Tom Hawkins best CHF of the last 25 years

Fair enough.

I don't have a massive problem with your list, just would have Tredrea higher and Brown shouldn't even be in there. Franklin being only 25 should get near the top two or three by careers end if he keeps playing well.
Yeah definitely. I wanted to put him higher but only refrained because he is 25. Will we in the top couple if he continues his current form.

He isn't above any of those players.

I haven't put the effort in to looking at it, but I reckon he'd be a fair comparison against the Lyon's, Stoneham's and Grant's of the respective lists.

Lyon and Stoneham yes, but Grant no. Grant was one of the top few players in the comp at one stage.

Thread title needs an apostrophe. When I first read it I though it was suggesting that Tom Hawkins was the best CHF of the past 25 years. This image came to mind:

resizer.aspx

Stupid. Grant almost won (should have) a Brownlow. Lyon and Stoneham on a similar pegging but different players and Lucas just below.

Lyon and Stoneham yes, but Grant no. Grant was one of the top few players in the comp at one stage.

Yeah true - Lucas was no slouch though. Stats/achievements would suggest they are relatively close; and my own eyes say Lucas was an exceptional player.

Lucas was an exceptional player but he doesn't belong in a list of top 10 CHFs over the last 25 years. He'd be top 15 or top 20 without too many issues.

Also where the hell is Pavlich in this thread.

I'm as biased as anybody but here goes...

1 Carey
2 Tredrea
3 Brereton
4 Pavlich
5 Franklin (assuming he counts as a CHF. He'll be 2nd on this list by the end of his career)
6 Riewoldt
7 Kernahan
8 Grant
9 Richardson
10 Brown/Hall

Thread title needs an apostrophe. When I first read it I though it was suggesting that Tom Hawkins was the best CHF of the past 25 years. This image came to mind:

resizer.aspx

Thought the same thing when I saw the thread.

This picture came to mind.

oxford+comma+-+strippers.jpg

Maxwells was fine IMO.

Mooney, Stoneham and Brownless are all plebs who shouldn't be anywhere near that list.
Stoneham was killing it before he snapped his leg. Very, very good player when up and going.

John Brown overrated - as is Grant, who wasnt much chop.

Gary Lyon, overrated.

Carey was not only the greatest CHF of the last 25 years,
but the Greatest Player Of All Time.

Yeah true - Lucas was no slouch though. Stats/achievements would suggest they are relatively close; and my own eyes say Lucas was an exceptional player.

Lucas was a very good player, but Grant was in another league. Grant was a 3 x All Australian, polled the most Brownlow votes one year and also won a couple of B&Fs. He kicked 554 goals, despite playing a very large chunk of his career as a CHB. Very underrated player.

Tredrea has been overrated massively in this thread. His best was exceptional but he didn't achieve a level of consistency (injuries to blame) to claim honours over Brown and Riewoldt.

I want to ignore this but I can't

The bolded indicates that you don't watch much footy or started watching in early 2006. Brown has had 3 genuinely dominant seasons. 2006, 2007 and 2009. He's been a victim of injury himself for a lot of the time, but to claim that he gets in ahead of Tredrea on consistency is absolute lunacy. Generally the argument for Brown is performance ceiling as opposed to consistency.

Tredrea was the undisputed best key forward in the comp from 2001-2005, with only Lloyd coming close. He won 4 AA guernseys in that time, being pipped by Pavlich in 2005 despite having had a better season statistically than both Pavlich and a couple of his previous AA seasons. Victim of his own standards. He wasn't even afforded a flank, pocket or bench spot that year despite Riewoldt and Pavlich dining out on them during the era where Tredrea was dominant.

Riewoldt you can definitely make a case for consistency for, but his ceiling isn't as high as the others mentioned and he isn't as much of a matchwinner IMO. Still a champion.

Lucas also won a couple of B&F's at CHB and CHF, he was also very stiff not to be AA. Lucas was always overshadowed by Hird and Lloyd but always stood up in their absence. Managed to kick 60 goals plus consecutively in 06, 07 with a midfield of Jason Johnson, Peverill and Jobe kicking it to him. Would have gotten close to 100 if playing for geelong and if he was the main target.

Bizarre that both lists lack Kernahan, who was arguably the best goalkicking CHF of the past 25 years.

If I had to do a list I'd go with:
  1. Carey
  2. Kernahan
  3. Brown
  4. Riewoldt
  5. Tredrea
  6. Franklin
  7. Hall
  8. Richardson
  9. Brereton
  10. Loewe
Brereton was ranked low since he only had a handful of good seasons in the past 25 years. He'd be a bit higher if it was for the last 30 years. Brown is probably where most people will have issues, I always rated Brown's absolute best to be better than the likes of Tredrea and Riewoldt. And I probably marked the latter two down for not being great kicks at goal. Buddy will finish higher but is only half-way through his career. By the end of it I think he'll rank second to Carey. Richardson and Loewe are probably handicapped a little by the fact that they never enjoyed team success but as far as I'm concerned that should be a consideration.

Lucas also won a couple of B&F's at CHB and CHF, he was also very stiff not to be AA. Lucas was always overshadowed by Hird and Lloyd but always stood up in their absence. Managed to kick 60 goals plus consecutively in 06, 07 with a midfield of Jason Johnson, Peverill and Jobe kicking it to him. Would have gotten close to 100 if playing for geelong and if he was the main target.

So you think Lucas, is a better player than a 3 x All Australian, 2 x B&F ( one in a premiership year ), 2 x Coleman medalist ( Lance Franklin, I'm talking about ). In your list, you had Lucas 4, Franklin 7. Franklin already has about 5 x the acheivements by 25 than Lucas had in his whole career. Buddys nowehere near finished yet either. Not too mention Franklin is statistically superior in every category. Franklin tackles more, wins more ball, kicks more goals, polls more brownlow votes, takes more contested marks etc etc etc etc etc. And he has just went past Lucas for goals kicked as well. You really think Lucas is 3 places higher than a player like that?

Sorry mate, nobody is buying it.

Lol at the Barry Stoneham inclusions.

Was barely the third best forward at Geelong during his 'prime'.

Yeah and Selwood was the third best midfielder in 09 when Geelong won the flag. Stupid comment when you have multiple elite players in one area. Was Kerr barely the 3rd best midfielder in 06 at the WCE?

When Kerr is included in a list of the top 10 midfielders of the past 25 years, i'll agree with you.

Stoneham was a fine player but doesn't belong anywhere near this list unless you're unbelievably biased or don't watch football besides Geelong games and then close your eyes when the other team gets the ball.

Kerr was easily the 3rd best midfielder at the Eagles - but the difference was that he was elite during that time. Three straight top three finishes in the Brownlow is testament to that.

Barry Stoneham had a long and distinguished career for Geelong. That's not disputed. But please don't throw the word 'elite' around as though Stoneham was one of the very best. He wasn't. Not even close to it.

Most of the names included in this thread could lay claim to being, at one stage or another, the most damaging forward in the game (if not, very close to it). Stoneham never reached these heights and as such wouldn't warrant inclusion on anyone's lists of the best CHFs of the past 25 years.

When someone comes up with a list of dodgy sounding illogical lists this one will rank in the top 1-3.

Loved his reason for Garry Lyon. I didn't see him play much but have watched highlights and he is a guy who loves Melbourne and plays with passion. Maybe not word for word there but along those lines.

Stewie Lowe is not getting as much love as he should.

Tom Hawkins best CHF of the last 25 years