Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 4 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Really? I’d rather quit my job than agree to trades like that so publicly.

And to be quite frank, if they’d had foresight they’d have been shopping the players all year and doing it so there was interest now.
hate to get into boring sh.t but governance is about checks and balances. The way our corporate laws work directors need to have a governanice process. Basically a list manager would have a certain level of authority and big 5 year contracts or re negotiations of existing contracts would need to be signed off

no way Eddie can blame some underling sh...kicker for this although we know he will

The only sympathy I have with the pies is that the system here is flawed. Clubs should be able to trade players to any other club like in most US sports given there is now free agency.

In this alternative universe, Collingwood might get a pick and a young player on a controlled salary back from e.g. Gold Coast and it doesn’t look too bad.

Best 22? Would swap Jamarra for Vanders if JUH is way off the pace.

B: Williams, Cordy, Wood
HB: Daniel, Keath, Crozier
C: Hunter, Bont, Treloar
Foll: Martin, Macrae, Libba
HF: JJ, Naughton, Lipinski
F: Wallis, Bruce, Jamarra
Int: B. Smith, English, Dunkley, Mclean

Emg: Vandermeer, Young, Lloyd, West

Problem the Pies had was that every club knew that they'd physically have to do their trades. They had no other options.

If it was inevitable that they were always going to re-sign Moore and De Goey, couldn't they have done it after the trades? Given themselves some flexibility that they could have taken to the trade table.

Not to mention the Grundy re-signing.

Whilst their cap is pretty screwed, they're not the first team in history that applies to.

GWS have had their salary cap issues virtually every year since the AFL decided to wind in their concessions, that's like every off-season in the last 6 years, but they haven't found themselves in as much as a bind as the Pies have here.

Because 4 hours ago he wanted to leave the club.
Yeah but I'm telling you all that it was for financial reasons mainly and the playing group and coaching group knew it. That's why they had no trouble asking for those two early pics. Because they knew if it went either way it would be win.

Tried to piece together how pies got to where they were.

Dom Sheed misses that goal and maybe things play differently.

But:-

- Moore, Dr Goey Grundy all chasing bigger longer contracts.
- Beams early retirement
- Langdon's sudden decline
- J Stephenson rising star getting paid
- Tom Phillips excellent year (massive meters gained) getting paid
- Treloar consistently getting back ended because of all of the above
- Covid 19

And that's how you get their current predicament. Probably should've been closer to a flag than the one grand final appearance but hey. That's what happens when you go all in.

I reckon a fire sale was always on the cards given their obligations next year also in relation to father sons. Corona probably exacerbated it.

On VOG-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

If there’s a second mini-trade period and dodoro offers up 2 firsts for Dunkley, Power has to pull the trigger on that.

Yep i'm with you on that. I still really want their future 1st, potential top 3-5 pick in a supposedly loaded draft. Think another King, Rozee, Bailey Smith etc plus another pick to play with or trade for a position we need help in.

Yeah but isn't there accountability for the mods if they do it when somebody comments that isn't derogatory or smug?

Moderator complaints go via the contact us only. Admin will review from there.

That offer from Essendon should have told Dunkley that they really weren’t that serious about getting him. I doubt he goes through that again next year with Essendon.
I think Liam Pickering will think twice before he attempts to work with Dodo next time. He's an agent and will always cave to the $$ but was a pretty shitty move from Dodo to ask for Dunkley to request a trade and then fail to cough up the draft picks (which he had in abundance) to get it done.

It’s the story of how one man’s Maccas addiction had outward ripples damaging everyone around him, his organisation, his family, his friends, terrible art. For years to come!

The Beams Tragedy.

I need a Shakespearean version

Absolutely loved what Power did, I am so pumped with what we did today.

But,

I love Dunkley, he was one of my favourite players before this trade period, but am I the only one who kind of wishes he did get to Essendon? I think Power did the right thing because the Bombers offer wasn't what we wanted, but I just wish we had the clean break of a guy who didn't want to be here anymore. We now have to juggle 7 quality mids into 3-4 spots (too many quality mids isn't the worst thing on earth of course, but I would rather have an extra quality player in a position we need) and likely have a lot of awkward interviews and articles with Dunkley all season until next trade period.

We definitely did the right thing, but I kind of wish Essendon just offered us the two firsts, we sold high on Dunks and could move forward with the Adam Treloar era and just had guys here who we knew wanted to be here etc. Am I crazy?
7 quality mids might mean a new footy strategy from Bevo. he might just turn them into 7 quality rucks. bonty rucks, libra rucks, dunks rucks, Treloar rucks, Macrae rucks, et al rucks.... the best ruck midfield in the history of afl... and a new Bevo tactic is born. fu@k the third man rule.:)

Ah well, as my old man used to tell me; today's disappointment is tomorrow's opportunity. Dunkley wouldn't have cured our club of what ails us (he would have definately been a step in the right direction though!), I'm looking forward to seeing a proper rebuild and a new journey. Footballs an emotional business, that's what makes it great IMO. At the end of the day we as supporters of any club want to see success and have a hope for the future.

Alas, your board isn't the place for my musings. Be well and may the road rise to meet you.

Fair enough iPhone. We all stick to our own through thick and thin and admire you for that.

You appreciate, I hope, that over the years some of your supporters have condescendingly painted our club as a poor club, a losers' club, a club to be laughed at. Obviously we haven't liked it and aren't exactly ultra sympathetic to your club's plight.