List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2018/2019 - Part 3

I think we were very keen on him in his draft year. Don’t know why we want him, he’s just another midfielder.

We need key position players as a priority.

Tomlinson is possibly leaving GWS isn’t he? Would be a good get to cover constantly injured tall defenders
Haven’t we been linked to him before? At 194cms, 96kgs and an elite runner, I’d be keen to look at him. Only 26 yrs old. I believe GWS will need to shed some middle tier talent for cap space in the coming couple of years. We could use him as a tall defender or wingman like GWS did. Hard match up.

Tomlinson doesn't get enough ball and isn't a particularly damaging user as a mid (poor disposal efficiency and high turnover rate too, given that nearly 2/3rds of his possessions are uncontested), is next to useless in the relief ruck duties he's had this year, doesn't play to his size as a defender (can only really play that loose intercept role), and didn't kick goals when he played as a lead-up CHF. For the price he'd want, and the expectation of a regular game he'd come with, I don't really see where he fits with us, or why we would want him. Good runner for his size and top 10 draft pick once upon a time, and getting a regular game in a good side, but he's really a pretty average AFL footballer all up.

Cheers mate. Let’s put a line through him then. Whitfield on the other hand...

GWS would want a top 10 pick from us, would trade him to Greater Western Carlton for pick 60.

If Bonar is on 400k I can’t believe he wasn’t part of their salary cap clearance sale last year.
I think we were very keen on him in his draft year. Don’t know why we want him, he’s just another midfielder.

We need key position players as a priority.

Tomlinson is possibly leaving GWS isn’t he? Would be a good get to cover constantly injured tall defenders
We need a young midfielder, Pendles Beams Sidey and Wells nearing the end but agree, key position players a priority.

Bonar is an athletic "project" type, who (from my enquiries on the Giants' board a few weeks ago) hasn't really shown a whole lot even at NEAFL level so far, and some fans are getting a bit impatient with his progress. He's contracted until the end of 2021, too, which is both an acknowledgement that he'll take time, and the Giants pre-empting him wanting to leave too.

Cheers mate. Let’s put a line through him then. Whitfield on the other hand...

I expanded my thoughts on Tomlinson on the 'Drafts, Trading & Free Agency' board too:

It's hard to gauge Tomlinson's value, and where he fits if he was to leave the Giants. Even with GWS, he seems like a bit of a "spare part" player, albeit one that gets a regular game and plenty of gametime (has played 70 of a possible 71 games over the last three years, averaging 89.71% gametime)

Tomlinson is listed at 194cm and 96kg, is a good runner for his size, which allows him to play through the midfield most of the time (usually as a winger). He doesn't get enough ball as a mid, and despite his size, isn't a contested ballwinner or hard tackler to make up for it (a la someone like Hugh Greenwood or Rupert Wills). He isn't a particularly prolifically damaging user of the footy in terms of inside 50s and score involvements either (poor disposal efficiency and high turnover rate this year, given that nearly 2/3rds of his possessions are uncontested, but that's way down on past output for some reason). He is next to useless in the relief ruck duties he's had this year, doesn't really play to his size as a defender when he's been in that role (can only really play a loose intercept role), and didn't kick goals when he's played as a lead-up CHF. He's a frequent marker (due to his running ability allowing him to link up), but a nearly non-existent contested marker for his size, averaging 5.76 marks but just 0.40 contested marks per game for his career.

For the price he'd want, and the expectation of a regular game he'd come with, I don't really see where he fits with too many other clubs. I think a combination of getting a regular game in a good side, the "potential" his size and athleticism creates in people's minds (he looks like a physical specimen and "the prototype" for the modern footballer - blond, tanned, that "eye-catching" bicep/delt definition/separation - but has bit of "built like Tarzan, plays like Jane" about him too), and being a Top 10 draft pick once upon a time, as well as getting 52 disposals in a NEAFL game in 2016, all serves to overrate him. He's really just a pretty average AFL footballer all up though.

Again, really don't see where he'd fit at Collingwood, and think it'd be more cost to get him than it's worth.

I expanded my thoughts on Tomlinson on the 'Drafts, Trading & Free Agency' board too:

It's hard to gauge Tomlinson's value, and where he fits if he was to leave the Giants. Even with GWS, he seems like a bit of a "spare part" player, albeit one that gets a regular game and plenty of gametime (has played 70 of a possible 71 games over the last three years, averaging 89.71% gametime)

Tomlinson is listed at 194cm and 96kg, is a good runner for his size, which allows him to play through the midfield most of the time (usually as a winger). He doesn't get enough ball as a mid, and despite his size, isn't a contested ballwinner or hard tackler to make up for it (a la someone like Hugh Greenwood or Rupert Wills). He isn't a particularly prolifically damaging user of the footy in terms of inside 50s and score involvements either (poor disposal efficiency and high turnover rate this year, given that nearly 2/3rds of his possessions are uncontested, but that's way down on past output for some reason). He is next to useless in the relief ruck duties he's had this year, doesn't really play to his size as a defender when he's been in that role (can only really play a loose intercept role), and didn't kick goals when he's played as a lead-up CHF. He's a frequent marker (due to his running ability allowing him to link up), but a nearly non-existent contested marker for his size, averaging 5.76 marks but just 0.40 contested marks per game for his career.

For the price he'd want, and the expectation of a regular game he'd come with, I don't really see where he fits with too many other clubs. I think a combination of getting a regular game in a good side, the "potential" his size and athleticism creates in people's minds (he looks like a physical specimen and "the prototype" for the modern footballer - blond, tanned, that "eye-catching" bicep/delt definition/separation - but has bit of "built like Tarzan, plays like Jane" about him too), and being a Top 10 draft pick once upon a time, as well as getting 52 disposals in a NEAFL game in 2016, all serves to overrate him. He's really just a pretty average AFL footballer all up though.

View attachment 736339

Again, really don't see where he'd fit at Collingwood, and think it'd be more cost to get him than it's worth.
GWS have both Kelly and now Coniglio on $1M per year. Add to this Cameron, Greene, Ward, and Davis who must all be on good coin. Who else may be squeezed out at GWS to create some cap space you think?

Brett Deledio and Dawson Simpson have announced their retirements.

This is their contract situation beyond that (I've highlighted the former top 18 draft picks):

I doubt Mumford or Shaw will play beyond 2020, so they'll likely have them and a few more coming off the books by then too. That'll be the tester though - Can they fit Whitfield, Cameron, Williams and Finlayson in long-term?

Ain't that the truth. His name comes up every year. Would not improve our team one iota

Been linked to Cutler, Kelly and Bonar... not a key position in sight

Jack Leslie has been delisted by the sun's. Big KPD who had some fans here last season. Obviously the argument will be "if he can't get a game at the sun's why would get a game here?", However could the club back themselves in to develop him right and get him up to a playing standard? GCS aren't exactly brilliant at bringing on their young talents

Only 24 and will come for free as a DFA.

Jack Leslie has been delisted by the sun's. Big KPD who had some fans here last season. Obviously the argument will be "if he can't get a game at the sun's why would get a game here?", However could the club back themselves in to develop him right and get him up to a playing standard? GCS aren't exactly brilliant at bringing on their young talents

Only 24 and will come for free as a DFA.

Screams Henry Schade 2.0

I would be right in Cameron’s ear at the moment. I reckon they could consider him expendable if the $$ are too high, but only if Himmelburg and Finlayson keep going well.

I’d be in Riley Grundy’ ear.

Get him over next year.

194cm Key defender.
Have you even looked at how he’s performed, or are you just looking at his position and name?

He averages 5 touches and 1 mark in the SANFL. That’s poor, even by a first years standards.

For comparison, Keane, who’d never played footy before he was recruited last year, averages 10 disposals and 4 marks a game playing the same position.

Have you even looked at how he’s performed, or are you just looking at his position and name?

He averages 5 touches and 1 mark in the SANFL. That’s poor, even by a first years standards.

For comparison, Keane, who’d never played footy before he was recruited last year, averages 10 disposals and 4 marks a game playing the same position.

KPP always take time. He’s played the game for less than 2 years. Moved over from Basketball. He looks okay in his draft video.

Hope he gets Delisted next year so we can rookie him. Plus living with his brother might force him to raise his standards.

I think the market will come hard for Tomlinson....he will get paid A grade money but not sure he is an A grader.

Screams Henry Schade 2.0

Yep stay clear for mine.

The blokes I would be interested in are;

Martin - Difficult to do and would mean we would have to offload some more $$ and hence players but has the midfield class think we crave in a post Pendles / Sidebottom era

Jenkins - you would want to really understand what has gone on but if Crows paid him and we could swap somebody such as Aish I would consider it. Suits our forward structure

Butler - we could really do with his skillset. Told a ripping bloke and would fit in anywhere

Buzza - Watched him live a few times and think he is good.

KPP always take time. He’s played the game for less than 2 years. Moved over from Basketball. He looks okay in his draft video.

Hope he gets Delisted next year so we can rookie him. Plus living with his brother might force him to raise his standards.
All I see here are excuses for a poorly performed player. I made the direct comparison with Keane because they both had late starts to the game and they’re playing the same position. Yes, KPP take time, but you’re ignoring the fact that Riley isn’t even performing as well as a first year AFL listed tall should be at the lower level. We’ve delisted rookie talls after 1 year who performed better than he has this year. We shouldn’t touch him with a 10 foot pole. Let Brodie get annoyed at Port for delisting him, no us when we’d inevitably have to do so if we traded him in.

Not sure where to put this, but this seems like the most appropriate spot. How would people like this list going into 2020?:

Scott Pendlebury
Travis Varcoe
Chris Mayne
Ben Reid
Dayne Beams
Jeremy Howe
Jordan Roughead
Steele Sidebottom
Mason Cox
Josh Thomas
Jamie Elliott
Adam Treloar
Rupert Wills
Will Hoskin-Elliott
Taylor Adams
Jack Crisp
Brodie Grundy
Tom Langdon
Matthew Scharenberg
James Aish
Darcy Moore
Jordan De Goey
Tom Phillips
Brayden Maynard
Ben Crocker
Brayden Sier
Callum Brown
Josh Daicos
Jaidyn Stephenson
Tyler Brown
Nathan Murphy
Isaac Quaynor
Will Kelly
Atu Bosenavulagi
Pick 33???
Pick 51???
Pick 64Brody Mihocek
Pick 69Max Lynch
Rookie Cat AFlynn Appleby
Rookie Cat ATim Broomhead
Rookie Cat AJack Madgen
Rookie Cat ASam Murray
Rookie Cat AJohn Noble
Rookie Cat A???
Rookie Cat BMark Keane
Rookie Cat BAnton Tohill
Rookie Cat BTom Wilson

Retire/delist/trade - Wells, Dunn, Goldsack, Greenwood

Re-sign - Varcoe (1 year), Reid (1 year), Elliott (3 years), Wills (2 years), Crocker (1 year), Sier (2 years), Lynch (2 years, Senior List upgrade), Madgen (1 year, Rookie List), Broomhead (1 year, Rookie List), Noble (1 year, Rookie List), Murray (1 year, Rookie List)

Rookie List upgrades - Mihocek (Pick #64, National Draft), Lynch (Pick #69, National Draft)

In this, it's a choice between Varcoe, Reid and Greenwood, with Greenwood not being recontracted. Just feel like the former two have more value and are less replaceable going forward.

People might see the retention/resigning of some of those blokes as controversial, and the lack of draft picks and new talent potentially coming in as stagnation. However, I'd like to see us somewhat "stay put" for a year (particularly with out younger players), and try and wring as much as possible out of the guys we've got. This also gives us a number of potential delistees at the end of 2020, when we have further National Draft picks available that we will need to accommodate for.

Don't forget we've got a +1 in Noble we have to balance the books on.