Trade/Draft/Delist

Draft:
Henderson (Geelong Falcons)
will need another key forward to support Newton and replace the soon-to-retire Neitz.

Gissa getting behind his GGS buddy. Nah, i would really like to get Henderson down here but we don't have the right pick for him. 4 could be too high.

If you think these trades are unacceptable, mind asking for your opinion/s on point 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 trade worth please?
1)Even taking into account experience, Miller is worth around pick 40. Wood around pick 20, that’s where he was taken in his draft year, and for a young ruckman he has done nothing to indicate he couldn’t be a 200 gamer.

2)The dogs need talls, but they need quality. Carroll and Warnock are backmen and the dogs already have Harris and Williams as genuine talls with the likes of Hargrave, Morris and Everitt as a third tall who would take Warnock’s spot. Carroll alone is worth pick 35, but I don’t see the dogs as being interested. Warnock is not worth a pick. He can barely get a game for us with most of our backline out, I’d be delisting him and I’d be doubtful whether anyone would pick him up.

3)Jamar is VFL quality; maybe another side would take him if they thought a back up ruck is what they need in case they had an injury. Sydney have Everitt for another year and should be looking for youth to replace him to form a combination with Jolly. If someone was interested I think we would be smart to accept pick 60 or let them take him and upgrade Shane Neaves.

4)Carlton and Richmond are both weak down back, but they are looking to build for the future, Ferg is 25 so I don’t see another team willing to give up pick 35 or 36 for his services. Maybe a team up could snatch him with pick 50, but I can’t see anyone who would want him. That said I think we should keep him, I’d rather him than Holland and he could keep the pressure on Rivers, Carroll and Frawley to be our 3 tall defenders.

6)Staker has improved leaps and bounds this year, and we might be a chance to get him with 21, but I feel the eagles would want more, he adds flare to a some what mundane forward line. I wouldn’t want him for pick 21, I can’t see him making it as the full forward or genuine CHF that we need and with Neitz, Robbo, Newton and Bate the tall forwards next year, with Dunn a chance to be reconverted to CHF and Miller a chance to get a rebirth under Bailey I’d be more inclined to chase a defender or head to the draft. Ryan Murphy is different, as he seems to look like a natural goal kicker, but 21 seems high for him as well. Does anyone have any news on our chase for Jake Edwards from the blues, or was that a beatup.

If you think these trades are unacceptable, mind asking for your opinion/s on point 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 trade worth please?

I respect your opinion, but unfortunately i agree with the master that most of those trades are ordinary. Clubs arent stupid these days, and whilst they might be more prepared to trade draft picks this year more so than last year, it won't happen as much.

Also why trade for so many low picks (in an average draft pool) and then drafting average players that probably won't amount to anything. Pointless. Maybe another second rounder, but we'd almost be better off using our 2nd round pick to lure a younger 2-3 yr player from another club.

I'll add my two bob's worth to this interesting thread.
Hard decisions must be made by Bailey. If this means a favourite player Bruce,Green,Johnstone etc are traded then so be it.
I personally think Melbourne will make at least 6 changes (maybe more)to senior list( Neville,Warnock and ??) plus some rookies will go. Three have retired so 3 more as a minimum.
We must aim for the premiership. Bailey's job is to do what's required to achieve this goal.
I don't give a stuff if we make the 8 or not next year as long as the development of playing list continues with emergence of new players and continued development of the promising youngsters of last couple of years.
I am a long standing,long suffering supporter who has endured every failed finals campaign since our last flag and believe me it's not fun winning 12 to 16 home and away games a season only to finish up short come September which we have done some 11 times since 1964.

Bailey, do what you believe is required now that you are coach to bring success to our great club.
Melbourne needs a period of sustained success as a top 4 powerhouse (not making up the numbers in September) and hopefully a flag will come our way.
Melbourne supporters let's hope Dean Bailey is the man. Afterall we have him for the next three years.
Will be a most interesting time the next few months as Bailey goes about his list management and drafts.

I believe Miller and Jamar are the only players (not in our best 22 or fringe players) who have currency in the trade period

I heard rumours about Daniel Chick being delisted by West Coast at the end of the year, would he be worth a look? He may be a quick "fix" for a defensive unit in desperate need of some experienced backman and I think he could fit right in and then moved on as the young plays like Frawley and Bartram develop.

I reckon he's a real bad egg. Rumors are rumors but I wouldn't want anything of his nature associated with the club. But as a player, I think we could do a whole lot better than Chick, he hasn't got a whole lot going for him

I would doubt Brad Miller would be traded. I think a year with a new coach and a full year at CHF will turn him around. He pinched hit pretty well on B Hall, and when our talls went down in the back half, he filled the void. Everyone knows he is a hit up CHF, so mbloody well play him there. Rivers will improve us heaps, giving Frawley a chance to come on, big year for him next year. Belly's been good, wrecker goes back down there and were looking good. With bart man back in the midfield next year, expect greeny to play a joel bowden type roll, he will be massive for us next year. The midfield will be super with brock,clint, jonesy,bruce, dunny, colin, macca, flash all rolling through there big year coming up. I wouldnt expect too many delist or trades with the retirements already announced.

yeah agree with brad miller. play him the full year at CHF, none of this switching from CHF to CHB and then being dropped. how can he get any confidence playin at this level when he doesnt even no his role in the side. play him the full year at CHF so he can get used to the role, build his confidence and agaisnt carlton he finally showd us something

Jolly, Wood and Meesen up for grabs!

SYDNEY ruckman Darren Jolly may play his last game for the Swans this weekend, with the lure of a return to Victoria said to be tempting him away from the SCG.

The 25-year-old, who will split Sydney's centre-square responsibilities with Peter Everitt in Saturday night's elimination final against Collingwood, is out of contract at the end of the season and is understood to be contemplating a return to Melbourne to resettle his wife and infant daughter closer to family.

Sydney general manager of football Andrew Ireland is to meet Jolly's manager, Michael Quinlan, tomorrow in the hope of further negotiations but said he was aware of Jolly's "circumstances".

"Darren has not conveyed that (his departure) to us at this point," Ireland said. "We're having discussions with his management and we certainly understand his circumstances, but we're hopeful of retaining him. He's definitely required."

Originally from regional Victoria, Jolly started his career with Melbourne seven seasons ago as a promoted rookie. Four years later, at the end of 2004, he was traded north for Sydney's first-round pick, selection 15, with which the Demons selected Lynden Dunn.

It is understood that as many as six clubs have expressed interest in acquiring Jolly, who played in Sydney's drought-breaking 2005 premiership in his first year with the club.

The Western Bulldogs, Carlton, St Kilda, Melbourne, Richmond and Collingwood are all in the market for ruckmen in a year that isn't offering many opportunities to recruit one through the draft.

It is understood that Adelaide is prepared to release John Meesen in a trade and Brisbane Lion Cameron Wood, who is contracted for next year, is also likely to make a move given Jamie Charman's hold on the first ruck position with the Lions, Matthew Leuenberger's emergence this year and the fact Beau McDonald is contracted for another season.

Both Meesen and Wood, though, are inexperienced and some way from fulfilling front-line duties. Jolly is not.

Though it would be funny in the end to acquire Jolly, I'd rather take Wood to be honest, I'm a huge wrap for the kid. Was brilliant during the NAB Cup this year

Wood will probably go back to Adelaide, they will give up Meesen and maybe something else to get him.

Who would be willing to give up pick 21 for Jolly, you could argue that he is older now and not worth 15, could be a good shot of getting him.

Wood will probably go back to Adelaide, they will give up Meesen and maybe something else to get him.

Who would be willing to give up pick 21 for Jolly, you could argue that he is older now and not worth 15, could be a good shot of getting him.

I agree Master, definitely worth it. Jolly only 25 ready to take on the role of number 1 ruckman. Jamar and p.Johnson have not come on enough. Jwhite at 30 only has 2-3 years max. Timing is perfect we must get jolly. This could also allow Bailey to play Whitey up fwd more.

*Raises hand*

Bloody oath I would and I reckon Sydney would take it too.

Trade/Draft/Delist