List Mgmt. Trade/Draft/Targets Part II

If you were a tradie and had to deal with Dodoro you'd definitely charge him the extra 10-15% pain in the ass tax
You’d do a half ass job

I've been told were chasing a 3rd rounder for Butler.

Might have to be a 3 or 4 way deal including dogs given saints need picks for all the other players they're after.

Doubtful. We’ll trade him for a nothing pick rather than him heading to the pre season draft so he gets to his destination club.

Honestly how TF is St Kilda a destination club.. Thanks for your services (2017) D Butler

Doubtful. We’ll trade him for a nothing pick rather than him heading to the pre season draft so he gets to his destination club.

Honestly how TF is St Kilda a destination club.. Thanks for your services (2017) D Butler
They are a destination club because they are willing to pay him more than us. We are very tight with our cap space. Yes, we have freed up money but that is mostly going to upgrade Stack and Pickett as well as several other players whose contracts were backended.

Vast gulf between KMac and the Butler, Markov, Menadue types.
Hope we retain KMac.
Thought Houli would retire fairly soon given his outstanding community work.
Would be brilliant if he retires at the end of 2020.
A grand farewell for a great champion.
Then, as you say, Rance year to year.
He has his own education business too.
Ideally, Houli retires at the end of 2020.
Rance at the end of 2021 or 2022.
That will start to free us up and release salary space.
End of 2022 start to recruit new generation stars.

They aren't a destination club.

They are paying overs and loading up on B graders. It will end in very mediocre fashion for them. Brad Hill is the only one who is good acquisition IMO.

That's the problem with trade period, every trade is seen as a shiny new toy and we all want to be involved - it's the nature of the beast.

Theres a lot of what you both say that makes sense - Im of the opinion that cap space is not tight right now but they are leaving wiggle room for
1)just in case something falls into our lap and its too good to refuse
2)players coming out of contract and contract upgrades in the future ie Stack and Pickett spring to mind, if they go on to become the players most of us think they will, they will deserve a significant payday
3) however, number 2 is offset by the fact that Cotchin, Reiwoldt and rance who are all on 750k+ are coming to the end of their contracts over the next year or 2 and they will be playing for significantly less in their next contracts(if they even play on at all) lets hope they do. Its a jigsaw puzzle that is planned 5 years ahead, lets also not forget that each year the salary cap increases as well.

I just feel we're in a really good place cap wise for a dominant side - compare it to the pies situation who are in real trouble next year

Gotta take into account the bonuses for flags and AA selections and best and fairest placings some of the guys might have in their contracts.

It does highlight the lie that when you win a premiership that the only picks you can get for your fringe players are junk ones. For what it's worth Anderson had only played 10 games for 4 goals at the time. Contrast that with Butler who has 45 games and 53 goals and is a premiership player. Didn't mind letting Lloyd, Milne, Stengle and C. Ellis go for the picks we got last year. Letting Butler go for the same range is far more problematic.

Jed Anderson was contracted and several clubs were interested as he was a gun junior who had struggled with injury and there seemed to be plenty of scope for him to improve. Butler we’ve seen 50 games from to get his level c grade player, which is why we pulled the contact offer.

We only paid pick 28 for Caddy, yet apparently Butler is going to net us a pick under 40. Not likely. He’s right in the delist zone any team can have him for free once he becomes a free agent at the end of October.

Vast gulf between KMac and the Butler, Markov, Menadue types.
Hope we retain KMac.
Thought Houli would retire fairly soon given his outstanding community work.
Would be brilliant if he retires at the end of 2020.
A grand farewell for a great champion.
Then, as you say, Rance year to year.
He has his own education business too.
Ideally, Houli retires at the end of 2020.
Rance at the end of 2021 or 2022.
That will start to free us up and release salary space.
End of 2022 start to recruit new generation stars.
As long as we are in the hunt for flags and if no one from below is coming through no one is retiring. Unless old man calf and hamstring come to get you that is.
Whilst not everyone can play till 35 I serisously think one of Houli and Edwards hopefully both have another 4 to 5 years in them.

Let's not look to retire everyone as soon as they get to 31.

CCJ is worth way more than what we got him for right now!
Good ruck forwards are commodities!! And we have a ripper
Huge upside and I don't want to lose him, I'll also add I don't believe the whispers to be true but if he left this year we aren't getting much more than pick 20 odd or whatever he was. Late first, early 2nd.

Richmond footy boss says a couple of Tigers would be ‘mad’ not consider a fresh start
04/10/2019 SPORTSDAY FOOTBALL FEATURED

GettyImages-675111988.jpg

Richmond footy boss Neil Balme admits a couple of players at the club would be “mad” if they didn’t consider leaving the Tigers in the coming weeks.

Balme said the likes of Dan Butler and Connor Menadue deserved more opportunity than they were currently getting.

Neither played in this year’s premiership win.
“They’re mad if they don’t look for other opportunities,” a typically honest Balme told 3AW.
“They are both very good players and we don’t give them enough opportunities for different reasons.”

Kamdyn McIntosh is another who missed out on September glory, however Balme said the club was keen to keep him.
“He’s contracted and we’re keen for him to stay and we think that’s what he should do,” Balme said.
“But if somebody came at him with a really significant offer that he wanted to think about, we certainly wouldn’t dismiss is straight away.
“But I think it’d be pretty unlikely for him to go.”

Click PLAY below to hear more

why should we help st kilda out ? what have they done or what will they do to help us out?

sweet fu** all thats what

We are helping Dan! This is the problem with people's perspective. It's all 'i love Dan. He is a premiership player. He was a decent goal sneak in a premiership year etc etc'.
Yeah? If you love him that much don't get in the bloody way. He clearly wants to go to St Kilda. St Kilda are clearly struggling to get him in. He helped us win 37 year drought breaking flag and ppl are pissed off because we won't jeopardise the trade by haggling for a few upgrade spots on a pick.
Seriously. That is absolutely the wrong move.

They are paying overs and loading up on B graders. It will end in very mediocre fashion for them. Brad Hill is the only one who is good acquisition IMO.

That's the problem with trade period, every trade is seen as a shiny new toy and we all want to be involved - it's the nature of the beast.
A decade ago another club in similar position to where the Saints are now, started acquiring "B grade" talent which a lot of people thought was a poor move, but they persisted and those players help change that clubs culture, which led that club to become a dominant force a decade later.

Heard last night that we have engaged in talks with multiple clubs involving our picks at 38 39 & 41 to try and move up the order while helping facilitate some trades that other clubs are stuck with. I believe this also includes working on the Butler and Menadue trades. Not sure which clubs were involved, but there are a number of clubs who may need picks in the second round to get deals done

A decade ago another club in similar position to where the Saints are now, started acquiring "B grade" talent which a lot of people thought was a poor move, but they persisted and those players help change that clubs culture, which led that club to become a dominant force a decade later.
That club already had A grade stars to compliment them - Saints do not.

Heard last night that we have engaged in talks with multiple clubs involving our picks at 38 39 & 41 to try and move up the order while helping facilitate some trades that other clubs are stuck with. I believe this also includes working on the Butler and Menadue trades. Not sure which clubs were involved, but there are a number of clubs who may need picks in the second round to get deals done
Have heard this will happen.
19, 38, 39, 41, 75, 77, 95 & futre picks 19, 38, 39, 41, 75, 77, 95
For picks 1 & 2.(2019)

Jed Anderson was contracted and several clubs were interested as he was a gun junior who had struggled with injury and there seemed to be plenty of scope for him to improve. Butler we’ve seen 50 games from to get his level c grade player, which is why we pulled the contact offer.

We only paid pick 28 for Caddy, yet apparently Butler is going to net us a pick under 40. Not likely. He’s right in the delist zone any team can have him for free once he becomes a free agent at the end of October.

This point you make about Anderson is a point I suspect some of the posters expressing frustration about the expected Butler compensation might not understand. Butler at 23 years of age and 45 games played is exposed. We can see what he can do, and what he cannot do. He slingshots brilliantly when space is open in front of him. He tackles well from behind, and crumbs well if there is open space around him. He is a very good shot for goal on the run or set shot. He can’t impact overhead, has shown no inclination or ability to leap at the ball, doesn’t crash packs, has no real inside game to speak of. So if you are looking to recruit a player like Butler there is no premium for potential upside. Caddy was similar when we got him, you could see what he can do and what he can’t do. He was rated higher than Butler and for good reason, overall he can do a bit more than Butler.

Some posters are comparing Butler with players like Anderson, Howard, and I can’t recall some of the others, but at the point of trade, these guys are not exposed so you might happily pay a premium for their potential upside. There is a risk/reward element to that. You pay a premium over and above their performance so far based on their potential upside, but you get them at a discount to their ultimate potential because of their lack of consistent performance so far. Some will turn out worth less than an exposed limited player like Butler, some will turn out worth more than what you pay for them. That is the nature of that type of recruit.

Butler is a decent though limited player, has proven he can form part of a high functioning forward line in a high functioning team, has been squeezed out by more complete players at Richmond rather than because he is not good enough to play AFL football. To me that is worth a pick around the low 40’s. Because it suits Richmond to get him off the books, if his chosen club can’t quite stretch to his market value you might accept a bit less than his market value. If it didn’t suit Richmond to lose a player like Butler you would want a premium for him over his market value, a bit like what we are seeing with Hill and Daniher. Say the Hogan trade that suited both clubs, he went for about his market value at the time.

If Coleman-Jones wants out you want a big premium for him for his potential upside.

Agreed. It’s only because of the contracts they’re offering. However the media still state it as a players destination club.

I couldn’t think of a worse 5 tbh. They’re likely to trade for an over priced wingman, a hardnut midfielder who hasn’t averaged anymore than 22 touches in his career, an aging ruckman who can get one last pay packet before he retires and 2 blokes who can’t fit in their current team’s best 22 especially a contract of 5 years at 600k.

And noting their losing their best midfielder who’s won 4 B&Fs and their best goal kicker. Saints supporters don’t realise what their losing outways what their brining in. Just a dumb club in general

List Mgmt. Trade/Draft/Targets Part II