Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...

Decent music and television.

Mullets (although they have seem to have become increasingly common in recent years- could they be making a comeback?)

Phones without buttons (don't have to be very old to know what I'm talking about)

Going to the footy and standing in the outer with an esky full of beer, watching the reserves, trying to figure out who was 'R' and who was 'D' on the scoreboard, going out onto the ground after the game and remaining there beyond dark, before moving into the social club for beers with the players.

Goal umpires wearing lab coats, and running out onto the ground after a goal had been scored to signal that goal with them.

Going to every kids' house in the neighbourhood on Xmas day and looking at their presents. Also the street being full of kids riding their new bikes later that day.

Buying fireworks from the milk bar.

Being able to get pissed, throw beachballs, and muck around at the cricket without the cops intervening.

Less regulation, laws, political correctness, and associated BS all too common in this day and age.

The list goes on.....

Will be interesting to look back on this era in 20-30 years time and see how it is remembered/what people miss from it (similar to what is occurring in this thread). Despite not reaching the heights of the 80s and 90s I still think it will be viewed in a nostalgic light (this occurs with every generation, mine included). Either way, a lot of things have changed in my time and even more will change in the next few decades that's for sure.
Thanks for making me depressed, life was so much better back then now the world is a shit hole.

The Cold War, M.A.D., all those chicks at Greenham Common, western media counting the days since the Soviet leader was seen in public, Reagan, Yugoslavia being one country instead of about seven, the Soviets gettiing there arses kicked in Afghanistan instead of us, Olympic Games being boycotted, heady days indeed.

I think petrol was 88c a litre when I got my license in 2001. As a kid I remember it being 50c or so, but never really paid too much attention.

In 12 years on the road petrol has gone up about 60-70% and it's one thing I reckon most Australians take for granted. Yeah we don't have the cheap petrol they have in the US or the developing world, but our wages are sky high and we're not paying the $2-2.50/litre you have to in Western Europe. I reckon we'd have different attitudes towards PT and housing choices if we paid Norway prices for our petrol. If you compare the increase in the cost of petrol compared to rent/loan repayments on a new mortgage, what you get for your money at the supermarket or a restaurant etc. and petrol's looking pretty good.

Will be interesting to look back on this era in 20-30 years time and see how it is remembered/what people miss from it (similar to what is occurring in this thread).

I think it'll be freedom/anonymity of the internet. I get the feeling that eventually things like SOPA and CISPA will sneak through in the US, and the rest of the world will follow. I reckon we'll be looking back to these days thinking how easy it was to get illegal stuff relatively anonymously.

I'll raise ya:

sony_betamax-sl-c30_02.jpg
can you go one beta?

You're in Adelaide for the love of Allah, it's not that exactly hard to find.
When I grew up in SA pot was in nearly everyone's backyard. ME and me mates would brag who could grow the best.

For those who don't know riding your pushbike without a helmet attracts a bigger fine than growing 9 pot plants back in the early nineties.

Even well into the 90s I remember people doing this at Test matches.

When they first started using ropes for the boundary you could jump the fence and sit in the ground along the rope. Nobody interfered with the match, nobody got hurt and nobody died.

Footy Fans at Adelaide Oval could sit "on" the ground, near the boundary line.

I saw footage of this in the 60s.

Unbelievable.

Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...