Society & Culture Things that Shit me part X- The Tenth edition!

Tram inspectors. As usual, there is a bunch of deros on my tram drinking, swearing their heads off etc. ticket inspectors avoid that half of the tram like a plague, actual work would be involved. I got stung for failing to produce a concession card, as iv been waiting about a month for centrelink to send me my new one. I'd just put money on my card and touched on, it's not like I'm trying to rort them. I pointed out they maybe had bigger problems to attend to, they ignored me and went back to harassing some Swedish tourist who clearly had no idea why they had surrounded him. Ffs. I know they are required, but It'd be nice if they showed any compassion when it comes to a job that's essentially going around ruining people's days.

At uni, starving, and there's a $1 sausage sizzle set up just outside the library. Unfortunately it appears to be run by people wearing Labor logos and shit. $1 sausage, or keep intact my rule about never giving money to any political cause? Will probs get three and hate myself forever :thumbsu:
I have no shame in buying snags off any of the uni groups as long as it's a buck... Hell if it's free food I'll gladly take just about anything. Although I draw the line at the free pizza sessions hosted by the catholic group... I might be a massive tightass but that price is too high to pay, I mean I've accepted that if hell exists I have a reserved seat already, but I'd like to eat pizza without a side serve of guilt :p

O week during uni I signed up to that many causes and clubs for a few free drinks or free snag. I think I even remember signing up to some liberal group with my proud new labor sticker on display.
I was willing to whore my signature and my lesser used email address out to just about any club if it meant a freebie. Kept swinging past the microsoft booth to score a few pairs of shitty sunnies, a few highlighters and a yoyo, basically ended up with a shitload of pens and a very conflicting bag full of stickers/pamphlets.

Indian accents on the telephone. These days half of them don't even try to sell you anything. They just want to give me shit about our cricket team.

Ironically it was my free feed first. A guy in my office owns a pizza shop. He brought it to work for me, no charge. And then I go and lose it :mad::D

He probably saw it lying around the office and thought you hated it and got angry. So he took it and you'll probably find the pizza in your desk drawer.

Ironically it was my free feed first. A guy in my office owns a pizza shop. He brought it to work for me, no charge. And then I go and lose it :mad::D

At least you weren't silly enough to pay money for a BBQ chicken pizza.

Partisan politics.

Talking to my folkds during the week, going berserk about everything to do with labor. going berserk about kevin rudd's wife is worth.

My old man is literally getting the knife at his council job this week along with another few people. i ask "isn't that a liberal local council?" Absolute crickets. i ask "isn't malcolm turnbull worth a fortune?" absolute crickets.

the whole thing does my nut in.

for me:

second last preference - labor
last preference - liberal

i'm actually quite liking the future party

http://futureparty.org.au/policy/summary/

i'm not quite sold on their idea of introducing a new university city between sydney and canberra. sounds a bit fanciful, although i suppose a lot of those small cities introduce these sort of ideas knowing they won't ever actually be implemented

Partisan politics.

Talking to my folkds during the week, going berserk about everything to do with labor. going berserk about kevin rudd's wife is worth.

My old man is literally getting the knife at his council job this week along with another few people. i ask "isn't that a liberal local council?" Absolute crickets. i ask "isn't malcolm turnbull worth a fortune?" absolute crickets.

the whole thing does my nut in.

for me:

i'm actually quite liking the future party

http://futureparty.org.au/policy/summary/

i'm not quite sold on their idea of introducing a new university city between sydney and canberra. sounds a bit fanciful, although i suppose a lot of those small cities introduce these sort of ideas knowing they won't ever actually be implemented

Their summary involves them spending money on four major items, and reducing taxes. Sounds well thought through..

sweet. i'm in.

Trash_of_the_Titans_(Promo_Picture)_4.jpg

for serious.

That's how I vote.

First greens, then independents, then the weirdos, then the 2 big parties last.

If everybody voted this way the big parties would get a wake up call.

The Australian Sex Party intrigue me, I genuinely think that if they didn't have that awful name that was clearly just to seek attention at first they'd actually be garnering a few more votes.

Mum's been throwing out campaign advertising coming from every party, I wouldn't even know who my local member is if his office wasn't next door to the bottle shop I frequent.

Coke Bubbler party ftw by the way

The Australian Sex Party intrigue me, I genuinely think that if they didn't have that awful name that was clearly just to seek attention at first they'd actually be garnering a few more votes.

Mum's been throwing out campaign advertising coming from every party, I wouldn't even know who my local member is if his office wasn't next door to the bottle shop I frequent.

That's how I vote.

First greens, then independents, then the weirdos, then the 2 big parties last.

If everybody voted this way the big parties would get a wake up call.

yes **** yes, we should have started a massive facebook campaign 6 months ago. too late now to spread the word.

there has gotta be a better way to a two party dominated system?

i don't know if it's possible but surely something like having 10 - 15 "major" parties who then form a coalition for various issues according to what their voters want is better? and they form their coalitions separately for different issues, not just always vote the same way.... nothing would probably get done though i guess.

i never forget the feeling of confusion i went through when i was about 15 and i first found out that members of each of the major parties just vote on issues the same way... i was like 'so if this guy doesn't want this to happen, and his voters don't want this to happen, but he will still vote this way just cause his party is voting way'.... i just don't think that's the way to do it.

if a policy is good policy it should get voted through in parliament cause it's a good policy. not just cause a couple of leaders of a party want it to go through.

sex party have good policies. they are probably my favourite party but they aren't in my electorate. future party is in my electorate and are reasonably close.

i agree with you on the name. but i think half of it is people who don't give a shit will see 'sex party, **** yeah i am voting for them'... just trying to score some cheap votes.

I have done this before but got yelled at for throwing my vote away :confused:, treating it kind of like donkey voting or informal voting.

if anything that is more casting your vote than anything else. if you truly don't believe in what the major parties are doing they need to be put at the bottom, which is what i am doing and i hope others who i hear tell me 'i don't like either party' will also do the same, but in my experience of talking to people they are all talk and don't do that.

someone in the SRP board said there needs to be an option "I don't vote for any party" and i agree 100%. It's different to an informal vote. it's specifically stating i don't like these options. we don't have that, so you're next best is preferencing them last and second last.