List Mgmt. Trade/Draft/Targets Part II

Balta has more potential so i'd rather the club put the effort into him. Why would the club introduce a guy on his last chance? I don't see the upside.

Cousins brought a $500,000 major sponsor to the club and thousands of extra memberships. Anyone who relates cousins to bennell is in error.

Pickett and stack are two different cases entirely compared with a known habitual drug user like bennell
What sponsor was that , I recall we sold a lot of Extra wa memberships

A known habitual drug user? Are you sure about that? Ross Lyon has had nothing but praise for the way he conducted himself off field and on the training track @ Freo. That's like calling Pickett a habitual thief, who was probably on his last chance too - but without proving he was an elite talent @ the top level previously.

Getting Bennell wouldn't affect the 'effort' put into Balta. They're nothing alike.
Doesnt matter what you say though mate..he aint coming to richmond

We'd better off getting Lids back. Less injury prone than Bennell. We could get a handful of games from Lids. Bennell, well, what has he been able to do for the last 2 years?... perhaps 1-2.

It's a soft tissue... in the calf..the worst place probably. Dedication issues... no leadership for the young guys coming through.

We are not in the position of grasping at straws. Current premiers and building.

Should not even be considered.
You know it's not as silly as it sounds.
As a rookie why not.

You know it's not as silly as it sounds.
As a rookie why not.
It is as silly as it sounds , another player who’s best footy is a long time ago, these short sighted decisions are what puts a hand brake on continuing to snowball the quality of our list. We have done a very good job in achieving that despite now really low picks , don’t screw it up now

We held onto Towno for a year longer than we had to let alone Weller.

You don't see how a side that relies on the ability to run and spread longer than the opposition will be impacted by loading up with 8 talls.
you dont think we wont play with 8 talls ??? Wow just wow.

Rance will play and he will come into the backline to join Astbury Grimes and most likely Broad,
A player like Balta is more agile quicker stronger and skilled than Broad.So i would find a way to get games into Balta.

We went with two ruckmen and we went with 2 key fwds .Thats 8 right there.
Then there is a need to play blokes get games into the likes of Chol Balta CCJ.
Playing big lumbering dinosaurs is a whole lot different to playing agile good moving talls with decent pace.

You ask how? well fmd we are not far removed from it now and id say if Rance had of been fit that is the number we would have gone with in the finals instead of the seven with Rance missing.

SENIORS

Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
Houli - Rance - Broad. do you really think at the start of the season Broad will get dropped and we wont play Rance.

R/ Nankervis - ##### - #####

##### - Riewoldt - ####
#### - Lynch - ####

Int/ Soldo

As stated instead of two lumbering rucks in Soldo and Nankervis i prefer one is replaced by more agile quicker dual purpose players in CCJ or Chol.Both of whom as a second ruck option clearly offer more as fwds.

Reserves In an attempt to mirror what we do in the seniors.

#### - Miller - Garthwaite. Again i stress the thought that these two may not get there.Id rather we look at the worst case scenario, thanassume the best case scenario and just assume every player we draft will make it. it just doesnt happen.
#### - Balta - ####. Balta is being developed as a kpd. the numbers are good, again it will be a real worry if one or two dont make it. That question has to be asked.

R CCJ - #### - #####. Even the coaches agree he is a ruckman first and fwd second.

#### - #### - ####

Int/ Chol - #### - #### The same as ccj and we play our second ruck in the seniors from the bench so mirroring what we do in the seniors.

Ill stick to my guns on this. THere just is no way in hell having 16 talls of varying sizes is too many or is going to impact the ability of the club to have enough mids, sml/med fwds and sml/med defenders.

You almost seem disappointed that the club proved you wrong twice by winning a flag, because it didn't fit your player profile ideology..

RE: Houli, the bloke could have easily won 1 Norm Smith and made a very strong case for a 2nd one and you think he should either hang the boots up or be pushed aside immediately?

Wow.
Did i say that wow. I did say i wasnt fussed either way if he did retire because sml defender is one position we have well and truly covered.I really dont think with what we have in the wings him going would leave a gaping hole.But you can take it to mean what you like.

An aging Hodge who was still playing good footy and was given a nudge to allow younger players a go is a good comparison imo.

Did i say that wow. I did say i wasnt fussed either way if he did retire because sml defender is one position we have well and truly covered.I really dont think with what we have in the wings him going would leave a gaping hole.But you can take it to mean what you like.

An aging Hodge who was still playing good footy and was given a nudge to allow younger players a go is a good comparison imo.

Please tell me which other small defender we have waiting in the wings would have produced the same level of football he has in the finals series and especially both grand finals ?

Both times when the heat was on early he stood up and was absolutely pivotal.

So who else in the wings right now do you think can provide us exactly that or more?

Another KPD, especially tall would be good. Only if they have the quality obviously. But we need coverage there.

Otherwise best available. And being the Tigers running machines with good skills and character are always on the mind. Otherwise, just whoever is exciting to the drafting guys.

you dont think we wont play with 8 talls ??? Wow just wow.

Rance will play and he will come into the backline to join Astbury Grimes and most likely Broad,
A player like Balta is more agile quicker stronger and skilled than Broad.So i would find a way to get games into Balta.

We went with two ruckmen and we went with 2 key fwds .Thats 8 right there.
Then there is a need to play blokes get games into the likes of Chol Balta CCJ.
Playing big lumbering dinosaurs is a whole lot different to playing agile good moving talls with decent pace.

You ask how? well fmd we are not far removed from it now and id say if Rance had of been fit that is the number we would have gone with in the finals instead of the seven with Rance missing.

SENIORS

Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
Houli - Rance - Broad. do you really think at the start of the season Broad will get dropped and we wont play Rance.

R/ Nankervis - ##### - #####

##### - Riewoldt - ####
#### - Lynch - ####

Int/ Soldo

As stated instead of two lumbering rucks in Soldo and Nankervis i prefer one is replaced by more agile quicker dual purpose players in CCJ or Chol.Both of whom as a second ruck option clearly offer more as fwds.

Reserves In an attempt to mirror what we do in the seniors.

#### - Miller - Garthwaite. Again i stress the thought that these two may not get there.Id rather we look at the worst case scenario, thanassume the best case scenario and just assume every player we draft will make it. it just doesnt happen.
#### - Balta - ####. Balta is being developed as a kpd. the numbers are good, again it will be a real worry if one or two dont make it. That question has to be asked.

R CCJ - #### - #####. Even the coaches agree he is a ruckman first and fwd second.

#### - #### - ####

Int/ Chol - #### - #### The same as ccj and we play our second ruck in the seniors from the bench so mirroring what we do in the seniors.

Ill stick to my guns on this. THere just is no way in hell having 16 talls of varying sizes is too many or is going to impact the ability of the club to have enough mids, sml/med fwds and sml/med defenders.

Main problem with your desired structure.

Houli is the only run and carry defender you have with Grimes Astbury & Broad offering little run and carry from D50. Vlastuin offers more as an interceptor than rebounding from D50 as well.

Suddenly the counter attacking run and spread that we have relied on for the last 3 seasons is gone and we once again become a stagnant stop start side we were in the 2016 season

Second problem

Which 10 from Edwards Cotchin Martin Caddy Prestia Lambert McIntosh Rioli Castagna Short Graham Higgins Bolton Baker Stack Ross Pickett get the nod to fill the remainder of your side given we need a mix of inside ball winners and outside run, plus the defensive pressure inside our F50 when we don't have the ball?

This is where your desired structure starts to become even more of an issue. Edwards Cotchin Martin Caddy Prestia Lambert Rioli Castagna are locks being dual premiership winners. Short Graham Bolton Baker & Pickett are also premiership winners and deserving of their spots on 2019 form. Stack Higgins & Ross all could have been premiership winners bar unfortunate injuries.

As much as you won't like it, I can't see the club going away from the structure of minimal talls and a majority of mids & flankers and I fully expect to see 2 KPDs(Astbury Rance) 1 defensive 3rd tall(Grimes) 2 KPF(Lynch Riewoldt) & 2 rucks(Nankervis Soldo) as the foundation of our side in 2020. This gives us the ability to load up with 15 medium/small types that give us the good balance of inside ball winners outside run & carry and defensive pressure when not in possession. It's what has got us 2 of the last 3 premierships and there is nothing to suggest we need to go to your set up any time soon.

Please tell me which other small defender we have waiting in the wings would have produced the same level of football he has in the finals series and especially both grand finals ?

Both times when the heat was on early he stood up and was absolutely pivotal.

So who else in the wings right now do you think can provide us exactly that or more?
Wow when i said you can take it to mean what you like you went the whole hog.

If Houli retired there would be no gaping hole, we have plenty of players who could come into our system and while maybe not give as much as Houli straight away they certainly wont be left floundering.

The obvious one for me is Stack and if anyone had seen Pickett at s/f they would know what he gave us in the g/f he would give across h/b.
As stated a raw and young D-E-S is ready for a game, is he Houlis stage of course not. Short gets a game and plays a similar role Naish Turner are young and raw Broad can play h/b but hes more of a stopper. theres options, plenty of them, and at some stage we need to get games into them.

As i said at age 32 he wont be around for much longer and if he was to retire id not be worried, we have options that will do a good job as a hbf.Put it this way If Houli didnt play we have good options to come in it aint a chasm.

Once again i point to what the Hawks did with Hodgey. He had more yrs left in him but they chose to play younger blokes in his stead. Blokes who they needed to get games into.

As i have repeatedly acknowledged Houli has played some great footy in recent yrs but i dont think him going will leave a gaping hole. Another yr of Houli or play a kid in his place i can live with both scenarios.Personally i dont think he will go around again after 2020 so i think we have one yr of him left.
I dont think he is irreplaceable or the role he does is too hard for a player to implement.

Lastly at age 32 i for one am looking for his replacement i reckon the club will be doing the same thing asking themselves who will we replace him with.

Wow when i said you can take it to mean what you like you went the whole hog.

If Houli retired there would be no gaping hole, we have plenty of players who could come into our system and while maybe not give as much as Houli straight away they certainly wont be left floundering.

The obvious one for me is Stack and if anyone had seen Pickett at s/f they would know what he gave us in the g/f he would give across h/b.
As stated a raw and young D-E-S is ready for a game, is he Houlis stage of course not. Short gets a game and plays a similar role Naish Turner are young and raw Broad can play h/b but hes more of a stopper. theres options, plenty of them, and at some stage we need to get games into them.

As i said at age 32 he wont be around for much longer and if he was to retire id not be worried, we have options that will do a good job as a hbf.Put it this way If Houli didnt play we have good options to come in it aint a chasm.

Once again i point to what the Hawks did with Hodgey. He had more yrs left in him but they chose to play younger blokes in his stead. Blokes who they needed to get games into.

As i have repeatedly acknowledged Houli has played some great footy in recent yrs but i dont think him going will leave a gaping hole. Another yr of Houli or play a kid in his place i can live with both scenarios.Personally i dont think he will go around again after 2020 so i think we have one yr of him left.
I dont think he is irreplaceable or the role he does is too hard for a player to implement.

Lastly at age 32 i for one am looking for his replacement i reckon the club will be doing the same thing asking themselves who will we replace him with.

Thank you, I appreciate the detailed response.

Much more palatable answer when explained like that.

Out of all the names you listed I think we need to explore the Stack/ Pickett combo first.

Both have that attacking drive and no fear.

Main problem with your desired structure.

Houli is the only run and carry defender you have with Grimes Astbury & Broad offering little run and carry from D50. Vlastuin offers more as an interceptor than rebounding from D50 as well.

Suddenly the counter attacking run and spread that we have relied on for the last 3 seasons is gone and we once again become a stagnant stop start side we were in the 2016 season

Second problem

Which 10 from Edwards Cotchin Martin Caddy Prestia Lambert McIntosh Rioli Castagna Short Graham Higgins Bolton Baker Stack Ross Pickett get the nod to fill the remainder of your side given we need a mix of inside ball winners and outside run, plus the defensive pressure inside our F50 when we don't have the ball?

This is where your desired structure starts to become even more of an issue. Edwards Cotchin Martin Caddy Prestia Lambert Rioli Castagna are locks being dual premiership winners. Short Graham Bolton Baker & Pickett are also premiership winners and deserving of their spots on 2019 form. Stack Higgins & Ross all could have been premiership winners bar unfortunate injuries.

As much as you won't like it, I can't see the club going away from the structure of minimal talls and a majority of mids & flankers and I fully expect to see 2 KPDs(Astbury Rance) 1 defensive 3rd tall(Grimes) 2 KPF(Lynch Riewoldt) & 2 rucks(Nankervis Soldo) as the foundation of our side in 2020. This gives us the ability to load up with 15 medium/small types that give us the good balance of inside ball winners outside run & carry and defensive pressure when not in possession. It's what has got us 2 of the last 3 premierships and there is nothing to suggest we need to go to your set up any time soon.
So in essence your arguing weather Broad will play making 8 talls or not.Or weather we have 14 instead of 15 sml/med types. As i said we arent too far apart when its all done and dusted.
Personally i dont think Broad will be dropped and im damn sure when he is ready Rance will play.
Why dont i think Broad will be dropped.

When Rance was fit we played all 4 of Rance, Astbury, Broad, and Grimes.The simple fact is, including 2017 when Broad established himself in the team and played the last 10 games, the only time the club have not played the 4 talls down back is when injury or suspension has hit.
Check it out for yourself.
So its not my structure bud its very much the clubs.It is very much the preferred structure along with two KPF,S riewoldt Lynch, and and now the two up to standard ruckmen. Its a fact When we have had the players uninjured or they have reached the level we have played em.Its clearly the desired structure of the club.

So wheres the lack of run with the following

B/ Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
HB/ Broad - Rance - Houli That was the set up from rnd 16 2017 to rnd 1 2019 when all were available.It most likely wont change when all are available again. though i could live with one or two changes but thats neither here nor there.

R/ Soldo - Martin - Prestia
C/ Caddy - Cotchin - Pickett

HF/ Lambert - Riewoldt - Edwards
FF/ Castagna - Lynch - Rioli

INT/ Nankervis - Baker - Bolton - Short.

The only difference fron the 19 g/f is
out - Ellis
Ins - Rance

Some other changes that should happen Imo
INS- Graham, Stack, Ross
Out - Baker, Short, and one other.Its a favorite son so i wont say his name to save the arguments that will invariably happen. At the end of the day its an opinion on one player.
We dont lose run or spread, those coming in offer that, but we gain size, strength,improved defense, midfield rotations to go with it.

As stated the only change in structure making 8 talls from the g/f is Rance in Ellis out.
The only real changes from the 2017 to 2019 g/f is the addition of Lynch as a key forward and the addition of the second ruck Soldo. playing Grigg in that role was never the want of the club it was not ideal and they changed it as soon as a competent option came along.

List Mgmt. Trade/Draft/Targets Part II