The Robodebt Royal Commission

Ironic really, the IT dept recognized it was wrong, yet all these people on big salaries and probably with hundreds of degrees between them couldn't see a problem. They needed that kid who told the emperor he had no clothes.

I think common sense goes out the window when folks get in their heads that they want a particular result and are willing to do anything to achieve it. For the senior public servants, it was clearly about pleasing their masters, the pollies. I think it shows the real dangers of a politicized public service. For the Pollies it was about budget savings and making hay publicly with the politics of cruelty, which appeals to some.
Have you ever worked in the public service? Cesspit.

While people here love to blindly cheer their political team as tribalism is more important than policy in 2023. Scummo is an idiot PM and should be held accountable, Albo could easily take these people off payroll and isnt. He is rewarding poor behaviour equally. I look forward to the hypocritical replies in 3...2...

360B wasted on subs we dont need. Everyone hated previous government for the same deals being done, possibly cost less. Where is the outrage?! Oh, their team did it so its fine

The sooner idiots here in Australia accept both sides of politics arent here for anyone but their own careers, the sooner something good might happen here. Keep cheering your teams though! Theyre the better ones 😉
How to spot a disaffected conservative 101. You're fooling nobody mate.

Yes your team is better 😉, as i said. As predictable as Monday is long
If we're playing this stupid game, might I suggest that you're team is so useless that you're forced to pretend you don't even support them any more.

Not sure how many times i have to say both sides are ****ing useless before you figure out i think both sides are ****ing uselsss. Have literally never voted for them 😂. The regulars are slow around these parts

While people here love to blindly cheer their political team as tribalism is more important than policy in 2023. Scummo is an idiot PM and should be held accountable, Albo could easily take these people off payroll and isnt. He is rewarding poor behaviour equally. I look forward to the hypocritical replies in 3...2...

360B wasted on subs we dont need. Everyone hated previous government for the same deals being done, possibly cost less. Where is the outrage?! Oh, their team did it so its fine

The sooner idiots here in Australia accept both sides of politics arent here for anyone but their own careers, the sooner something good might happen here. Keep cheering your teams though! Theyre the better ones 😉
Serious question, can he actually take people off the payroll or does he need to commission findings first in order to dismiss them with cause (otherwise there are probably legal protections for these useless middle management and above types)

Im sure theres union involvement ruining any chance, but i would imagine the PM could do the "right" thing to sort out scum bags not being rewarded with cushy jobs if he wanted?

Even with Robodebt a thing of the past, the welfare system remains a dystopic nightmare, with fresh revelations that Centrelink is asking police to trawl through clients’ metadata and in some circumstances crack their passwords to find out if they’re in a secret relationship.
Like immigration, like attitudes to the NDIS, like attitudes to the voice being expressed by Dutton, Centrelinks behaviour is just further proof that Australians have become complete campaigners.

C-Day tomorrow with the release of the Robodebt RC report.

Where's Wally Morrison?

'Scott Morrison is set to fly home from an Italian holiday into a firestorm over the robodebt scheme as his European vacation draws to a close.
Australians holidaying in Italy have now spotted the former prime minister in Florence, Rome and the Italian coast after he jetted to Europe during Parliament’s winter-break.

In a photograph obtained by news.com.au, Mr Morrison is seen with his family on the Italian coast enjoying a summer holiday.'

C-Day tomorrow with the release of the Robodebt RC report.

Where's Wally Morrison?

'Scott Morrison is set to fly home from an Italian holiday into a firestorm over the robodebt scheme as his European vacation draws to a close.
Australians holidaying in Italy have now spotted the former prime minister in Florence, Rome and the Italian coast after he jetted to Europe during Parliament’s winter-break.

In a photograph obtained by news.com.au, Mr Morrison is seen with his family on the Italian coast enjoying a summer holiday.'
Sealed section with names for referrals for criminal prosecution.
Good.

Peter Dutton is blaming the government to the timing of the final report coinciding with the Fadden by-election.

• The commissioner is the one who delayed the report so they can refer directly to the NACC.
  • Stuart Robert chose when to resign.
  • If you didn't want to be held accountable your party shouldn't have enacted the most neglectful piece of public policy in the history of Australian politics.

Peter Dutton is blaming the government to the timing of the final report coinciding with the Fadden by-election.

• The commissioner is the one who delayed the report so they can refer directly to the NACC.
  • Stuart Robert chose when to resign.
  • If you didn't want to be held accountable your party shouldn't have enacted the most neglectful piece of public policy in the history of Australian politics.
He's spruiking nuclear again just coincidentally too having done nothing about it in his ten years as a senior member of the former government. Surely doing this extinguishes whatever is left of his economic credibility.

At the least, I am confident that the Commission has served the purpose of bringing into the open an extraordinary saga, illustrating a myriad of ways that things can go wrong through venality, incompetence and cowardice.
She's summed up the Morrison government in it's entirety here.

Robodebt Royal Commissioner calls former Liberal PM Scott Morrison a liar:

“The Commission rejects as untrue Mr Morrison’s evidence that he was told that income averaging as contemplated in the Executive Minute was an established practice and a ‘foundational way’ in which DHS [the Department of Human Services] worked.”

Who deliberately misled Cabinet:

"Mr Morrison allowed cabinet to be misled because he did not make that obvious inquiry. He took the proposal to cabinet [in 2015] without necessary information as to what it actually entailed and without the caveat that it required legislative and policy change to permit the use of the ATO ... data in the way proposed in circumstances where: he knew that the proposal still involved income averaging; only a few weeks previously he had been told of that caveat; nothing had changed in the proposal; and he had done nothing to ascertain why the caveat no longer no longer applied. He failed to meet his ministerial responsibility to ensure that Cabinet was properly informed about what the proposal actually entailed and to ensure that it was lawful."

Full Report here:

8m ago
11.45 AEST
Robodebt ended up costing taxpayers $565m, delivered no savings

The robodebt scheme was intended to achieve savings of $4.7bn. It delivered a saving of about $406m.

But the government spent $971m implementing, administering, suspending and winding back the scheme.

That leaves a net cost of $565m, the royal commission has found.

The robodebt scheme was intended to achieve savings of $4.7bn. It delivered a saving of about $406m.

But the government spent $971m implementing, administering, suspending and winding back the scheme.

That leaves a net cost of $565m, the royal commission has found.
Half a billion dollars to virtue signal to the 2GB crowd.

Former Minister for Human Services in the Morrison Coalition Government, Alan Tudge, sought to seek improvements to the Robodebt Scheme but these were mostly about being able to "allow him, as minister, and the government, to 'save face' and to minimise public embarrassment." and engaged in "abuse of that power" as a Minister of the Crown.

The Robodebt Royal Commission