The real contenders

I would think it goes like this:

Geelong - Best until proven otherwise

Hawks/Dogs - On form, next line.
Dogs could trouble Geelong due to them not having a traditional forward line of a few big guys, which could trouble Geelong who rely in Harley and Scarlett to zone off their bigger guys. Hawthorn have the one forward line to truly trouble a full strength Geelong (IMO), and a midfield that can match it for hardness

Pies/Swans - Not as talented as the Dogs/Hawks but are the ulitmate 'team' teams. Their pressure games are suited to finals footy, Pies have many players with x factor

Brisbane - Brown/Bradshaw/Black - enough said. Travis johnstone could be the key though

Adelaide and North - Will be there and thereabouts again and will no doubt provide the upsets in the finals

About right really.

It just comes down to what the prelim finals will be, as I think the top four can all beat each other.

From the current top 8, Hawthorn, Geelong, Western Bulldogs, Adelaide, Sydney Swans, Collingwood, Brisbane Lions, North Melbourne.

I'll back hawthorn, geelong, dogs and brissie though to the final 4.

It's pointless to even guess for a few weeks yet. The Hawks and Swans haven't played yet - nor the Swans and Pies. And Barry Hall will play his first game in two months this weekend - you may think that the Swans' structure works better without him but he was playing well early this season.

Crows and Hawks have been looking a bit shaky the past few weeks. That may be taking it easy mid-season, or not.

Right now, the top 3 are clearly the best. Then it's Crows, Swans and Pies. Not convinced about the Lions yet. I'll certainly worry more heading to the Pies and Hawks game than the Lions. But think Leigh is a coach to never discount what his team can produce. Doubt that any others are even in the running to play the GF.

Well we have played 5/7 of the top 8 and beaten 4. Who are these 'good sides' you talk of? Are there only 3 good sides being dogs, swans and cats? What does that make Brisbane, Adelaide, North and the pies?

Read my other post...

I was being sarcastic.

Geelong are still the team to beat.

Hawthorn are right there but I don't think they'd like to run into the Swans.

'Dogs may be a year too early, although they did play finals in '05 and '06 so only time will tell.

If my mob finish top 4, we're in the mix, but need to beat Collingwood and Adelaide on the way home as they have stitched us up in recent years.

Collingwood can beat anyone on their day. Genuine contender.

Brisbane - next year.

Adelaide and North will play finals and could win a final or 2 but I don't think either side can win the flag.

the cats are the best by a mile, hawthorn could do it i guess but im not convinced they are ready this year

the dogs have a lot of pressure on them but they are very capable

the crows probably lack a permanent tall forward but could do it

we arent there yet at all, collingwood ahead of us

the cats are the best by a mile, hawthorn could do it i guess but im not convinced they are ready this year

the dogs have a lot of pressure on them but they are very capable

the crows probably lack a permanent tall forward but could do it

we arent there yet at all, collingwood ahead of us
Why do the dogs have pressure on them?

Dogs, Hawks and Cats are the three major contenders as you would have to assume a top 4 finish and a first finals game in Melbourne and then the second finals game in Melbourne as well for the 2 top losers from the first week.

Dogs play the Cats in Round 16 at Skilled Stadium and then the Cats play the Hawks in Round 17 at the G. Then the Hawks have the Pies and the Lions but then an easy last 3 games. Geelong have an easy last 5 games and the Dogs have some easy, some hard.

Sydney can never be discounted, Brisbane are charging but need Bradshaw fit. Adelaide won't be there. Collingwood could be there again.

Why do the dogs have pressure on them?

cos its been so long

like geelong and sydney had in recent years

thats all

fans waiting round for a flag

if swans dont win though id love to see the dogs get up

Cats, Hawks, Dogs, Pies. The flag is staying in Victoria at least for another year. I think they will all finish top 4.

Swans and Adelaide are in the same basket for mine. Both have only defeated a top 8 team once this year (Swans over Lions and Crows over North). The majority of these two sides games have luckily been against bottom 8 teams so far this year (Crows played top 8 teams 3 times so far, Sydney have played 4).

Can't really say they are contenders until they start to win against the top 8.

North on their day can beat anyone. Just cant see them having "their day" 3 games in a row to take out the premiership.

Lions are maybe a year or two away from having a real shot. The end of the year does them no favours with 4 of the last 5 games being against top 8 sides. The 4 games before that run are all against bottom sides so if they get some confidence up during that period you never know.

I think the top seven are about even (though some are more vulnrable than others). Any team on their day can beat any other team in that. I think the premier will be the team who plays their best football in september. If sydney start up that choking, clamp down style in the best possible way or collingwood go berserk and kick 27 goals a game or Brisbane start playing that mauling, Bradshaw/Brown football it will be game over.

The only difference is if Geelong or Hawthorn hit their straps, the other teams wont be able to stop them, I rate the bulldogs but they seem a little more vulnrable than the other two.

Swans, Crows, Pies, Dogs, Roo's and ummm who ever finished 8th (some lame duck team id say) have a chance... if Cats/Hawks falter and lose form.

Im probably full of rubbish, but thats how i see it happening.:)

The only real contenders are Geelong Sydney Collingwood Adelaide. All 4 have great defensive aspects to their game which is necessary for finals. I dont still rate Hawthorn or WB because of their defense, but they are more than capable of causing upsets with their attacking style of play. The only weak team of the 4 i listed is Adelaide. Their foward line still needs a tall target - Hentchel? possibly, come finals. Burton and Tippet wont win you a final or GF. I hope Sydney play Geelong in the GF this year.

Clarko's Cluster will not win finals.

It can't.

Unless Clarko has a plan B that will be used in finals, Hqawk's have NO HOPE.
thats so funny coming from the cobblewood rabble.
you have a short memory dufus, we thrashed your sorry backsides a few weeks back.

Plan A will work fine, but we DO need the likes of Hodge, Dew, Crawf, Guerra, Sewell, McGlynn, Tuck etc, who have been missing over the last few weeks that we have struggled and looked very ordinary.
But then again plan B will be good to see in due course.

Still 10.1 is a reasonable place to be at the half way point. Something must be going ok.

Geelong are still the benchmark and are deserving favourites at this time

thats so funny coming from the cobblewood rabble.
you have a short memory dufus, we thrashed your sorry backsides a few weeks back.

Plan A will work fine, but we DO need the likes of Hodge, Dew, Crawf, Guerra, Sewell, McGlynn, Tuck etc, who have been missing over the last few weeks that we have struggled and looked very ordinary.
But then again plan B will be good to see in due course.

Still 10.1 is a reasonable place to be at the half way point. Something must be going ok.

Geelong are still the benchmark and are deserving favourites at this time

You did thrash our sorry backsides.
You are the benchmark. 10 - 1 doesn't come easy.
We played our normal game plan.
Played right into your hands, and paid the price, heavily.
Come finals YOU DUFUS, teams play MAN ON MAN, and we've seen what that does to your cluster.
Time will tell.

Couldn't agree more.

I mean who wouldn't rate a side that's only beaten Geelong of any note (who according to the ladder isnt the best team in the comp right now) are sitting 7th and had a pretty easy run into the 2007 Preliminary Final (beating a depleted Eagles side on the verge of implosion in extra time)

Granted they have the wood over Sydney and Geelong, but who else?

What happens if heaven forbid neither Geelong or Sydney make the GF?

Have the wood over Geelong? Who won the final in 07? A bit more important than a home and away game.... :confused:

Couldn't agree more.

I mean who wouldn't rate a side that's only beaten Geelong of any note (who according to the ladder isnt the best team in the comp right now) are sitting 7th and had a pretty easy run into the 2007 Preliminary Final (beating a depleted Eagles side on the verge of implosion in extra time)

Granted they have the wood over Sydney and Geelong, but who else?

What happens if heaven forbid neither Geelong or Sydney make the GF?

we are 6th!

I would think it goes like this:

Geelong - Best until proven otherwise

Hawks/Dogs - On form, next line.
Dogs could trouble Geelong due to them not having a traditional forward line of a few big guys, which could trouble Geelong who rely in Harley and Scarlett to zone off their bigger guys. Hawthorn have the one forward line to truly trouble a full strength Geelong (IMO), and a midfield that can match it for hardness

Pies/Swans - Not as talented as the Dogs/Hawks but are the ulitmate 'team' teams. Their pressure games are suited to finals footy, Pies have many players with x factor

Brisbane - Brown/Bradshaw/Black - enough said. Travis johnstone could be the key though

Adelaide and North - Will be there and thereabouts again and will no doubt provide the upsets in the finals

have to agree with ya mate!:thumbsu:

That's a fair point, it has been 2 good performances in a row now. I'm still on the aberration side of the argument but there's certainly something in it.

5 in a row:

2005, Round 11 - Coll d Geel 121-96 (we were 2nd last, they were semi finalists, top 4 at the time and it was at the Dome)
2006, Round 8 - Coll d Geel 146-44
2007, Round 15 Geel d Coll 80-64 (Geel were regularly beating teams by 10+ goals)
2007, PF - Geel d Coll 92-87
2008, Round Coll d Geel 134-48

The "Cats played poorly" and "Cats were due" arguments don't fly. Almost no Collingwood supporters would argue our side is better (and certainly not more talented) than Geelong, but sometimes you can only play as well as your opponents through their endeavour allow you to play (eg Round 4, Carl v Coll) and sometimes teams can execute game plans that other teams' struggle to beat. You can't and shouldn't hold that against the winner.

My two bobs worth !
I believe the grand final this year will be either Hawthorn vs geelong.
or Collingwood vs hawthorn or collingwood vs geelong.
So if this is the case the pies have to produce exactely the same game as they did against geelong to win the Big one against either geelong or hawthorn,otherwise they may be in trouble again.
Hot outsiders,are the bulldogs,sydney not convinced with Brisbane yet !!!!!!

The real contenders