Traded Tim Kelly [traded with #57 and future 3rd to West Coast for #14, #24, #33 and future 1st]

Who won this trade?

• Geelong

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • West Coast

Votes: 0 0.0%

I wish TK and his family all the best, first and foremost.

He and/or his manager have done themselves absolutely zero favours in how they have handled this, for the second time running. They are clearly trying to play the sympathy card when bringing up his disabled children (hopefully correct terminology here) and leverage a trade.

Seems a fairly logical and reasonable thing, that with multiple children and no family in Victoria, that he would want to return to Perth. No issues with that at all... By specifically nominating West Coast (again), it s**ts all over that narrative because it says "I want to get to West Coast" rather than I just need to be home in Perth. You cannot have it both ways.

Ok, the bloke is out of contract and wants to leave, that's fine. It happens. Save us the tripe about his reasons though, because the motives are pretty clear on this one.
Lol. So does that apply to every player that has personal reason to move back to a different Club.

How about you list all the players that have requested a trade to Carlton over the last few years and there reasons

I still think the 92 94 grand finals are fueling the Geelong resentment of getting Kelly home to West Coast even though Ablett and Dangerfield got home and we had to listen to all the sob stories about both of them only naming Geelong

AFL and the AFLPA may need to get involved if Geelong try block this again when overs are offered after they got 2 players for unders that wanted to get to them for family reasons

TK named only West Coast
Dangerfield and Ablett named only Geelong
LOL...You could be right, after all they were the ones to let the cup leave Victoria the first time....and the second.. ;)

Dangerfield was a free agent. He could have gone to Geelong and Adelaide get nothing but a compo pick.
Your not actually across what happened from the sound of it. He couldn’t have left as a free agent because Adelaide would have matched

you think Dangerfield went to Geelong and said I’ll only play for you if you trade for me rather then get me as a FA

No chance

Umm do you have the same criticism of Tom Papley, why are you only mentioning one name for?

Is Tom Papley leveraging a personal issue over Sydney in order to get the trade done to Carlton I am unaware of?

Moreover, Papley is on record saying if no trade is to occur, he will act professionally and honour his contract. My posting history suggests I am under no illusion that Sydney are under any obligation to trade him to Carlton either.

What is the relevance of Tom Papley to this thread?

Lol. So does that apply to every player that has personal reason to move back to a different Club.

How about you list all the players that have requested a trade to Carlton over the last few years and there reasons

Did you even read my post? Have no issue with OoC players naming their club of choice. It's the system we have.

Attempting to leverage sympathy of returning home with a legitimate reason then only naming one club when another club is equally close geographically is both contradictory and very clear in terms of the true motivations. That's my qualm, which I clearly stated.

I still think the 92 94 grand finals are fueling the Geelong resentment of getting Kelly home to West Coast even though Ablett and Dangerfield got home and we had to listen to all the sob stories about both of them only naming Geelong

AFL and the AFLPA may need to get involved if Geelong try block this again when overs are offered after they got 2 players for unders that wanted to get to them for family reasons

TK named only West Coast
Dangerfield and Ablett named only Geelong

It has to be this. Wells harping on the 'fierce rivalry' between club's?

I'm thinking 'What rivalry? Really haven't played finals against each other for decades until this year and they won.

.I don't rate Geelong a fierce rival. Just flogs atm. This I can see is about to heat up though.

Mate, if Fyfe gets in his ear he definitely won’t be choosing Freo. I doubt it’s his dream to spend 5 seasons blocking players so Fyfe can win a third Brownlow.
Also using Mitch Clarke as an example of a player that changed his mind is quite funny (and a little sad for the player).

Basically chose money over family and his own mental health needs and it really didn't work out at all.

While I'm at it I'm a little over hearing how great Danger was to Adelaide. The reason the FA paperwork was never lodged is because Adelaide would have happily matched and kept him. Goodwill was 100% from Adelaide (accepting a low ball offer as they knew the desire to move home and appreciated the service of the player), not Geelong or Danger.

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Is Tom Papley leveraging a personal issue over Sydney in order to get the trade done to Carlton I am unaware of?

Moreover, Papley is on record saying if no trade is to occur, he will act professionally and honour his contract. My posting history suggests I am under no illusion that Sydney are under any obligation to trade him to Carlton either.

Did you even read my post? Have no issue with OoC players naming their club of choice. It's the system we have.

Attempting to leverage sympathy of returning home with a legitimate reason then only naming one club when another club is equally close geographically is both contradictory and very clear in terms of the true motivations. That's my qualm, which I clearly stated.
Yes, there are multiple articles today about how Papley has a deeply personal family issue hence his desire to get to Carlton... No wait Victoria... actually no just carlton...

How is Kelly using his personal situation as leverage?

It's the reason he needs to move.

Simple as that.

Papely has stated he wants to move due to personal reasons. Those are not clear.

Out of contract players move and nominate club's. You should know that. It happens every year.

So why can't Kelly?

Let's be honest. He's a gun and the Eagles are contending. Vic club's hate that.

Richmond landed Lynch last year for free. Was that fair?

What about Prestia?

Good club's attract good players. People need to just deal with that.

3 way proposal, surely this gets it done.

WCE
In: T.Kelly
Out: Picks 14 and 24

Cats
In: Steven, Pick 14
Out: T.Kelly

Saints:
In: Pick 24
Out: Steven

Cats get a L4L replacement for TK and pick 14. Steven is worth pick 24, Saints could use that to get Z.Jones from Sydney.
That seems unders tbh.

Geelong are trying to lowball on Steven so it's ok to start off lowball for TK, but surely WC have to give up a little more than 14 + 24 (even if we end up getting something back because we add 2019 1st instead of 24, might be equal on points but surely is more desirable).

Yes, there are multiple articles today about how Papley has a deeply personal family issue hence his desire to get to Carlton... No wait Victoria... actually no just carlton...

If you need to move to another place for a particular reason and get offered a range of employment contracts from up to ten different employers in that particular place, some are high profile companies with a lot of resources, some have great cultures, some have a history of scandal and financial collapse, some have great reputations for looking after their employees, some want to pay you a lot of money and some want to give you a one year contract on minimum wage, while others have no interest in employing you, then of course you're going to choose the one that suits you best.

The location might be limited by a deeply personal family issue, but the choice of employer isn't, and many other factors need to be weighed up, including but not limited to the ability of that club to do a deal with your current club.

It's the same for Tim Kelly and West Coast. West Coast might be his preferred destination but you would think that if West Coast weren't interested or couldn't do a deal for whatever reason (say they're hit with massive draft sanctions and have no picks at all or whatever), then he'd most likely take Fremantle over staying in Victoria... assuming playing for Fremantle isn't actually career ending, life endangering, or some other heinous thing that makes staying at Geelong more palatable.

I'm not so certain freo are a realistic option and thus we could theoretically bend the cats over however we've never been a team to do that, we like keeping our bridges between teams intact, and we'll get a fair deal done.
How many teams have bent over freo from 1994-2006?

I seriously hope it gets done by the last day.

West coast will offer picks 14 and 22. Good luck trying to get freos pick 7 without paying overs

Also using Mitch Clarke as an example of a player that changed his mind is quite funny (and a little sad for the player).

Basically chose money over family and his own mental health needs and it really didn't work out at all.

While I'm at it I'm a little over hearing how great Danger was to Adelaide. The reason the FA paperwork was never lodged is because Adelaide would have happily matched and kept him. Goodwill was 100% from Adelaide (accepting a low ball offer as they knew the desire to move home and appreciated the service of the player), not Geelong or Danger.

Im glad freo dodged that bullet.

Demons traded pick 12 for him. Crazy Vossy and Brisbane wanted picks 16 and 20 off us. Year freo got Crozier and Sheridan with those picks.

But back in 2011, giving $750,000 a year would of hurt freos salary cap in 2011. Its 2019, The Salary cap now is 12.5-13 million now. Paying $750,000 for a 24 year old Mitch Clarke wouldnt hurt freos salary cap.

I wasn't aware of that before googling.

My opinion on Tom doesn't change though. It is totally Sydney's prerogative whether they trade Papley and Tom has stated he is prepared to see out his contract as a Swan if no trade can be arranged. I won't be spewing vitriole if Sydney decide to exercise their right to hold him to his contract, as we did with Gibbs.

Obviously Tom's preference is Carlton and it would seem something has been agreed in principal that satisfies Sydney. If that wasn't to be the case, I would not hold it against Sydney one iota if they suggested Tom re-considers his preference or he stays.

How is Kelly using his personal situation as leverage?

It's the reason he needs to move.

Simple as that.

Papely has stated he wants to move due to personal reasons. Those are not clear.

Out of contract players move and nominate club's. You should know that. It happens every year.

So why can't Kelly?

Let's be honest. He's a gun and the Eagles are contending. Vic club's hate that.

Richmond landed Lynch last year for free. Was that fair?

What about Prestia?

Good club's attract good players. People need to just deal with that.

a) Don't patronise me, you should know that :rolleyes:
b) Don't pretend this is a 'vic bias' issue, that is the biggest load i've ever heard. I could care less about Geelong.

My opinion is very clear, you and others with skin in the game clearly don't like it and that's fine. Again, if TK's issues were so deeply rooted in the fact that he needs to be home in Perth (and fair enough by the sounds) he should be willing to return to Perth regardless; whether that is for Freo, WC or Subiaco. The same applies to Tom Papley for the record IMO.

To bring those issues into the public forum then suggest that he only wants to play for West Coast is hyprocritical and clear in it's motivation. Good luck to him, our game seems to allow this kind of thing to occur regularly. I disagree with it and the motives behind it.

Your not actually across what happened from the sound of it. He couldn’t have left as a free agent because Adelaide would have matched

you think Dangerfield went to Geelong and said I’ll only play for you if you trade for me rather then get me as a FA

No chance
It's amazing how many Geelong supporters are claiming the higher ground re Danger trade.
Listen up NUMPTIES: Danger qualified as a restricted free agent (RFA), that means if he agrees terms with a team, crows can choose to match, in doing so he loses the RFA status and the teams need to organise a trade.
Adelaide excepted well unders but respected Dangerfield enough. Geelong got away with a steal. You didn't do Adelaide any favors.
Geelong have to have the most deluded fan base....

It’s not 1 year of football. It’s 1 year plus the right to trade a non free agent that will net two 1st round picks in a stronger draft.

Or he goes to the draft again.

Other than WCE, only a horribly mismanaged club would draft him.

Which leaves a couple.

If you need to move to another place for a particular reason and get offered a range of employment contracts from up to ten different employers in that particular place, some are high profile companies with a lot of resources, some have great cultures, some have a history of scandal and financial collapse, some have great reputations for looking after their employees, some want to pay you a lot of money and some want to give you a one year contract on minimum wage, while others have no interest in employing you, then of course you're going to choose the one that suits you best.

The location might be limited by a deeply personal family issue, but the choice of employer isn't, and many other factors need to be weighed up, including but not limited to the ability of that club to do a deal with your current club.

It's the same for Tim Kelly and West Coast. West Coast might be his preferred destination but you would think that if West Coast weren't interested or couldn't do a deal for whatever reason (say they're hit with massive draft sanctions and have no picks at all or whatever), then he'd most likely take Fremantle over staying in Victoria... assuming playing for Fremantle isn't actually career ending, life endangering, or some other heinous thing that makes staying at Geelong more palatable.
So we'll just conveniently forget Shiel choosing Essendon over a heap of suitors. Many offering much better trades. Carlton for one!

You can re-read my post and if you still agree with that assessment of it then I doubt there's any point discussing the matter.

What you are forgetting is that most awards including the Brownlow are midfielder focussed giving little regard to forwards, defenders, taggers etc.... so your argument is not valid because there's some sense in saying players like Grimes or Houli at Richmond are every bit as good or valuable as Dusty, Jack or Tom but it's not often they get votes.

I’m not arguing, just saying as of this minute TK is regarded in the top echelon of players in the league.
Wishing he wasn’t wont change his trade value.

You can re-read my post and if you still agree with that assessment of it then I doubt there's any point discussing the matter.
Sorry you were being level headed about the situation. My bad.

There has been so much hypocrisy from Vic team supporters re TK that some just need to have it pointed out to them where their team have benefited from the exact same circumstances.

Apologies for my itchy trigger finger.

For all those Geelong fans praising Wells, can you honestly say that is drafting and trading since the 2011 flag has been up to scratch ?

No but he changed the set up so he’s more focused on list management and Troy selwood is focussed on talent ID. Since this change we’ve had a fair few wins in fact it’s been extraordinary the turn around in talent id when we haven’t had the higher picks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

For all those Geelong fans praising Wells, can you honestly say that is drafting and trading since the 2011 flag has been up to scratch ?

2011-15 was flat out terrible. Didn't get a single player worth mentioning.
2016-18 has been exceptional. Only one top 20 pick but found Kelly, Stewart, Clarke, Miers, Ratugolea, Henry, O'Connor & Parfitt.

You do realise that heaps of players give family reasons for requesting a trade which is why I asked you the question regarding players that nominated Carlton.

Some players even do it twice like Beams.

Traded Tim Kelly [traded with #57 and future 3rd to West Coast for #14, #24, #33 and future 1st]