Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 2 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Specialises in coming up with limericks during team meetings
Yes, he recently got a one-match in-house suspension for coming out with this one:

These meetings they sure ain't the ticket
I'm not really sure I can stick it
These tactics and ruses
They just induce snoozes
Let's just get the footy and kick it.

Jake Carlisle is up for grabs. If his body checks out he would slot in nicely. I doubt it would be huge dollars or high pick.

I like it.
Yep, I reckon we could pick him up for a packet of chips and a can of ... oh wait ... how about Pepsi?

Granted the wage for AFL players have gone up in the past 5 years so I’ll take it into account.

On output Martin shouldn’t be given a deal any bigger than what Crameri or Trengrove got.

Think they got 450k/3y so I wouldn’t offer any more than 500-525k/3y.

This 600k + territory is reserved for your best 6-7 players. Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Naughton, JJ, Hunter etc. No way Martin should be earning the same.

Other big names targets we have been looking at all have an elite trait. Bruce (Contested Marking), Bruce (Intercepting), AMT (pressure).

Martin is not genuinely elite in any facet. He’s just good but mostly average in all facets. His ability to jump and fly for the mark is good/great, but he does it rarely. Disposal efficiency is poor this year and areas that he has done well at this year (tackling, contested ball) we already have well covered.

Just don’t see the need in comparison to Bruce/Keath/AMT.

Martin will shock you all when he is being put in a good side getting consistant supply from midfield and not being played as an inside mid. Reckon he would kick 40 goals for us next year

FWIW im not saying that this is out of the realms of possibility. Just saying his value based on output is not worth the 700k + (and first round) value thats being floated around.

To me it's 500k at 3 years (pick 24-30).

I mean if clubs really do pay more for potential (at 24-25 years old) we should have been asking for way more than pick 45 for liam jones.

My top priorities from those that have been linked to us are Bruce, Keath and either Smith or Martin, with a view to lining up like this:

FB: Crozier - Naughton - Wood
HB: Johannisen - Keath - Daniel
C: I. Smith - Bontempelli - Hunter
HF: Lloyd - Schache - Dale
FF: McLean - Bruce - Lipinski

R: English - Dunkley - Macrae

I: B. Smith - Duryea - Suckling - one of Libba/Young/West/Cordy/Trengove/Richards etc

I think this is an extraordinarily dangerous side and as good a structure as we've had in quite some time.

Like everyone else, I would prefer to see Naughton developed as a forward. With that said, however, Naughton will be a star no matter where we play him, and I contend that having Naughton in the backline is the quickest route to possessing a damaging spine, particularly if the Bruce rumours are to be believed.

As an aside, I don't think we should hesitate to float or make moves on guys we might prefer to stick with us but have no obvious pathway into the team if it helps us acquire our targets. I'm talking about the likes of Williams and Wallis here. I think you could argue whether Libba fits here as well but I wouldn't dare open that can of worms (along with a couple of others). :rainbow:

The other interesting one is McLean. I think he's at risk, particularly if one or more of West/Cavarra/Greene become realistic options in the forward line - but that's a problem for another day.

At any rate, my point is that I think we're faced with an opportunity to put ourselves in a terrific position if you buy that we're in with a chance for these players. If that means moving first round picks or making hard calls on good players that don't quite fit in, I don't think we should be against that.

Think the 700k would be too excessive also but I can see him taking under that and coming in and being a leader in the indigenous community which is something that Gordon stated they wanted. Look at his stats he is still averaging 20 possies and a goal a game in a very poor side

I'd be hesitant to sign up either Martin or AMT on anything over 350k when we have Fergus Greene ready to be unleashed next year and demanding big bucks soon.
No one is over pumping up Greene. The Greene crowd are just saying he's a decent prospect and worth not forgetting about.
He has good footy smarts and is someone we can work with,similar to Dale and Lipinski in a sense.

Greene is a chance though to be putting some serious pressure on your mate McLean in the future. No guarantee but sensible hopes for Greene are still fair.

My top priorities from those that have been linked to us are Bruce, Keath and either Smith or Martin, with a view to lining up like this:

I: B. Smith - Duryea - Suckling - one of Libba/Young/West/Cordy/Trengove/Richards etc

I think this is an extraordinarily dangerous side and as good a structure as we've had in quite some time.

Like everyone else, I would prefer to see Naughton developed as a forward. With that said, however, Naughton will be a star no matter where we play him, and I contend that having Naughton in the backline is the quickest route to possessing a damaging spine, particularly if the Bruce rumours are to be believed.

As an aside, I don't think we should hesitate to float or make moves on guys we might prefer to stick with us but have no obvious pathway into the team if it helps us acquire our targets. I'm talking about the likes of Williams and Wallis here. I think you could argue whether Libba fits here as well but I wouldn't dare open that can of worms (along with a couple of others). :rainbow:

The other interesting one is McLean. I think he's at risk, particularly if one or more of West/Cavarra/Greene become realistic options in the forward line - but that's a problem for another day.

At any rate, my point is that I think we're faced with an opportunity to put ourselves in a terrific position if you buy that we're in with a chance for these players. If that means moving first round picks or making hard calls on good players that don't quite fit in, I don't think we should be against that.
I like this line of thinking. Noting also that if we DO want to play Naughton forward (or if there are injuries to a KPF) then we always have Young, Cordy and Trengove who can slot into the defence.

I'd slightly prefer Martin over I.Smith but he'd cost more. I'd also sneak Dickson in there somewhere, for 2020 at least.

Another thing to like about it is that only Wood, I.Smith, Dickson, Lloyd and Suckling are likely to finish up within 2 years (Wood and Lloyd could conceivably go a bit longer). All are players we would have reasonable succession plans for so the transition should be pretty seamless.

Bruce, Keath and Smith for me too please.

Naughton to remain forward though. Im impressed with Young but even then Keath, Young and Naughton are all interceptors. I think you need a lock down KPD like Trengrove. Certainly to play on the Hawkins, Lynch, Ruck sized forwards which 90% of teams have. Wood/Crozier also great interceptors.

FB: Crozier - Trengrove/Young - Wood
HF: Lloyd - Naughton - Mclean
FF: Dale - Bruce - Schache

I: B. Smith - Duryea - Suckling - Lipinksi

Emg
Young/Trengrove, Libba, Richards

With Bruce possibly taking the number 1 defender Naughton could kick 50 goals.

Something that needs to be taken in account for players that are linked to us.

Is don't compare their overall season since Bevo has the ability to unlock potential in players that appeared to be on their way out or just a one trick poney

Lewy is far from being physically ready. He’s got pretty chunky thighs and a bit of a duck walk about him.

What he is doing now is as an underdeveloped KPD is extraordinary, will be a gun.
I’ve said it before. Has the perfect frame to be a beast with a couple more preseasons under his belt....

Agree, I would play Naughton back if we landed Bruce (I’m not mad on the idea of Bruce by the way).

If Naughton played back, I legitimately think these 2 things are in play:

1. He breaks the all time record for contested marks in a season.

2. He polls 20 Brownlow votes.

He’s the best contested mark in the comp, playing as a forward. Imagine how many he’d gobble up going into contests where no ones trying to spoil.

As I’ve mentioned, I’m not convinced his goal-kicking will ever be competent. His field kicking was solid in defence last year though.