Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...

The ARL/NRL have also had their fair share of extinct teams.

Western Reds, Adelaide Rams, North Sydney Bears, Gold Coast Chargers, Illawarra Steelers, Western Suburbs, Balmain, Newtown and South Queensland Crushers.

AFL lost University at the time of WWI and Fitzroy merged with Brisbane in the mid 1990s. Not too bad for a competition over 100 years old.

Rugby league has never recovered from the Super League war. The NRL is even more of a token national competition than the AFL and seems to be going backwards. Defunct teams like the Rams, Reds, Crushers etc. were only around for 5 minutes anyway.

I still use all of these things periodically...

Only yesterday I made an old school mix tape on cassette - Although it took me a long time to find anywhere that sold cassette tapes

I still have the equipment to tape, but it's been locked away for maybe 8 or so years (Harmon and Kardon tape deck, can't remember the exact spelling) - so you can still find blank cassette tapes?

I've been gradually digitising all my LPs - about half way through.

AFL lost University at the time of WWI and Fitzroy merged with Brisbane in the mid 1990s. Not too bad for a competition over 100 years old.

Rugby league has never recovered from the Super League war. The NRL is even more of a token national competition than the AFL and seems to be going backwards. Defunct teams like the Rams, Reds, Crushers etc. were only around for 5 minutes anyway.

The titans are the 5th reincarnation of a team on the gold coast (from memory).

Yeah the Super League war saw a lot of teams come and go. They made some terrible decisions by starting up badly supported teams in weak markets and axing or merging strong Sydney clubs like South Sydney and Manly. The Northern Eagles merger was a disaster as both sets of supporters hated it, the Wests Tigers merger worked out OK though and they were sensible enough to bring back Souths and Manly.

I also think a Perth NRL team can work at a proper rugby stadium, the Reds had plenty of support in their early days but playing their home games at the WACA killed their chances. Terrible place to watch rugby, even worse than Subi Oval.

The AFL has been pretty stable compared to the NRL and NBL

spitfire-flight.jpg

Radio plays listening as a kid on a Sunday night on the ABC ....currently listening to "War Of The Worlds" must be an anniversary of some kind? Still goes ok :p
That was originally a Halloween show, and I think it was 1938 so that would make this week the 75th anniversary.

When our grand children take over Bigfooty one day the following will be added to this thread:

51727.jpg

They will think did the colour get washed out??????

I do not believe Test Cricket can survive more than 100 years.

With the ever expanding T20 and need for ODIs something has got to give.

In true ANZAC spirit we will try to pass on test cricket to our children and to their children but it will die one day.......one day.:(

It was a good thing for the AFL though. The Swans were kind of in a successful period after making the GF in 96 as well as having Lockett on board so we were probably able to attract a lot of want-away RL fans. Off topic....:p

The ARL/NRL have also had their fair share of extinct teams.

Western Reds, Adelaide Rams, North Sydney Bears, Gold Coast Chargers, Illawarra Steelers, Western Suburbs, Balmain, Newtown and South Queensland Crushers.

Nobody remembers the Hunter Mariners.

The titans are the 5th reincarnation of a team on the gold coast (from memory).

Gold Coast Chargers had two goes at re-branding before folding.

Gold Coast has been a bit of a sporting graveyard. On top of rugby league's failures the Rollers & Blaze (NBL) and Gold Coast United (A-League) all folded, amd the Bears were a failure playing at Carrara. If not for AFL-support for the code in Queensland and the move to the Gabba the Bears (Lions) would be long gone.

For those in WA (and maybe east aswell)

All those supermarket chains back in the day prior to Metcash and Coles and Woolies increasing the strength of the triopoly e.g. Action, Dewsons, Supa Valu, Foodland, Farmer Jacks, Charlie Carters, Newmart, Macs, BI-LO, Rules, Cheap Foods.

And those stores taken over by Harvey Norman and others e.g. Archie Martin Vox, Rick Hart, Tandy, Chandlers, Betta Electrical, Megamart.

And those stores gone due to the Bunnings Warehouse era e.g. BBC hardware, Hardwarehouse, Thrifty Link, Tru Value Hardware, etc. etc.

For those in WA (and maybe east aswell)

All those supermarket chains back in the day prior to Metcash and Coles and Woolies increasing the strength of the triopoly e.g. Action, Dewsons, Supa Valu, Foodland, Farmer Jacks, Charlie Carters, Newmart, Macs, BI-LO, Rules, Cheap Foods.

I worked at Action Food Barn when I was at still at school and Uni. Very cruisey job and plenty of decent check out chicks to try and crack on too.

There is still a farmer jacks near Joondalup golf course.

Cricket still being the sport of summer. Soccer and other international sports seem to garner a lot more interest now. Hopefully it's just because of the lack of likeable characters the current team has.

Kids playing with actual toys and having to wait months if not a year to get what they want. I was probably part of the last generation to experience this. Kids these days seem to ask for something and receive it almost immediately. Parents seem to gift them 400 dollar gaming consoles with tons of games well out of their age bracket just to shut them up. I remember being genuinely excited when I got Lego and other toys. Nowadays kids would rather play on a Nintendo or Playstation. I also remember having to save for a year just to get something I want. I know shitheads these days that get hundreds of bucks worth of stuff every few months. Teaches kids that money is unlimited, I think.

Music actually being decent. I'm sure there is some lesser known stuff out there that would appeal to me but gee wiz mainstream music is ridiculously bad these days yet the media embrace artists these days like they're the second coming of John Lennon.

Quality Australia TV also doesn't exist anymore. Just a distant memory.

When the majority of bogan 20 year olds listened to decent music and not girly teenybopper stuff like they do now. When I was this age bogans would spit out their beer at the thought of listening to stuff like Bieber, One Direction and all that other X Factor produced and top 40 pop stuff that the current generation listens to etc.

Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...