Player Watch Top 3 'Breakout' Contenders from your Club.

1) Connor Blakely- Ability to be an absolute midfield bull and needs to fill Neales shoes.
2) Luke Ryan- Fantastic intercept defender
3) Adam Cerra- Showed many glimpses in his first year and expect his second to be large.
Honourable Mentions: Andrew Brayshaw, Sean Darcy, Brennan Cox

I don't think there is anyone on our list that appears to be heading for a "breakout" season at the moment. I would be surprised if any of our currently-listed players 23 years or younger will make great strides beyond standard improvement next season. Tyson Stengle was the one I had thought would break out for us, but he's gone to Adelaide. Dan Bulter is probably the only other one I can think of to be honest. Is a talented player.

Let's see who we draft and I may revisit this thread then.

1. Patrick Dangerfield - If he can breakout into his 2016 form he will be the best player in the comp without question.
2. Joel Selwood - If he can breakout and drag his side in a prelim like the old days, we should win a flag with Ablett and Danger added on top
3 Gary Ablett - Absolute superstar. If he can breakout to his top potential prepare to be very afraid.

1. Patrick Dangerfield - If he can breakout into his 2016 form he will be the best player in the comp without question.
2. Joel Selwood - If he can breakout and drag his side in a prelim like the old days, we should win a flag with Ablett and Danger added on top
3 Gary Ablett - Absolute superstar. If he can breakout to his top potential prepare to be very afraid.

This feels like Geelong thinking.... it is in Geelong's DNA.

Won't put them in any sort of order but...

De Goey - Has the potential to go from already a very good player to an elite level, sort of like what Grundy has done this year (he really went up a level).

Phillips - Has gone up a level virtually every season he has been on the list, I think he could maybe do what he was doing for the first half of last season (people had him as an AA contender around then) for the whole season in 2019, rather than dropping off a fair bit after then like he did this year after his injury.

Stephenson - I genuinely think this guy is a freak and has Judd-level potential so I could see him already becoming one of the competition's better players (say top 50-100 in the comp) in only his second season. Of course it's possible (touch wood) that he could have second-year blues. Hopefully not.
Sier is the dark horse here - built like a brick sh1thouse, hands like Greg Williams, great tackling and the ability to see a clear team mate from the middle of the pack and get it to him without him needing to break stride. Still needs another preseason to build up his tank as he was running short of go juice towards the end of most games.

1. Petracca - Think he will elevate himself to another level.
2. Weideman - Was very impressed with what I saw when he came back into the side in round 22. Expect him to play close to a full season.
3. Kolodjashnij - Talented ball user. Reckon he will thrive in a new setting and will complement our side well with his ball-use and run.
Weideman will be a gun I reckon

Big reason why you guys won’t care about losing Hogan

Sier - He's naturally big, so no need to go crazy with the weights, which means he can focus squarely in his tank. The work he did last preseason took him from obscure leftfield pick learning his craft in the VFL to a regular in a very good midfield. Beautiful handball in traffic and a booming 50m+ kick, he's really got everything he needs, bar the endurance, to be a top shelf mid. Hardly played any serious footy as a kid, which suggests the ceiling is pretty high.

Stephenson - won the Rising Star as a forward, but has barely scratched the surface of his potential. His pace and creativity makes him a natural mid/forward. Needs to start smashing milkshakes and BBQ chooks to get those extra kegs on.

Nathan Murphy - class. The kid is a lovely kick and has great hands above his head. The club won't rush him, so in reality it's 2020 where opposition supporters will really start to recognise him. But given that he had a taste of senior footy last season and looked far from out of place, I'm hoping he can make some major strides next season. Like his draft mate Stephenson, there are no concerns about him developing his endurance to an elite level, it's just about developing that frame to withstand the rigours of an AFL season and give him the strength he needs.

Other sides: Eric Hipwood - have watched him at the Gabba a few times and just can't take my eyes off the kid. He moves incredibly well for his height. Just needs to develop that 4 quarter consistency to supplement the flashes of brilliance and he could be a star.

Ed Richards - has gun written all over him. Given his pedigree it's a damn shame we couldn't bring him home to Collingwood but that could never happen at pick 6 with Stephenson on the table. He's going to be a star for the Doggies.

Weideman will be a gun I reckon

Big reason why you guys won’t care about losing Hogan
Yeah I'm confident Weideman will be a quality key forward for us in the years to come. But, I'm happy with the Hogan trade as it allowed us to get May, a high quality key defender who will further improve our defence. I'm of the opinion our premiership chances improve with May in our side. For me, we need a high quality key defender like May more than we need Hogan up forward. The late emergence of Weideman this year as well as Tom McDonald's proven performances up forward also has me confident that Hogan won't be much of a loss.

Eric Hipwood - have watched him at the Gabba a few times and just can't take my eyes off the kid. He moves incredibly well for his height. Just needs to develop that 4 quarter consistency to supplement the flashes of brilliance and he could be a star.

:thumbsu:
Might be a season or two away from breaking out, another 2015 (academy) draftee, just turned 22, 52 games but 'a long streak of misery' @ 203cm.

How fast Eric develops may be absolutely reflected by the Lions on field performance in 2019.

Noah Balta
Ryan Garthwaite
Insert first round draft pick here ........
Not sold on any of Markov, Menadue, Bolton or Drummond.
Maybe I can pick Corey Ellis for a fourth year as a breakout stra ... oh wait ;(

For Gold Coast

Brayden Fiorini: 2nd game ever pulled out 32 disposals, 2.1 and 12 tackles against a finals bound Port Adelaide. Averaged 24 disposals this year not including round 6 when he got injured or round 19 which was his first game back. If he's injury free he'll be our best mid next year. Managed 6 brownlow votes in 10 games this year too.

Peter Wright: calf complaint held him back for a good 12 weeks this year and couldn’t get onto the field until after the bye round - showed in the past he could tear oppostion apart like his 20 disposal, 12 mark 5.1 game against brisbane as a 19 year old. Kicked a goal in all bar 3 games in 2017, should bounce back as our no.1 key forward next year provided he's injury free.

Will Brodie: Been developed patiently and finally got a good crack second half of this season. Was leading possession winner in our win against Sydney with the most clearances that game. averaged the 7th most centre clearances of any player in the competition in 8 games this year, and that includes round 21 where he was taken off at Qtr time with a sore hamstring. Will be our starting Centre next year. Good fantasy cash cow option too btw.

Noteable other options: Ben Ainsworth, Jack Bowes, Charlie Ballard, Jack Martin, Touk Miller, Callum Ah Chee

He's going to be my Fantasy football secret weapon next year.

If he stays injury free he’ll go big next year imo. Averaged about 90 SuperCoach points and 95 fantasy points in the games that weren’t injury effected. Will start in the middle most games too

Oh yeah, and he has the magnificent ability to rip out a really big score. Like 150+

Debuted 2015, now 70 games including 24 in 2019: Liam Duggan

Youngest in his draft year, turns 22 in December, 2019, will see his steady climb up the rankings at the Eagles - well capable of elite status in the next few years.

He’s already out, great solid player. Yes agreed he will get better but he has most definitely already broken out.

Wood - he gets put up in these threads every year, but if his body allows him a decent run at it, look out!

Ahern - another full pre season to build his tank and he'll kill it next year.

Larkey - won the VFL goal kicking and should hopefully come in to replace Waite and help Brown in the F50.

Player Watch Top 3 'Breakout' Contenders from your Club.