Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

They’re well placed sure but box seat not really neither team has any leverage over the other here hence why it’s one that will be don’t fairly easily with the main focus being around them getting points and us getting early picks

Both teams have a lot to gain, so it should get done. We have more to lose if it doesn't though. If Brisbane miss out on Dunkley, that would suck, but they still get the probable No 1 pick for this year and another 1st round midfield talent plus they would then have plenty of points to pay for them.

I'm a bit concerned the loss of Dunkley will expose the midfield a bit defensively too.
Yeah that's the worry. But end of the day we need the whole midfield to defend, hopefully Dunks leaving triggers them all to be defensively accountable! I swear we should make Bailey Smith tag the oppo's best mid. Literally force him to defend (which he has the pace and aggression to do well). I bet he'd still end up with 30 of his own.

I posted it earlier. He did those things absolutely. But he's a slow, blunt instrument, if he didn't do those things he wouldn't be a seen as a good player.

He didn't lay shepherds or blocks for teammates and he rarely gave the ball off to teammates in better positions preferring to blind kick or look for Treloar. Watch Libba or Bont as an example of someone who does this, often forgoing bigger numbers for the betterment of the team.

Then there's the refusal to play roles that were better for the team either forward or pinch hitting in the ruck. Whatever your feelings on these moves Bont and Macrae do so with minimal fuss. When it was Dunkley he's playing it out in the media.

These are not the actions of a player with a team/club mindset. Now that's fine, there's all types and we certainly benefited from his play over the years but to say he gave his all for the club is not true. He gave his all for himself.
i wont miss his bomb kicks to no one from the back of the stoppage, thats for sure

Some of the comments on here about Dunkley are embarrassing and quite frankly reek of people having a good ole sook.

The guy gave his absolute all in all aspects of the game and also off the field. If you doubt this and are currently sitting there behind your keyboard munching on some Doritos and downing a Mountain Dew then you need to have a good look at yourself.

Its a professional league and players move on. Disappointing but you need to look forward.

nothing against him… but the club should’ve traded him to Essendon to begin with. Any player drafted would have a few seasons under his belt and maybe even Lipinski would still be here.

I made the comment on the game day thread at the time but his miss 35m out in front (didn't make distance) against Hawks a few weeks ago sums it up.

Carey woulda kicked it (with it without the gear )

I can't see us getting two firsts. I reckon it'll just be next years first and that's best case scenario.

If it was just about accepting what the nominated club thinks is best then there would be more players walking into the pre season draft and hoping for the best.

Per the clubs statement they will work through options, I wouldn’t be surprised if this ends up picks plus a player ie a third club gets involved

Dunkley is worth what the market are willing to pay for like players

While there are always anomalies like salary dumps etc (ie Treloar to us) compatible out of contract trades are
- Cerra to Carlton for pick 6 plus a third rounder. Dunkley is more accomplished than Cerra

- Tim Kelly and. a 3rd rounder for picks 14, 24, 37 plus future 1st
so 2 late firsts a second and 3rd rounder with a later 3rd back

I would image if Brissy cannot negotiate a top 10 pick for us from another club then Dunkley value should be minimum 2 x first rounders in the 11 to 18 range (one 2022 and one 2023) plus another 2nd or 3rd (most likely futures given Brissy needing points)

Yeah that's the worry. But end of the day we need the whole midfield to defend, hopefully Dunks leaving triggers them all to be defensively accountable! I swear we should make Bailey Smith tag the oppo's best mid. Literally force him to defend (which he has the pace and aggression to do well). I bet he'd still end up with 30 of his own.
I still remember BMac dropping Macrae after getting 30+ Multiple weeks in a row. I’d of done the same thing to Smith at the back end of this year for his lack of accountability and ball use.

Some of the comments on here about Dunkley are embarrassing and quite frankly reek of people having a good ole sook.

The guy gave his absolute all in all aspects of the game and also off the field. If you doubt this and are currently sitting there behind your keyboard munching on some Doritos and downing a Mountain Dew then you need to have a good look at yourself.

Its a professional league and players move on. Disappointing but you need to look forward.

He gave his all, no question (mainly for himself, oh, and for Treloar).

Anyway, on we go.

I respect him choosing to leave - we are a rabble and I would f*cking hate playing footy for Bevo. He is a good player who will be a better player with a permanent midfield role and no BS rucking duties. Hopefully him leaving can bring about some change but I fear we are stuck with Bevo and his mad scientist ways in the medium term.

I just can't see us trading in high quality defenders. I would prefer us use our picks on talented kids so they all come through together.

I'm a bit concerned the loss of Dunkley will expose the midfield a bit defensively too.

That’s on us. If any mid doesn’t wanna defend, there’s the door.

Absolutely but I am concerned due to our poor coaching department. Any team with a midfield of Bont, Macrae & Libba shouldn’t be poor defensively.

Baz is still very young in his career. He needs a coaching mentor to improve the defensive side of his game but unfortunately we’re lacking that at the moment.

Absolutely but I am concerned due to our poor coaching department. Any team with a midfield of Bont, Macrae & Libba shouldn’t be poor defensively.

Baz is still very young in his career. He needs a coaching mentor to improve the defensive side of his game but unfortunately we’re lacking that at the moment.
Maybe hiring someone like Joel Corey could assist in that area. I wonder what he's up to

Hey I can chew gum and walk at the same time. So I’ll dump on Dunkley and Look Forward. Problem solved!!!