Thomas to the Blues for 4yrs

More to do with Malthouse than anything, Thomas has been pining for him.
Yeah but surely other offers should come. Would be great for
Melbourne who could pay him more. But as far as we know they didn't even launch an offer. Why is that?

You are still judging Buckley's ability to coach on a limited amount of games. Dumb.

Good it be that Thomas is just a petulant ******?

Woah! Slightly defensive. It's Free Agency mate, this is how it works, players move on. So should you.

genuine gun and plays his best footy under MM.

When did I judge Buckleys ability to coach? I said Thomas plays his best footy under MM, does he not? He has had a strained relationship with Buckley since Buckley came on board, has he not? Certain coaches get the best out of certain players, like Laidler couldn't play his best footy under Malthouse.

I think its funny how this thread if full of pot shots towards Carlton but as soon as someone even remotely suggests (which I didn't) that there's a problem at Collingwood you fire up like "a petulant ******"

This is just ridiculous. Carlton have had numerous doctors, both club and independent, put Thomas through his paces. The 'medical grapevine' knows more about it then the doctors who actually looked at it and gave their recommendations?

Blues have still obviously taken a risk, medical advice does not guarantee one thing or another. Might be the second time the Pies have lost out with a guy with ankle injuries (Johnson being the other). I would think all parties (Blues, Pies, Thomas) would end up happy here.
If his ankle was that good, why the need to see multiple doctors? As a doctor, I can tell you that most doctors take a pessimistic view on these types of injuries. That's why you have to search for those who may differ in opinion.

So we are taking your scraps by getting the best fitness guru in the land?
Is arguably the best coach in the land Collingwood's scraps?
Is a pick 2 AA midfielder just Collingwood's scraps?

The Pies fans are more bitter than Mick is! We have just picked up a star. It's not like Carlton are run by a bunch of bogans (Sticks the exception :D ), they checked his ankle and it's obviously ready to go after a bit of rest. We wouldn't pay 700k for a player with a "stuffed ankle".

Just cop the "Carltonwood" tag boys. We have their coach, CEO, fitness guru and star player now. Not saying we deserve it but we have definitely opened ourselves up to it.

Was anti-Thomas all year but have come around after re-watching some of his old games throughout the year, genuine gun and plays his best footy under MM. Assuming the Blues did all the right things medical wise and his ankle holds up, I have no problem paying that much for an AA midfielder with a bag of tricks not many players have.

We still have plenty of room in the cap too for later years :thumbsu:.
Yeah, it all hinges on the ankle, if it can hold up and allows him to put in the work on the track to get him back to where he can be that gut running midfielder, he will be a good get. And free agents don't typically come cheap. It's a calculated risk for you blokes, but given you lost Betts, not that huge a net differential, all told. Right decision for us, too, though, on the balance of probabilities and given the 'cleanout' path the club has committed itself to. The jury's still out on that, too.

When did I judge Buckleys ability to coach? I said Thomas plays his best footy under MM, does he not? He has had a strained relationship with Buckley since Buckley came on board, has he not? Certain coaches get the best out of certain players, like Laidler couldn't play his best footy under Malthouse.*"

Actually hes had a strained ankle since Buckley came on board. Rumours of his bad relationship with Bucks are just that...rumours. If he wants to play for Carlton just because Mick is there then maybe hes going there for the wrong reasons. Its a bit soft, actually. A bit like Jack Watts not having the balls to commit to Melbourne until he found out who the coach was going to be. Smacks of a lack of self confidence.

Daisy is a star when fit.

Assuming the ankle is fine - Carlton just picked up an AA quality midfielder.

Hard as nails, kicks goals and runs both ways.

I'd rather be keeping Daisy than Swan.

I had hoped my club would make a play for him.

Swan is far more durable than Daisy. The only perceived benefit would be the 3 extra years up Daisy's non-tattooed sleeve. Means little if he needs an ankle reconstruction.

I for one look forward to the February 2014 media reporting that Daisy went surfing on his dodgy ankle against Carlton's medical advice.

I wish our club had been interested
That's what I'm curious about! If Carlton are willing to take a gamble why aren't at least 1 other club?

He is an absolute gun in top form! Is he worth the risk for 700k x 4 years? IMO not really..this could destroy Carlton if he can't get back to his best output.

If he does he probably has 2 years of good football and 2 being well and truely over paid

So we are taking your scraps by getting the best fitness guru in the land?
Is arguably the best coach in the land Collingwood's scraps?
Is a pick 2 AA midfielder just Collingwood's scraps?

The Pies fans are more bitter than Mick is! We have just picked up a star. It's not like Carlton are run by a bunch of bogans (Sticks the exception :D ), they checked his ankle and it's obviously ready to go after a bit of rest. We wouldn't pay 700k for a player with a "stuffed ankle".
Sticks is a bogan, but comes across as a genuine bloke, always has. Ratten, too, hated them both as players, but both universally liked in the industry.

Good get IMO if he holds up.
Collingwood's iconic star Dale Thomas will announce his intention to join Carlton as a free agent, with the Blues set to secure him on a four-year deal worth close to $700,000 a season.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ouryear-deal-with-carlton-20131003-2uv5i.html

Nice heist Dale :thumbsu:
1335078064_hamburglar.gif

That's what I'm curious about! If Carlton are willing to take a gamble why aren't at least 1 other club?

He is an absolute gun in top form! Is he worth the risk for 700k x 4 years? IMO not really..this could destroy Carlton if he can't get back to his best output.

If he does he probably has 2 years of good football and 2 being well and truely over paid

MM doing a crazzy Voss?

Actually hes had a strained ankle since Buckley came on board. Rumours of his bad relationship with Bucks are just that...rumours. If he wants to play for Carlton just because Mick is there then maybe hes going there for the wrong reasons. Its a bit soft, actually. A bit like Jack Watts not having the balls to commit to Melbourne until he found out who the coach was going to be. Smacks of a lack of self confidence.

Please. We all know of his relationship with Buckley and the Pies at the moment. Didn't he reject an invitation to the Pies BnF tonight? All the "old culture" Buckley refers to and players "clinging onto the past", you don't think Thomas has anything to do with that?

I'm pretty sure he wants to go there because Micks there, and the money. Call it what you want and say he is soft that's your opinion, but he likes Mick and likes playing for him and probably didn't believe he could reach his best under Buckley.

Not sure why Pie fans are upset. Pretty sure if you didn't get along with your new boss, and your old boss who you got along with quite well offered you a new job with more money, you'd take it.

Sticks is a bogan, but comes across as a genuine bloke, always has. Ratten, too, hated them both as players, but both universally liked in the industry.

They are both smart blokes to. Those who think we offered Daisy 700k a year to get back at Collingwood are absolutely kidding themselves.

Please. We all know of his relationship with Buckley and the Pies at the moment. Didn't he reject an invitation to the Pies BnF tonight? All the "old culture" Buckley refers to and players "clinging onto the past", you don't think Thomas has anything to do with that?

I'm pretty sure he wants to go there because Micks there, and the money. Call it what you want and say he is soft that's your opinion, but he likes Mick and likes playing for him and probably didn't believe he could reach his best under Buckley.

Not sure why Pie fans are upset. Pretty sure if you didn't get along with your new boss, and your old boss who you got along with quite well offered you a new job with more money, you'd take it.

Pies fans arent upset. We get pick 11, we lose a player who doesnt want to be there and hasnt been much use for the past two seasons. We get even more cap room. Gives us a chance to seamlessly continue our mioni rebuild. Its a very neutral move for us. Neither a win nor a loss.

IMO he wants to come to us because of Mick, he played his best footy under Mick (didn't really get a chance with Bucks) and the pay packet would have helped his decision. I don't think he was interested in any other clubs though