The Worsfold coaching situation mega-thread, part 2

Wooshas other coaching record!?

found these stats elsewhere..thought they might stir some interest..and wondered what relevance they really have..i was aware of 3 coaches in recent times,and thought that a little embarrassing for woosha.. but didnt know there were so many 1st time coaches in total..also how does it rate with other coaches records against 1st time coaches..does it reflect on woosha as a coach,or somehow irrelevant..?

Mark thompson,Paul Roo's,Jade Rawlings,Damien Hardwick,Brett Ratten,Mathew Knights,Brad Scott,Mark Harvey,Michael Voss Ross Lyon,Dean Bailey and Mathew Primus.What have all these coaches got in common?They're all first year coaches who have beaten Worsfold on their first attempt!

(my bad-forgot there was a mega coaching thread..this may have been discussed?)

Re: Wooshas other coaching record!?

What relevance has this got to anything?
Eagles are in their bottoming out phase and have been for 3 seasons. It's only normal that teams beat us and 'records' such as the one you came up with will exist.

Do a comparison of how many coaches took their team to a finals series in each of their first 6 seasons, and in the first 5 seasons too their side to 2 grand finals and won a premiership? I reckon woosha stacks up pretty well.

Neeld is Collingwoods midfield coach and is evidently the one that West Coast are showing some interest in !

Last week SEN were fapping over Collingwood and they were heaping praise on Scott Watters and then mentioned the eagles are very interested in bringing him over to the club.

Eagles are in their bottoming out phase and have been for 3 seasons. It's only normal that teams beat us and 'records' such as the one you came up with will exist.

Do a comparison of how many coaches took their team to a finals series in each of their first 6 seasons, and in the first 5 seasons too their side to 2 grand finals and won a premiership? I reckon woosha stacks up pretty well.

That is terrible terminology. You make it sound necessary and excusable when it is neither.

Three dismal years filled with hidings and a wooden spoon was both necessary and excusable?

I think you are following the wrong WA team my friend.

No, bottoming out is part of the football cycle and as such necessary.

The fact that Woosha has botched our bottoming out (see: missed priority pick opportunity 2009, playing wrong players, blooding youngsters poorly, incorrect assessment of where the list is at) is irrelevant to the necessity of bottoming out in modern football.

Sumich is set to be offered a new one year deal ... my guess it might be to coach Perth , West Coast's affiliate club next year for interstate kids ??

From " The West Australian "

" Peter Sumich revealed at the weekend he has been offered a new one year deal "

If we do happen to source a new coach for next year - then I would hope it's someone who has had great success with juniors.

Pagan always springs to mind as someone who had great success developing juniors and brought that development skill to North's seniors.

Regardless of belief, the fact is we are the equal youngest team on the park week in week out. Therefore the environment for the coach isn't one of clean out and rebuild, rather nurturing the majority of the talent we already have and will collect this year.

There's Woosha's KPI for next year. Get out of the bottom quartile.

"But they've got to improve because we can't and won't accept finishing in the bottom quartile next year. It's just not what we're after. We need improvement and we have to get out of this bottom quartile as soon as possible. That's got to be next year."

I suspect if we finish above 13th next year, Woosha will get re-signed. I think that's too generous. I'd make him get us in the 8.

There's Woosha's KPI for next year. Get out of the bottom quartile.

"But they've got to improve because we can't and won't accept finishing in the bottom quartile next year. It's just not what we're after. We need improvement and we have to get out of this bottom quartile as soon as possible. That's got to be next year."

I suspect if we finish above 13th next year, Woosha will get re-signed. I think that's too generous. I'd make him get us in the 8.

So an Essendon / Port Adelaide like season in 2011 will be considered good enough?

Not sure ladder position is the best reference to use. It can potentially hide all manner of sins.

Somewhere about 9-11 wins with a reasonable percentage (85-95) would be a minimum you would think and not being blown out of the water too often. If I was to compare to this year, I'd say something akin to North's season.

In addition, the draw would be something to consider as well. This year's draw was an interesting one. We played all the top teams at home, and the poor ones away. That bodes well for either a massive boost up their ladder if you are in good form - or a massive spiral if you aren't.

So if we happen to get a lot of the bottom 8 teams at home next year and win them as expected - which gets us to 9 wins as an example - I don't think that would be good enough.

hit a raw nerve grumps?...i didnt come up with these records, woosha did apparently..i'm just passing them on in case anyone found them of interest!?
what relevance does anything on BF have? what relevance do you or your comments have? - All is but speculation here-if i was to do a comparison on other coaches, i have a feeling it wouldnt pan out the same as wooshas record..
you see, i'm not bagging him..its just an objective stat.,and a curious one.

Just watched 'The Winners' and in Woosha's press conference he said how proud he was of his team, being so young, blah blah blah and then said that they had so many players who had played 20 games or less.

The host of the show wrapped up Woosha's interview saying that 'for the record both Eagles and Port had 6 players under 22 games" or something along those lines, I had a quiet chuckle.

As I do when I listen to Woosh being held accountable by the only person in Australia, Brad Hardie on the 6pr segment.

No, bottoming out is part of the football cycle and as such necessary.

The fact that Woosha has botched our bottoming out (see: missed priority pick opportunity 2009, playing wrong players, blooding youngsters poorly, incorrect assessment of where the list is at) is irrelevant to the necessity of bottoming out in modern football.

Good point. People on here talk as though you are destined to win wooden spoons and be in the bottom 4 for many years in the immediate aftermath if you win a flag because of the cyclical nature of footy and all the rest. It's inevitable and unpreventable. Really? A slide back down the ladder probably is hard to prevent but it only becomes as deep and prolonged as this and involves winning spoons if you totally botch it. I don't see Sydney winning spoons and having 3 plus year down the bottom after 2005. haven't seen it happen to Port after 04 or Geeling in 07 or teams like Adelaide or Collingwood who, although they didn't win a spoon, have been up in the top 4 for a long time. All thosze teams lost heaps of good experieced players but didn't descend to where we are now. Why is that?

This was not inevitable. It hapenned as a result of very lazy and arrogant administration and strategic planning at the club where people like Worsfold and others took the path of least resistance and avoided hard decisions. They got lazy and dropped the ball and worst of all were too weak to make he hard calls and too short sighted to understand the possible consequences of that.

Just watched 'The Winners' and in Woosha's press conference he said how proud he was of his team, being so young, blah blah blah and then said that they had so many players who had played 20 games or less.

The host of the show wrapped up Woosha's interview saying that 'for the record both Eagles and Port had 6 players under 22 games" or something along those lines, I had a quiet chuckle.

As I do when I listen to Woosh being held accountable by the only person in Australia, Brad Hardie on the 6pr segment.

I missed it tonight. Anything remarkable said or was it just more of Worsfold trotting out the youth propaganda, Hardie and Langdon pointing out that it is propaganda and Worsfold getting briefly annoyed before resuming disseminating the propaganda anyway?

I don't see Sydney winning spoons and having 3 plus year down the bottom after 2005. haven't seen it happen to Port after 04 or Geeling in 07 or teams like Adelaide or Collingwood who, although they didn't win a spoon, have been up in the top 4 for a long time. All thosze teams lost heaps of good experieced players but didn't descend to where we are now. Why is that?

You're right, and I agree, but I must say i would much rather be West Coast than Sydney or Adelaide right now. We may be playing shit now but given we all had our time at the top at the same time, our future looks better than either of these two sides looking just at recruitment over the last three years.

Because Sydney and Adelaide haven't plummeted, they have missed out in this regard whilst never really challenging since.

I would have liked to know the ages of the 6 players under 20 games for Port.

That would include Davenport, correct?

Who is 24.

The players in Port's team also played in much different roles than ours. We are forced to play our young players in positions such as midfield or in the backline, while players like Davenport and Hitchcock could come off the bench onto the forward line, because of the influence their senior players had.

These are the kind of comments that I just can't understand. If you want the Eagles to have another coach next season, that's fine, I can understand that. There's a fair case to be made that we need a new coach.

However, you seem to take delight in Worsfold's discomfort. You seem to want a bloke that has brought us as fans enormous happiness, to be under even more pressure. Do you not see him as a person, with a family, with far more at stake than casual observers, such as you and I? You seem to side with Dwayne Russell and Brad Hardie, people who want nothing but failure for our club. It just doesn't make sense to me.

As you can see by my post above, I think we should replace Woosha, if we don't make the 8 next year, but I won't be taking any satisfaction from seeing him go, if it comes to that. In fact, I think it would be a very dark day for the club.

Because I have always hated the way he goes about his interviews with the smugness and arrogance of answering questions with questions and when he does provide answers they are usually riddles themselves.

Then the other week he told the fans/members to go and find a new club if they don't like the way the eagles are heading, again thinking he himself is bigger than the club, it is not the players I want to leave, it's you Woosha.

THe EAGLES will go close to winning the premiership in 2011.

We have unearthed a numbers of players not many knew that much about.

Hams, Strijk, Stevenson WILL really help to fill out the list