Autopsy The surprisingly mature post loss discussion.

Bevo has to answer for this. The 4 spares off the back of the square killed us all day and we never changed it up. Was completely out coached

Yeah, but out coached is when your are tactically out manouvered.

Leaving those spares to come through EVERY quarter without trying to counter it is:
1. Sheer bloody mindedness, or
2. Utter stupidity, or
3. Both

We really need to be better supporters than what we currently are.

The team is struggling at the moment, and we were very poor today, no doubt about it.

But the comments I'm reading about coaches and players who delivered us what we were waiting 62 years for are very, very ordinary, to say the least.

We were spoilt rotten last year and now the team has hit a speed bump and are struggling.

The players may have to do better, but we've also got to be better.

On the match, the only players I thought were good were Cordy, Morris, Bailey Dale, Daniel, Dahlhaus (as usual) and Roughead.

The rest ranges from ordinary to very bad.

Melbourne were very good. Came with a plan and executed it brilliantly.

In almost every match this year teams have targeted us physically, we're definitely not coping with being hunted.

Some players need to be looked at in terms of being dropped.

I love Picken but he's no where near the form he was in last year.

Felt sorry for Honeychurch today, yes he was poor but he just seemed well out of his depth. That second miss in the 2nd quarter was cringe bad.

We're in a bit of a hole, not sure what it's going to take to get us out of it, but keep your chins up folks, we're stronger than this.

A speed bump? Are you taking the p1ss mate? We are deplorable right now in so many areas, and you think we've hit a 'speed bump'. You're kidding yourself

There was a point in the last where Picken had the ball at 55. Not a single player inside the 50 gave a lead. They all just stood around 20 out waiting for the high ball. Our forward structure is non existent. If we are going to do that, at least have players set up for pressure when the ball hits the deck, but they just waltzed it out time and time again for a goal over the back.

And on the rare occasion someone does lead, they do not give multiple leads, they stop and stand around, we need Murph up forward badly

Worst loss of the last two years, and by some margin. Nine day versus six day break. Motivation after the Sydney loss and the taunting of JJ. Dees without two key players, and what should have been our first advantage in the ruck for the season.

That was just....muck. Only borderline watchable. Decision making, skill execution, defensive positioning - all horrendous. You know when you're a kid and you taunt an ant colony with a stick and suddenly it becomes mayhem and they suffer collective apoplexy and start bumping heads and running around frantically in random loops in a desperate bid for self-preservation and all cohesion is lost? Yeah, it was like that.
Insect molester!

EDIT: Ant_ I presume this qualifies for a permaban?

Don't get your Jong obsession but thats another discussion.

Dunkley's disposal and kicking for goal is simply awful. He cant be a forward option at the moment. There is no room for him in best 22 (assuming he's fit).

Agree on Cloke. Easy target and certainly not our worst. I think it was good to try Honey up forward but we had no marking options today and it showed as the ball usually pinged out of our forward line quickly.. with little if any contest.

I would play Cloke but lets not kid ourselves that he is going to make a big difference.

I think my point stands, last year with half a team everyone stood up and gave their all. This year with almost a full team we have been overall poor.

The Jong discussion is so relevant I can't understand why people can't see it but for the purpose of discussion let's replace him with Webb. Webb is at present a depth player and if he was able to continue to get picked in our midfield with continued average performances mixed with a couple of shockers it says a lot about the list at the present. It isn't Webbs fault at all but the others have dropped off so far they are allowing him to continue to play and therefore weaken the team.

Same can be said for Dale Williams Honey and a few others. If everyone is playing to capacity they don't get games.

Dinkleys disposal is no worse than Dahl Jong and a few others mate

Better to be f***witt whose actually accomplished something than Tom Bugg and Jack Watts.

Mate he can't get a kick at the movement

If he did that the pressure the media would bring on him would be monumental.

I wonder why everyone is being hard on JJ when 90% of the team suck at present.

Apart from McRae who has been good all year??????? Honestly?

The decision to select Honey puzzles me. You can actually see the fear in Honey's eyes when gets a set shot. Can only assume picking Honey was an Ayce final chance pick.

The poor bastard can't finish at VFL level. Why would you expect any different at AFL level? Unlucky for Honey but his two first half easy misses went up the other end for goals. Four goal turnaround....

I like that he tries. But fair dinkum he can't ever be picked again??? Shirley.

Liam Picken is burning his credits in the bank quicker than a dodgy derivative trader...

Cordy, CD, Dahl, Rough, Wallis, Bont, Libba ok.

Stringer pisses me off at times. Really shirks contact at times. And JJ needs to HTFU.

We've seen this all before. Lots of times. Our club specialises in it.

The players are the only ones who are going to get us out of this, Melbourne easily outnumbered us at the contest and our defensive running was poor. Bevo is not going to save us and recruiting saviour players next year is not going to work until the players are going to stand up and not take crap from opposition teams like they have. Turning on each other ain't going to help either.

Just have to work harder, get the maximum out of our draft players and keep improving.

His stats may look good, but he made massive mistakes and completely gave up in the last quarter.

I've defended him for a while, but can't anymore. Unless he is playing forward we can't play him over Bailey Williams.
Haven't looked at the stat sheet and will still argue he's in our top handful.

Who else was providing drive and linkup from arc to arc while everyone else hesitated on the trigger?

He gets caught HTB or slices it to an opposition player 2 or 3 times a game and he gets torched worse than anyone else.

We're even more of a disoriented mess without him.

The Jong discussion is so relevant I can't understand why people can't see it but for the purpose of discussion let's replace him with Webb. Webb is at present a depth player and if he was able to continue to get picked in our midfield with continued average performances mixed with a couple of shockers it says a lot about the list at the present. It isn't Webbs fault at all but the others have dropped off so far they are allowing him to continue to play and therefore weaken the team.

Same can be said for Dale Williams Honey and a few others. If everyone is playing to capacity they don't get games.

Dinkleys disposal is no worse than Dahl Jong and a few others mate

Dunkley is played as a forward and burns so many chances its not funny. I have every faith he will get better and be a good player for us in the future but atm he is not best 22. Although his mongrel and strength could have been useful at points today.

Fact of the matter, we have to play these players (dale , webb and Jong) as they are the best we have at the moment. Hence the point about my post, this is almost our strongest squad and the last two weeks we copped a massive hiding. Bad signs, we cant rely on blokes coming back from injury to bolster us.

I think you're off base on Williams. He has the potential to replace JJ if we lose him. He will be a good player.

Dickson has been so poor this year, ran around like a headless chook today, barely sighted with the ball besides that late goal. I know he's only a mid sized forward but he has no impact in the air or in the contest at all, at least bring it to ground or create contact with the opposition.

Williams is a very different player to JJ. Relies more on his baulk and disposal than pace. Can probably be utilised in a more defensive role too. Straight up Moyd replacement for me.

Still think we play finals and not advocating we "play the kids" but I'd like to see Lipinski get some senior footy under his belt. I reckon he's the real deal.

Can someone tell me why bugg got a free kick in the second straight after they kicked a goal ? Was on the other side of the ground and someone said he was punched in the face ?

Autopsy The surprisingly mature post loss discussion.