Speculation Tom Barrass [UFA 2027] - Reportedly headed to Hawthorn

Yet forgot Thilthorpe wasn't playing...

Any way the point is the Hawks won't be a chance for a flag without a decent key defender.

Frost is average which is why you chased Barrass so hard.

Hawks won by 11 goals ffs.

Backline of

Hardwick Frost Sicily
scrimshaw Battle Impey with Weddle and Amon rotating through and Blanck coming back from a knee reconstruction + first round pick defender McCabe (197cm) and Serong as backup.

Hawks are not desperate for this deal.

Eagles on the other hand have the second worst list in the AFL and after the tigers take 4-6 first round picks this year it’s getting close to the worst. Tassie are 3 years from drafting kids.

Eagles would easily be my second favourite team in the AFL but eagles need picks in more than hawks need a key defender. Also find it crazy if you pay big for Baker rather than getting another kid but hey each to their own

Hawks won by 11 goals ffs.

Backline of

Hardwick Frost Sicily
scrimshaw Battle Impey with Weddle and Amon rotating through and Blanck coming back from a knee reconstruction + first round pick defender McCabe (197cm) and Serong as backup.

Hawks are not desperate for this deal.

Eagles on the other hand have the second worst list in the AFL and after the tigers take 4-6 first round picks this year it’s getting close to the worst. Tassie are 3 years from drafting kids.

Eagles would easily be my second favourite team in the AFL but eagles need picks in more than hawks need a key defender. Also find it crazy if you pay big for Baker rather than getting another kid but hey each to their own
They won by 11 goals with the big fella playing. It doesn't matter

Yet forgot Thilthorpe wasn't playing...

Any way the point is the Hawks won't be a chance for a flag without a decent key defender.

Frost is average which is why you chased Barrass so hard.
Quality post Kane.

You're so invested in trolling Hawthorn and the supporters that you can't even troll properly.

Don't hate the player, hate the game.

Our defence tore the Dogs forwards a new one in the Final. Darcy, Ugle Hagan, Naughton, Bont. I'm sure we'll do fine against the much vaunted Crows forwards led by bogan grandpa Tex, while adding Battle already, and you'd be lucky to score 5 goals all up with Barass there sheesh

Could you not come up with someone better than the Adelaide bloke who averages a goal a game?
Hes a 22 year old KPF who missed a heap of footy this year, generally played 3rd fiddle to Tex and Fogarty too.
Most KPFs dont kick that many goals in their first few years. Id say hes tracking just fine.

I didnt bring up Thilthorpe, someone else did, but hes still a good example of the type of forward you guys dont have a guy to man up

So looks like #14 + F1 for Barrass + F2 was never really a realistic option
Eagles should have just taken #14 for a player that clearly was not wanted

Matty Clarke has made a mess of his 1st trade
Like 6 and a 2nd rounder for a bog average rioli? And 6 is about to be traded away so you have no say in the trade?

Lol, then why are you trying to bring in 2 new key defenders if Frost is so awesome...

Since when is that the reason why trades are done?

We think can upgrade our depth down back. That’s why we are trying to get him. That doesn’t mean anything about him. He’s fantastic.

If we don’t, we’ll stick with the guy who got us to a semi this year - and could have gone further if he didn’t go down may injury for the last match.

Since when is that the reason why trades are done?

We think can upgrade our depth down back. That’s why we are trying to get him. That doesn’t mean anything about him. He’s fantastic.

If we don’t, we’ll stick with the guy who got us to a semi this year - and could have gone further if he didn’t go down may injury for the last match.
Why do you think the only positions you have been seriously targeting with FA & trades are 2 key defenders?

Won't be a good look if you fail to pony up after targeting Barrass hard during the year.

Why do you think the only positions you have been seriously targeting with FA & trades are 2 key defenders?

Won't be a good look if you fail to pony up after targeting Barrass hard during the year.

It’s not the only positions we’re targeting. It’s the only ones that are public. We’re also furiously in the market for big tall forwards and outside run, but we’ve had less success getting those players over the line - unlike Barrass and Battle.

There’s always this charade of “will they or won’t they” during trade week. It’ll get done. I just don’t expect we’ll end up giving 2 F1’s unless we get something back this year.

It’s not the only positions we’re targeting. It’s the only ones that are public. We’re also furiously in the market for big tall forwards and outside run, but we’ve had less success getting those players over the line - unlike Barrass and Battle.

There’s always this charade of “will they or won’t they” during trade week. It’ll get done. I just don’t expect we’ll end up giving 2 F1’s unless we get something back this year.
Weagles were not asking for 2x 1st's... but wanted more than just your 1st.
Now you don't have any this year...

Yes, you have publicly targeted 2 key defenders for very good reason as a priority.

It won't be a good look getting a player to agree to join you, then fail to trade them.

Jeremy Cameron isnt a big powerful forward, hes tall but relies on athletic ability more than strength. Not like the Thilthorpes of the world do
Haha. The fact that Tilthorpe is the example shows how much of a threat big lumbering KPFs are in today's game. TB will be great as an interceptor and gives us 2 more years than Frosty (we hope), but being roasted by power forwards is not a concern.

Jeremy Cameron isnt a big powerful forward, hes tall but relies on athletic ability more than strength. Not like the Thilthorpes of the world do

Another way Cameron is not like Thilthorpe is Cameron routinely kicks bags of goals.

King just got an 8 year contract with the Saints. Do we worry about them as well?

We did just fine with a single key back. Next year we will have 2 with Sicily, Battle and Weddle. The idea that we are desperately in need of Barrass is ridiculous. He will be a great addition but we still get by without him.

Speculation Tom Barrass [UFA 2027] - Reportedly headed to Hawthorn