List Mgmt. Trade and F/A 2020 Cont’d

You realise we need points for Daicos next year right?

He’s going Top 3
You realise we have two second rounders, a third and fourth rounder next year as well, right? And a discount on the points worth that a Daicos bid comes at

As inept as you might feel the list management area is, they aren't letting 2021 r1 pick get eaten by Daicos bid

That's a bit rich mate. Alot of us, like myself, let the club keep their membership money through the "covid" season. I myself let the club keep two lots of membership fees.
Alot of us are angry on here, because the club got itself into sich a mismanaged position of the salary cap, that they had to salary dump a Rising star winner just 2 years ago, a 27 year old mid who was the highest disposal winner of the competition this season, and a regular senior player for a fourth round pick. Not only was the trading ordinary, but hearing how Stephenson was treated was disgraceful.
If your expecting glowing endorsements of our trade period, then your deluded like Ned Guy.
Yes because what I wrote was a glowing endorsement of our trade period.

I think I made it clear that I was very disappointed and I signed the petition that’s been posted in another thread. I also let the club keep two lots of membership fees through through the COVID season. All I was saying was that I have a different opinion on the notion of walking away when things aren’t rosy at the club. I was raised always to stay until the final siren no matter how bad the result is and that’s how I view the off-field stuff too. And I felt with so many declaring that they are walking away, that I needed to point out my different view on the subject.

I don’t believe I deserved to be attacked for my views and I don’t appreciate it.

feel for bucks... not his fault. he would do a better job at managing this list

actually feel for Ned as well... guy has had his career ended today, and should get close counselling for what he is already & will have to deal with in the media, from fans & the industry, forever....

I honestly think the club would be doing everyone a service if they released a statement blaming successive regimes of football department/list management. Throw Hine, Gubby, Guy, Walsh etc. under the bus, but at the same time spread the blame and take the heat off any single one of them. It would help the club to look 'transparent' while still scapegoating and blame shifting.

And at least for Ned Guy, it would give him some official backup to say 'look, this really isn't all my fault'.

Not even media has mentioned this but what role has Beams played in this fire sale?

I don’t want to give Ned any credit because if he’s done this he’s probably done it by accident.

But are we trying to put all of Beams payout into next years salary cap when it’ll likely still have a 10-20% covid discount?

I can’t believe we have to give him a cent, you have a contract that’s based on you fulfilling your end, such as playing or being in a condition to play. If he isn’t able to play or be in condition to play why do we have to pay him?

What a waste.

124634440_3676012742465338_2087958956927289623_o.jpg

2014 - JDG & Moore
2013 - Freeman & schaz
2012 - Grundy, Kennedy, broomhead
2011 - none
2010 - none
2009 - none
2008 - Sidebottom

I thought I’ll rub some salt into our wounds.

We currently have 4 first round picks from the 2010’s. IQ, Grundy, Moore, De Goey.

Supporting a club does not require you support the management of the club .. or even the individual players. The club is an entity separate from the individuals. If certain individuals are stuffing up the club.. you are not being a good supporter by supporting them. I find it surprising that you and seemingly so many others don't grasp this basic concept.

I do understand the distinction between 'support' and support...

The point I'm making is that supporting a football team leaves you vulnerable to the intransigence and incompetence of whatever assemblage of humanity happens to be responsible for that team at any given moment.

I might hate most individuals associated with the CFC, but being a Collingwood supporter keeps me hostage.

Guy seems like a flog.

So what I have gathered is we arent rebuilding, but 'replenishing our list' for a flag tilt next season.

The way Guy has gone about this is trading Phillips, Treloar, Stephenson and Bosenavulagi, and he believes that picks 17 and 20 will end up having more impact than these blokes NEXT YEAR?

Even if we draft the next Fyfe and Martin with these picks, they arent going to better our chances next season compared to if we had those 4 blokes mentioned.

Or are we clearing space and spending 95% this year so we can attract someone next off season and pay 105%?

If we have 500k spare next year forward load a contract like De Goey, if he’s 2yrs at 1.6m, pay him 1.1m of that next year.

Collingwood list management hard at work:

View attachment 1010336
Lol.

and they got the tick from Ed and Bucks, the board who were supposedly providing the over-sight.

Yay it's top down incompetence at the pies again... To be fair to Ed though, he was probably a bit distracted by the shiny crystal lamp he had on his desk this year.

I think as a fan of the NBA, i’ve grown to take this kind of stuff pretty lightly.

Get used to it folks. Contracts aren’t going to get any more meaningful, clubs aren’t going to become less ruthless, and salary dumps are a thing.

You think not calling a guy immediately to tell them they’re in trade talks is bad.

A lot of guys in the NBA don’t even find out from their manager - they find out from Twitter or Instagram, and have to move to a new City without giving their consent. One player was traded literally while he was sitting on the bench playing for the team that traded him.

For better or for worse, this is 2020, and thats one the benchmark leagues of world sport.

I wish it would be like that in AFL, we’d have pick 5 from GC for Treloar instead of the nothing we got for him.

You know the worst part about this with Treloar?

He’s gonna join a midfield that already has Dunks, Bont, Macrae, Baz, Hunter and Libba. Holy smokes that is frightening.
They're going to push next season.

Stef Martin in to help English, so he doesn't get monstered all the time.
Libba, Bont, Dunks and Smith at stoppages.
Libba, Dunks and Bont will all rest forward.
Treloar and Hunter on the wings.
Dangerous.

Hope Adz wins a flag with them

This is how port replenished their list.

2018 trade period.

PORT ADELAIDE

Who left: Jasper Pittard (North Melbourne), Jared Polec (North Melbourne), Chad Wingard (Hawthorn), Jack Hombsch (Gold Coast Suns)

Who arrived: Scott Lycett (West Coast), Sam Mayes (Brisbane Lions), Ryan Burton (Hawthorn)

Draft Picks (at the time of trade deadline): 5 (via Mayes trade), 10, 15 (via Wingard and Burton trade), 85

Rozee, Butters, Dursumma.

To clear it up for you...

The fish rots from the head is a saying thats been around for 100 years.

The fish smells from the head saying has been around since your post 10 minutes ago! (You should back away quietly)

P.s. you're youngster xbox call about me is ignorant at best... (I still remember the launch of the commodore 64).
I appreciate your need and the time you took to correct me.
Rots or Smells call it what you will? Heads have to roll Maguire Buckley and co, we had a shit trade period, and if you heard Ned Guy on fox footy you would fuming even more.
Continue the good work shark, please pull me up if i make any other mistakes

Guy seems like a flog.

So what I have gathered is we arent rebuilding, but 'replenishing our list' for a flag tilt next season.

The way Guy has gone about this is trading Phillips, Treloar, Stephenson and Bosenavulagi, and he believes that picks 17 and 20 will end up having more impact than these blokes NEXT YEAR?

Even if we draft the next Fyfe and Martin with these picks, they arent going to better our chances next season compared to if we had those 4 blokes mentioned.
Yes, that was the biggest load of crap I have ever heard. It was plainly ridiculous and the three blokes on Fox, especially King saw right through it.