittys from suppliers so I'll take a stab and say no one ordered any) I had the phily cheesesteak which was only average. Burger was good and one happy with the s&p squid and one unhappy. That all gets glossed over though when the kids (including a birthday boy) can wander over and say hi and get a photo with a heap of players like Ollie, Hoff, Dixon, Ryder, Gray both R & S and heaps more. They all wished him happy birthday and were very friendly and accommodating.
it being so hit & miss though, if it wasn't dripping with port adelaideness and I didn't have a lifetimes worth of memories from frequenting Alberton I wouldn't go there at all to eat.
I go because I'm Port Adelaide through & through but it could certainly stand to improve.

I met proman_x for lunch yesterday at the Port Club - after 7 years or so communicating via PM on TPFP and Bigfooty and the odd phone call - and lunch was pretty good. He had the fish and chips and I had the chicken schnitzel and no complaint from either one of us. I would have liked one more salad with a bit of "grass" in it but that is a very minor point. The coke he was drinking and the beer I was drinking was nice and cold. There were about 30-40 people for lunch, 2 separate bookings of 12-15 on the tables and I didnt hear any complaints.

I had the bacon double burger and tater tots with cheese and smokey bbq chicken salt. ******* amazeballs. Then had a peanut butter jelly milkshake, that milkshake was easily one of the best peanut butter related shakes I've had. Very sweet and probably not for everyone but I loved it.
Good job, that's my before a big night out meal. Works a treat.

if it wasn't dripping with port adelaideness and I didn't have a lifetimes worth of memories from frequently Alberton I wouldn't go there at all to eat.
I go because I'm Port Adelaide through & through but it could certainly stand to improve.

THIS.
Adelaide has the "foodie" market well met. Nowhere else can boast Albertons "port adelaideness".

Decent pub grub.
A PROPER salad, veg and dessert bar.
At prices that don't put your average family off the idea of eating their weekly or fortnightly.
And then stop 'fixing' it. Just leave it alone.

Its not rocket science.

One thing I love about PAFC is that were a national club, and a good one. But when you go into the club at Alberton it still feels like a community footy club: a handful of our stars hanging about and are happy to sign stuff for the kids and say hello, the staff that know the regulars by name, kids running about ... we should protect that at all costs imo, its what makes PA, PA.

For price, Barry's at Semaphore is quite good. 8Bit in Footscray is one of, if not the best burger in the country at the moment. Any Sydney siders, feel free to steer clear of Mary's...just don't even bother.
Went to Barry's the other day, cheap, but not much variety on the menu they only have like 5-6 burgers

No I havent. If you recommend it, I will add it to my planned ventures.
Highly recommended I rate better than NordBurger* on port road, and both are within drinking distance from my house

*The burgers themselves, however the variety at NordBurger (shakes and drinks is much better)

If you go to 127 days ask what the speakeasy is. They have a new burger everyday and change it up all the time and call it the speakeasy

Whilst I can appreciate biasm to an area (I hate anything south including the people and culture) you will not be disappointed. The quality f food and service is outstanding.

Being brought up in the north, worked in the west and now living & working down south i can say with a little authority that unpleasant people are everywhere in this fair city, I can't talk about the east though for obvious reasons.

Back on topic though, Nordburger FTW

Dunno if you guys have tried it (bit niche), but try the 'bacon deluxe' at Hungry Jacks. There's a Hj's (not like that silly! Although I did get a handy in the car park of one once when I was a teenager) in Munno Para, a boutique Northern suburb. Try it, you'll thank me!

In all seriousness I rated their pulled beef and pulled chicken sliders.

No meat other than pork should be referred to as "pulled". Pet hate.

"Fork stuck in it and awkwardly transferred from bone to bun" just doesn't have that succinct zing. Except in Japan.

Before pulled pork became a thing in Australia, shredded beef was called shredded beef.

Hope you kept these:

41HCcefCCeL._SL160_.jpg

I love any HJs burger. Good as most independent gourmet burger joints when made properly.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

mmmm, nah.

I love any HJs burger. Good as most independent gourmet burger joints when made properly.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

I'm no snob either but carn, that's drawing a long bow.

The Precinct at Alberton (Formerly The Port Club)