Things You Don't Give a Shit About

I want an owl.

3f8465441f9b44881e1b3a8f26b9469d.jpg

Are there any still out there? Honestly haven't seen one on the road for about 10 years.

Valiants, Kingswoods, and XF Falcons were pretty common sights when I was a kid in the '90s. Seem to have died off since.

My totally uneducated guess would be the phasing out of leaded petrol has seen their numbers dwindle severely.

True. Thinking about it more, considering they'd all be at least 30-40 years old, they probably all just reached the end of their life cycle, and people have just replaced them with newer cars (which are now more affordable than ever).

Valiants, Toranas, Geminis, Escorts, HQs.. there are heaps of cars that were really common that have almost disappeared completely.

By the time I started driving most of these cars were 25 years old already but they were still on the road. These days if you see one you need to do a double take.

Tax the royals to make up the short fall open up their land and property as museums for paying tourists

Most museums in the UK are free.

Are there any still out there? Honestly haven't seen one on the road for about 10 years.

Valiants, Kingswoods, and XF Falcons were pretty common sights when I was a kid in the '90s. Seem to have died off since.
Got a '66 VC sitting in my driveway:thumbsu:

They stopped making them in '81 so they are getting a rare sight for sure, but still plenty getting around. A lot were pushed into sheds (including mine) back in the 90's, and are now getting back on the road now that the internet has made parts really accessible. There are dozens of us!

There are facebook pages for valiant enthusiasts with thousands of members so thankfully there's a few of us out there still

The fact they are rare means you get lots of waves and thumbs up when you go out for a drive. People also come up to you in car parks wanting to have a chat or to buy your car. Its cool.

That's not really a drama, they run fine on unleaded. You just put an additive in your fuel, and when the time comes for a engine refresh you just put hardened valve seats in and they will happily run on unleaded forever.

The bigger killer can be put down to one thing. Rust

Valiants really fell off the face of the Earth after Chrysler disappeared as a local manufacturer. Technically they stayed on as Mistubishi but I can't think of a single Mitsubishi model produced in Australia that is in any way memorable. Holden and Ford on the other hand stuck around and even though they only really made Falcons and Commodores from the 80s onwards it kept the marques in the spotlight. If you were cruising around in a Charger today I reckon most people wouldn't even know what it was.

Agree 100% about the internet making life easier. I remember frantically Googling in the early 2000s and there was SFA out there that was helpful. Now if something exists then you can find it with a few clicks.

Can't remember the last time I seen an XF Falcon on the road. Even the old bogan favourite the VL Commodore is getting right down in numbers still going.

I can buy about 80% of my valiant parts brand new these days with a single click, its so helpful.

Thankfully a lot of the mechanicals in a valiant were identical to american models(dodges, plymouths, chrysler), and they didn't change much up till the early 90s so they are still making most bits. Only drama is little things like the chrome trims, they are rare as hens teeth.

In our disposable society any car older than around 92 is getting rarer, most get sent to the crusher and are recycled into hyundais.

You're right that most people wouldn't know what the hell a valiant is these days if they were looking at one, but that's sort of why i drive one to be honest. Still a fair few early holdens and fords getting around, but they bore the shit out of me

Bloody Malcolm Fraser killed them off, which is ironic because his ceremonial PM vehicle was a CM Valiant

The 1980s have a lot to answer for in the history of Australian cars. The 1990s didn't reverse the trend, either.

Will there be a day when VN Commodores are sought after?

It's like the car industry mirrored music technology and went from records to tapes to CDs to digital. Records are cool, digital is brilliant. Tapes and CDs served their purpose, but they're not cool or useful any more.

Things You Don't Give a Shit About