TOA's Phantom Draft

NorthBhoy said:
Looks to have a good opposite side. Doesn't seem to be much of a coward either. He has Daks covered so far
You're still sooking about Hale! :p

If Thomas is gutsy like you say, then that might be an indication he might be able to move into the middle.

NorthBhoy said:
Should he have done this by now?
Was uber-fit last year before his knee stuffed up his year. He's had limited opportunites to date, as Bucks, Burns and Licuria kinda made a handy combo.

NorthBhoy said:
Fair call. As I said I have seen him once. It is a strange thing really. You see a bloke that good around the sticks and you start doubting him. FP's curse I 'spose.
I've only seen him once too and I am nervous about the rumour of us interested with #5. I'm also concerned about inflating a player's worth based on one game (I doubt teams would be that dumb). Like I said though, I doubt we'd be looking at taking a specialist FP that high. Neither would the Dawks. Must both be thinking midfield potential.

You're still sooking about Hale! :p

You lost that one and you know it!!!!

If Thomas is gutsy like you say, then that might be an indication he might be able to move into the middle.

Not gutsy, just has a little bit of pep. He took a genuine contested mark in the final that a soft FP doesn't take.

Was uber-fit last year before his knee stuffed up his year. He's had limited opportunites to date, as Bucks, Burns and Licuria kinda made a handy combo

Hmmm. That group is old and workmanlike (save the obvious. Well, he is old but you know what I mean..) and I am sure that it would be an MM fantasy to add some genuine polish to that group through Didak if he thought he was up to it. Does it make sense to him? Alot of blokes look to have the skills and baffle most as to why they don't remove themselves from a stale, specific and limited position but they just don't have the brain for it. He is a born goal sneak.

I've only seen him once too and I am nervous about the rumour of us interested with #5. I'm also concerned about inflating a player's worth based on one game (I doubt teams would be that dumb). Like I said though, I doubt we'd be looking at taking a specialist FP that high. Neither would the Dawks. Must both be thinking midfield potential

Must be, but it is a risk. FP's are gettable after pick 50.

After Laidley's efforts this year, inventing interest in the draft is becoming quite difficult.

Dale Thomas does not have "midfield potential" - he has midfield ability. There are no skills to play in the midfield that he lacks; he can play in the midfield already.

What he lacks is the stamina to play full time in the midfield, but he could already spend half a game playing as a pure midfielder.

Essentially, if Thomas can build up his motor (something I'm actually not worried about, because Collingwood has tended to get players pretty good in terms of stamina - Jason Cloke won our 3km :O ) then he'll be a midfielder.

However, even if he never becomes a full time midfielder, players like Shannon Grant and Nathan Brown don't play full time in the midfield either, and I think people would be willing to use the #5 pick on a player like that.

It's not like if he doesn't become a centre square midfielder that he'll be restricted to never being anything more than a goalsneak.

Hmmm...I am tempted to move Kennedy to 3 but I think that would change the pies pick. I dont think the pies will want Ryder at 5, they would prefer a midfielder (this is where the Thomas rumour comes in).

NorthBhoy said:
I am sure that it would be an MM fantasy to add some genuine polish to that group through Didak if he thought he was up to it. Does it make sense to him? Alot of blokes look to have the skills and baffle most as to why they don't remove themselves from a stale, specific and limited position but they just don't have the brain for it. He is a born goal sneak.
Didak was moved into the midfield late in 2004 and he was having 20+ possession games, kicking goals, and generally being pretty damaging through there before breaking his jaw.

Then, playing in the International Rules series, he hurt his knee, which restricted him to a forward role this season.

He will be played in the midfield, and he will excel doing it. As has already been said, Alan Didak was playing in the midfield for Port Adelaide in the SANFL, so it's not like he "just don't have the brain for it", as you say.

theorangeapple said:
Hmmm...I am tempted to move Kennedy to 3 but I think that would change the pies pick. I dont think the pies will want Ryder at 5, they would prefer a midfielder (this is where the Thomas rumour comes in).
I've actually got Kennedy down at #6 because of his injury, with Ryder at #3 and Hurn at #4. Just to give you a little perspective :)

I'm not sure where the Pies will go at #5, but I get the feeling it'll be a mid, with Thomas and Pfeiffer the most likely, IMO.

vinnie_vegas69 said:

Essentially, if Thomas can build up his motor (something I'm actually not worried about, because Collingwood has tended to get players pretty good in terms of stamina - Jason Cloke won our 3km :O ) then he'll be a midfielder.

Anthony Rocca?

Agree with Vinnie that Thomas has midfield ability already.

Don't be fooled by his great Grand Final forward role, Thomas has played in midfield this year and excelled. Has played at most half a game on the ball but EVERYTIME he went into the middle he was a class above - his ability to get the clearances was second to none in the TAC in my opinion.
His main strength his is evasiveness in close - able to weave through an opposistion pack and spot up a forward with ease. He is not afraid to win the hardball himself but usually due to his great reading of stoppages his gets were 'easy' and he just had to find space to run.

As good a small forward as he is I have been more impressed with his midfield stints.

True, he don't have the size or stamina to step up to AFL midfield straightaway but in time will.

Also of note is that he had an interrupted pre-season with injury (can't recall what exactly) which meant he was behind the eight-ball trying to get a full time midfield gig this year. This fact also explains why his second half (including u18 nationals) was a lot better than his first half of season.

Not privy to any rumours but think a top 5 ranking ain't unjust for Thomas.

theorangeapple said:

Can I stress that I have not seen much of these guys play first hand. These are based more on what I have heard and what I think clubs will draft based on draft history and general trends.

Then what's the point?

windsock said:
Then what's the point?

Because I know and have read alot about the players and have considered club needs and preferences. This is a phantom draft not a ranking exercise. I could not tell you who I think is the best player from the draft however it seems Murphy is sure set to go #1. Use the same method for the rest of the picks. I dont think Matt Burgan (who does the AFL one) would have seen anymore of the players than me.

And, I have abit of spare time now uni has finished :thumbsu:

well done orange apple your contributions to the draft board have been great, sometimes not always agreeing with me but its always gauranteed that i will be clicking on any thread with orange apple in it. By the way great phantom draft. (hopefully as many wa boys are drafted as possible)

theorangeapple said:
Well it seems Footyman has just got the same info as I did re Thomas. I have heard he is almost certain to go to the Pies or Hawks at 5/6.

So for the record, I didnt just follow footydraft :mad:

This is one rumour I really hope is true.Will LMAO.

Good effort btw TOA.I reckon thats the closest one I've seen to how it'll actually turn out.

Personally I'd have Riscbeith,Varcoe and Mckinley alot earlier and Bower,Dempsey and Pfieffer a fair bit later but thats only personal opinion rather than what I think clubs will do.

I'm one who really rates Spangher too but I seem to be in an ever decreasing minority in that regard.

Lingsface said:
well done orange apple your contributions to the draft board have been great, sometimes not always agreeing with me but its always gauranteed that i will be clicking on any thread with orange apple in it. By the way great phantom draft. (hopefully as many wa boys are drafted as possible)

Thanks mate :thumbsu: but I think you are overestimating me

TOA's Phantom Draft