The Worst game you have been to Weather wise

Neither cold nor wet. If it had been wet, it wouldn't have been THE FOG GAME, Fitzroy V Carlton at the Junction Oval. Never seen anything like it. In fact, I saw almost nothing. Seeing (that word keeps coming up) my mob won, I chose not to ask for my money back.

Edit: Possibly the most famous, if not the only, photo you see from that game was of a Carlton player and number 38 for Fitzroy, their full-forward on the day, Paul Shanahan. They were merely standing in the fog, not in any action. Shanahan and I played cricket together in the YCW competition for a couple of years. He went on to play as the opening bowler in Northcote's famous win over Essendon in the VCA Grand Final of 1965-66 (Lawry's game - 282 N.O.). Paul took 4/112 in that same GF. His footy career wasn't quite as decorated, though I seem to recall him kicking six or seven goals in one VFL match.

Can you find that pic? Ive heard about that game, where supposedly one guy called out for a teammate and the opposition answered, pass to him, resulted in a goal the other way... may be an urban myth, but supposedly was that bad!

Theres been a few.

Showdown 2 was wet, cold, windy. Showdown 3 was just as bad, if not worse.

Probably Por v Richmond 99 was the worst AFL game ive been to as it just bucketed with rain the entire night non stop. I think final scores were 4.8 to 3.12 which shows how high the quality of football was. Throw in, punch, out of bounds. repeat 10 times. Throw in, punch, kick, out of bounds. Then Repeat A 10 times. Terrible stuff.

But the worst game ive been to in terms of weather was an SANFL match about 3 years ago. Was Port v West at Alberton in either 04 or 05. Started raining halftime in the reserves and didnt stop for the rest of the day. Not only that but it had the most bitterly icy wind which just cut through your whole body. Was the most uncomfortable ive ever been at the footy. One of those 'why do i do this?' days. Remember going on the ground at 3/4 time to go to the huddle and it was unbearable and that was with two pairs of pants and two jumpers on...let alone shorts and a guernsey.

Mate I remember watching that game, screaming at the telly.....it was bizarre to watch and i felt for you guys in the outer (I'm talking RFC v PA)
Poor kicking by the Tiges that day :D

I remember a game at the SCG when I was quite young, we played Collingwood and it pissed down for the entire match. I was freezing and we lost, and I cried, and a Collingwood supporter ran and stood in front of me and took a photo of me crying.

I've hated Collingwood since that very moment.

Looks like it'll be raining AND windy AND cold this Sunday for the game v. the Bombers.

Only thing I can hope for is the stadium to block out some of the wind, I've only just gotten over a fever.

Meh, whatever :p

I think Jeff Farmer was one. I remember footage of the Dockers players wearing beanies on the bench too. Geelong had a heat chamber set up in the rooms, and when players went off they went straight up the race to thaw out, and only ran back out when they were about to go back on.

I remember we won that game by 50 points, 9.21 to 3.7

Here's hoping history repeats itself tomorrow!

You're playing Freo again tomorrow? I wish somebody had told me, I'm all set to travel to Subiaco oval on Sunday.

And yes, you were right about Jeff Farmer. I don't know if anybody else got hypothermia that game, but Jeff in particular stands out in my memory.

I played in a game in regional WA once where there was such a thick fog you couldn't see past the centre square from the forward line. Hail is always another good one when you're out on the ground, I can't remember if that's ever happened in an AFL game.

Hawthorn V Brisbane in 2004 at th MCG.

Not sure what the exact weather was but i remember it was one of the coldest days in Melbourne history. It was the same day as that Geelong Freo game that some other people have mentioned.

Round 20, 2004 Geelong vs Fremantle was the worse game weather wise I have been to. It was 6 degrees and there was about 30mm of rain from the start of the game until the end.

Geelong v Freo about 4 years ago at Skilled Stadium was one of the coldest games I've been to.Some of the Docker players suffered hyperothermia.

i just remember that who got hyperthemia from freo?

Jeff Farmer was the player. I looked out on the ground that day and all but one Freo player was wearing the long sleeves. You don't see that much any more. I ended up spending all of half time in the Cats Club using the hand dryers in the toilets trying to get my clothes dry and thaw out a bit.

Geelong vs. Kangaroos @ KP, can't remember what year, a few years ago I think, ground looked like a swimming pool. I believe Geelong were thrashed by the Roos.

Geelong vs. Adelaide @ KP, back in the 90's sometime, Geelong won by 90 odd points from what I remember.

It was in 2001 i think. The highway got flooded that day too and it took most people 4 or 5 hours to get back to Melbourne. Some creative bush bashing from me and my GF at the time saw us home in 2.

Neither cold nor wet. If it had been wet, it wouldn't have been THE FOG GAME, Fitzroy V Carlton at the Junction Oval. Never seen anything like it. In fact, I saw almost nothing. Seeing (that word keeps coming up) my mob won, I chose not to ask for my money back.

Edit: Possibly the most famous, if not the only, photo you see from that game was of a Carlton player and number 38 for Fitzroy, their full-forward on the day, Paul Shanahan. They were merely standing in the fog, not in any action. Shanahan and I played cricket together in the YCW competition for a couple of years. He went on to play as the opening bowler in Northcote's famous win over Essendon in the VCA Grand Final of 1965-66 (Lawry's game - 282 N.O.). Paul took 4/112 in that same GF. His footy career wasn't quite as decorated, though I seem to recall him kicking six or seven goals in one VFL match.

I just sold a record for that game on ebay. The pic in question was in the Herald Sun liftouts from last week and the Carlton player was Geoff Southby.

The story someone else was asking about was this... Fitzroy scored a point and it was so foggy the only reason anyone knew the ball had been kicked back into play was because they could hear it thudding of the boot. No one knew where the ball was until Percy Jones spotted it sitting on the deck and yelled out 'There it is', at which point a Fitzroy player standing nearby picked up the pill and ran in and slotted a goal.

I remember Norm Brown saying the only time he knew where the goals were was when the Lions were kicking to the scoreboard end and the attendants were putting a light on in there to give the Fitzroy boys a sighter.

Saints vs Bears out at Waverley in 93 or 94... There was hail.

Lions vs Dogs in 2000. The Gabba was a swimming pool, nigh-cyclonic rain.

That was the game that had the classic footage of Paul Peos trying to take a shot at goal and having to protect his face because he was being bombarded with large hailstones.

Olinda v Seville circa 1995 - three feet of mud, every player covered in black ooze as well as the umpires. 1 goal kicked for the game and about 4 behinds. Top of Mount Dandeong, it was about 2 degrees as well. From what I understand there was no hot water either...

AFL/VFL wise - most games I've been to at Geelong in the wet in standing room, any game at whitten oval if the wind was blowing more than 4 km/h and Moorabbin (just Moorabbin)..

the worst game l played in was a few years back it was the coldest day ever it was raining very heavy and the hail was the size of 10c pieces one by one a player went down with hypothermia and at quarter time the coaches brought out buckets of hot water it get the feeling back in our hands,l remember just running up and down following the big pack of players the ball was like a big bar of soap and at half time we all went back to shed we all got around one of those tall heater things.l went out side l saw a 4 X 4 ute drive on to the middle of the ground what happened was due to the mass rain the cricket pitch started to show so they had to put sand/soil into the center square bye the end of the game l think we had like 12 players on the ground
my jumper was frozen on,in a non gay way there were like 12 players all having a hot shower at once............

Ive been to many wet/horrible games, I remember they almost called off the Round 4 game against Adelaide at OO in 01 I think due to lightning.

But the worst weather Ive been to was Round 3 Carlton Collingwood in 2005, it was mid 30s and I was in the sun. Impossible to enjoy the footy in that heat

Early 80's V Fitzroy at the Junction oval. It belted down all day. We were standing on the wing (no shelter at that oval) & it was raining so hard we could barely see 1/4 quarter of the ground. Also what we could see was near impossible to decifer as the players were covered in mud. By half time Dad decided it might be best to get the kids home. Can't remember what the result was.

I can also remember playing footy as a junior & the hail got so heavy the game was abbandoned (not that us kids cared about the weather - soft umpires:mad:).

I was at the two Geelong games mentioned above, and both of them pale into comparison to the day I had at Moorabbin in round 12 1988. That was the day where it was low scores everywhere (Bears kicked 2.5 against Hawthorn at PP, We kicked 3.12 or something like that for the whole afternoon at Footscray).

I was working selling souvenirs outside the ground that day, and it started off a little cold and overcast but nothing out of the ordinary. I went in to watch the game about 10 minutes into the first quarter, and you could see the sky going pitch black out behind the stand. Then right as it hit quarter time, it went freezing, windy and started to piss down, and this did not stop for the rest of the day. During the second quarter, there was only three behind scored, the first of which was to Collingwood at the 27 minute mark. It was so dark, and raining so hard, you basically couldn't see what was happening at the other end of the ground. After the game, I went back out to try and do my job in the elements, and the wind picked up all my gear, blew it into a massive mud puddle, rendering the lot of it useless (being St Kilda and Collingwood gear it was pretty useless to start with ;)). I was within a bees dick of getting the sack after that. Not to mention I got a cold that didn't go away for two weeks.

Other nasty wet games I've been to....the 1986 night Grand Final at VFL Park, an Essendon v Footscray game at Windy Hill (I think there were 6 goals kicked between the two sides for the whole afternoon) and there was a game at Footscray where I got saturated, but I can't remember who was playing the Dogs that day.

As for shit weather that didn't involve rain, there was a Geelong v West Coast game in 1999 where is was clear and the sun was out, but it was only about 10 degrees and an icy gale was blowing full tilt right into my face all day long. That day totally sucked, and we got completely smashed too. An Essendon v Fitzroy game at Windy Hill in 86 was similar. That wasthe day I understood full well where the ground got it's name from.

For hot weather, there was a Collingwood v Hawthorn game at the G (round 1 2001 I think it was) where it was 30+ degrees and I got badly sunburnt and had to take a week off work. Round 1 1986 at Vic Park was even hotter again, and while I didn't get sunburnt, try being in a suburban ground in that heat with 30000+ other people jammed in trying to see the game. It was a sauna in there, and you literally could not move. It was almost suffocating. People were passing out left right and centre. The fact Collingwood got destroyed didn't help the mood of the crowd either, and for all those who know the infamous male toilet out the back of the Rush Stand, I can tell you it never smelled as bad as it did that day. I was down on the fence at one stage and I could smell it from there. No wonder those two sides never played at the ground again after that.

Early 80's V Fitzroy at the Junction oval. It belted down all day. We were standing on the wing (no shelter at that oval) & it was raining so hard we could barely see 1/4 quarter of the ground. Also what we could see was near impossible to decifer as the players were covered in mud. By half time Dad decided it might be best to get the kids home. Can't remember what the result was.

I can also remember playing footy as a junior & the hail got so heavy the game was abbandoned (not that us kids cared about the weather - soft umpires:mad:).

That was in 1981 :D

Olinda v Seville circa 1995 - three feet of mud, every player covered in black ooze as well as the umpires. 1 goal kicked for the game and about 4 behinds. Top of Mount Dandeong, it was about 2 degrees as well. From what I understand there was no hot water either...

AFL/VFL wise - most games I've been to at Geelong in the wet in standing room, any game at whitten oval if the wind was blowing more than 4 km/h and Moorabbin (just Moorabbin)..

If i'm not mistaken, several players had to go and get tetanus shots after this game after their cuts and scratches went septic.

Round 20, 2004 Geelong vs Fremantle was the worse game weather wise I have been to. It was 6 degrees and there was about 30mm of rain from the start of the game until the end.

And guess who was only wearing a long sleecve t-shirt?

Yes, that day was ____ing cold. In fact, most down in Geelong are. Its part of the experience though. I love standing in the outer, packed in like sardines, watching the footy. No other place like it these days.

And guess who was only wearing a long sleecve t-shirt?

Yes, that day was ____ing cold. In fact, most down in Geelong are. Its part of the experience though. I love standing in the outer, packed in like sardines, watching the footy. No other place like it these days.

Steve Johnson had a nice day from memory. And i think Bartel or another Cat mid had like 18 tackles.

Hawthorn V Brisbane in 2004 at th MCG.

Not sure what the exact weather was but i remember it was one of the coldest days in Melbourne history. It was the same day as that Geelong Freo game that some other people have mentioned.

I was at that game.. I was in the southern stand and it was the worst weather i have ever seen at a game.. soooo cold :(

Wettest: 2001 Geelong vs North Melbourne at KP. North won in a hard slog. Goals were kicked from 50 out but only because they skidded for about 30 metres through the goals. I think it was Geelongs lowest score since the 1930's.

Coldest: 1999 Hawthorn vs North at Waverley. Carey dominated with 7 goals almost singlehandedly beating the Hawks. We left early to beat the traffic. One Hawks supporter wondered why we were leaving when it should have been him.

Hottest: 2004 North Melbourne vs Sydney at Manuka. 30 degrees and a full house and had to stand for the whole game. We get flogged and my car breaks down on the way back to Wagga Wagga. 2 weeks later we play the Bulldogs in Manuka and the weather is in total contrast to the Sydney game.

Hawthorn Vs Essendon, early 2005...

It was 35 degrees and sunny during the pre-game warm up - one of Melbourne's warmest April days... it then began to cloud over, and by the middle of the first quarter the temperature had dropped about 15 degrees in about ten minutes and there was torrential rain and thunder for about half an hour. Half Time we led 40-10.

The sun came back in the second half and it become hot and sticky again, the Hawks came back to hit the front but we ended up winning by 2 points after a dicey "Solomon goal" (Hawk fans still haven’t forgotten about it). The weather conditions that day perhaps had an impact on not only the skills, but some dubious umpiring decisions to both sides.

1978 wafl grand final at subi between perth and east perth.
i have never seen rain like that which fell in the last quarter,turned the ground into a swimming pool.

Yeah I was standing in the outer on the wing that day, couldn't see the play past the centre of the oval, torrential, no sheltered grandstand back then.
At least the mighty Royals prevailed :):D

Wettest: 2001 Geelong vs North Melbourne at KP. North won in a hard slog. Goals were kicked from 50 out but only because they skidded for about 30 metres through the goals. I think it was Geelongs lowest score since the 1930's.

Coldest: 1999 Hawthorn vs North at Waverley. Carey dominated with 7 goals almost singlehandedly beating the Hawks. We left early to beat the traffic. One Hawks supporter wondered why we were leaving when it should have been him.

Hottest: 2004 North Melbourne vs Sydney at Manuka. 30 degrees and a full house and had to stand for the whole game. We get flogged and my car breaks down on the way back to Wagga Wagga. 2 weeks later we play the Bulldogs in Manuka and the weather is in total contrast to the Sydney game.

Nah, there was a game at Princes Park in 1977 where we kicked 2.12 (to Carltons 3.13). Then there's also the game I alluded to at Footscray in 1988 where we kicked 3.12. We kicked 4.9 in that particular game against North.

The Worst game you have been to Weather wise