List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2020

if he was a low cost buy (4th round pick) he is worth a punt. anymore than that and he isnt worth it..imo I think his boat has sailed and he'll never be a star.

and I cant see freo letting him walk for that.

We're involved with one of the indigenous areas up north. Have been for a couple of years. Yet to see us bring a couple of these boys down. Any of them earmarked by us for the near future? I have NFI

Our zone is a new area for us and as yet the pathways haven't been utilised. Hawks have had the Scotch College unit going for ages now, Geelong has (in the past 5 years) established links with St.Josephs and Geelong Grammar and hosted small teams of NT boys (and girls) down via those schools. Richmond has its various indigenous programs running (as well as the Bachar Houli Academy) and Essendon has well established links particularly with the Tiwi Islanders.

So we're in there...but we haven't identified any "ready made talent that could cope with the move south yet"

Our zone is a new area for us and as yet the pathways haven't been utilised. Hawks have had the Scotch College unit going for ages now, Geelong has (in the past 5 years) established links with St.Josephs and Geelong Grammar and hosted small teams of NT boys (and girls) down via those schools. Richmond has its various indigenous programs running (as well as the Bachar Houli Academy) and Essendon has well established links particularly with the Tiwi Islanders.

So we're in there...but we haven't identified any "ready made talent that could cope with the move south yet"

Thanks for explaining it so well mate. Would really love to see some of these boys picked. I've tried googling it to find which area we are linked with. If you or anyone else here knows. Thanking you in advance

Legend mate 👊 one thing I don't understand. Our region has a population of appeoximately 7400.. some other clubs have regions with populations in the millions.
Example WC and Freo have the whole of WA. Hmmm

The Barkly Region, formerly Barkly Shire, is a local government area of the Northern Territory of Australia, administered by the Barkly Regional Council. The region's main town is Tennant Creek. The region covers an area of 322,713 square kilometres and had a population of almost 7,400 as at June 2018.

The Barkly Australian Football League (BAFL) is an Australian rules football competition based in Tennant Creek in the Northern Territory of Australia. The competition began in 1991 with all games played at Purkiss Reserve, Tennant Creek.

their flags were built on high picks. Buddy, Roughead, Lewis and Hodge.

Mitchell was a mid 30's which was a great pick considering how he turned out.
Wright had nothing to do with that though. He went to Hawthorn in 2007 after all those guys were already recruited. He’s had a few hits over the journey, but there’s nothing there to say that he’s any better at junior talent ID than any other recruiter in the league tbh.

I know we need a pressure forward but I’d like one that has more scoreboard impact. Maybe I’m asking to much though.

I don't reckon he has had a proper run at it. The times I've seen him, he always looks dangerous and is a neat user of the footy.

Probably lacks a bit of defensive pressure and also probably doesn't have much capacity to play other roles (ie midfield), but reckon he'd be an upgrade on any other forward pockets we have on the list.

I noticed the Saints have dropped Jack Lonie.

I've always rated him. Skillful and a good goal sense.

Seems to have fallen behind Butler in the pecking order.

I think a genuine crumbing forward is our biggest hole. Even more so than a key tall. Would love to make a play for him.

We where linked to him last year's Trade Period

I don't reckon he has had a proper run at it. The times I've seen him, he always looks dangerous and is a neat user of the footy.

Probably lacks a bit of defensive pressure and also probably doesn't have much capacity to play other roles (ie midfield), but reckon he'd be an upgrade on any other forward pockets we have on the list.
Chuck sidey in the pocket next two seasons. Help him last longer and he’s dangerous there

Doesn't change the fact that long term we don't have a genuine crumber on the list. We need to get serious about it. They are considered probably the lowest value picks at the draft table, but a good crumber is essential in any side. They kick goals. We've neglected it for some time, as the priority has been to put in midfielders who can't quite cut it to play as defensive style forwards. It worked in 2018 when we have JT and Varcoe up and running. But hasn't worked since.

I'm sick of seeing everyone going up for a mark, and no one at ground level to crumb. Its basic footy 101 really.

I think the answer is Ben Brown. He is the most obtainable, still 27, is 200cm and is a proven goal-kicker who is capable of kicking 60 a year.

He has some deficiencies no doubt such as the fact he isn't really a contested marking beast, leads in straight lines, and defensively isn't good enough. But those deficiencies are far less than what Mason Cox offers. Cox is similar in his lack of defensive pressure or ability to take contested marks when body to body against an opponent. But Cox at best can only deliver 20-30 goals a year...and that's optimistic.

I think if you had Brown, Mihocek and De Goey as your 3 key forwards, it looks pretty good. Mihocek and De Goey are actually really good body to body players, so Brown would be the main lead up. He has really long arms, and is near on impossible to stop from behind on a lead. When in form, his goal-kicking is ok, but his confidence has been down lately.

I'd love Jeremy Cameron, but the cost is excessive. I think Brown is the best/most affordable big men we can get with what we have to offer. I'd also love to really bolster the stocks by going for Peter Wright, and drafting McCartin with a rookie pick.

I think the answer is Ben Brown. He is the most obtainable, still 27, is 200cm and is a proven goal-kicker who is capable of kicking 60 a year.

He has some deficiencies no doubt such as the fact he isn't really a contested marking beast, leads in straight lines, and defensively isn't good enough. But those deficiencies are far less than what Mason Cox offers. Cox is similar in his lack of defensive pressure or ability to take contested marks when body to body against an opponent. But Cox at best can only deliver 20-30 goals a year...and that's optimistic.

I think if you had Brown, Mihocek and De Goey as your 3 key forwards, it looks pretty good. Mihocek and De Goey are actually really good body to body players, so Brown would be the main lead up. He has really long arms, and is near on impossible to stop from behind on a lead. When in form, his goal-kicking is ok, but his confidence has been down lately.

I'd love Jeremy Cameron, but the cost is excessive. I think Brown is the best/most affordable big men we can get with what we have to offer. I'd also love to really bolster the stocks by going for Peter Wright, and drafting McCartin with a rookie pick.
Cameron would cost a mint. Unless he nominated us and took pay cut agree not obtainable. Brown likely most bang for buck, but I still really want a KPF that’s good lead and 1 v 1.. Think we can add couple of top ups cheap enough

Wondering peoples thoughts on draft value of the following. Obviously money and picks come into the equation but Im working off a decent cleanout and aggressive trading to totally change our forward line landscape.

Hogan and McCarthy or hogan solo, McCarthy pre season. Fully understand their issues.
I thought third round as a package pending financial arrangements. maybe one of our players goes their way as well as they will try to maximise hogan.

Peter Wright - Thought second round(future) and a couple if Phillips, hoskin Elliot, Thomas, sharenburg,

Brown and Polec package - would be our first rounder also depending some financials as well. Polec to replace Phillips. maybe a player their way.
Fully understand browns possible knee problems but working on the theory of him coming up ok.

All of our older guys to be culled, Reid, Greenwood, Varcoe etc.

Would look at the possibility of moving Steele on as well as much as it hurts to do so.

Stevo Brown Hogan
McCarthy Wright Elliot

A forward line like this would stretch defences.
also mihocek, mix it up how you please. One could play of a wing as a marking option down the line as this seems to be another area we struggle. No marking targets out of full back and half back. Elliot and de goey swapping up through the middle

tonights line up: Appleby Cameron H/ Elliot
Thomas Cox Elliot

Thats a horrendous forward line.

would take blowing the list up a bit but think its well worth it as we are deplorable forward of centre

The population of our zone in Barkley is like 10-15k so not a big pool for talent, so I'm not expecting there to always be strong players coming from the zone. I also reckon covid will impact our ability to interact up there, a lot of Aboriginal Communities are closed right now because of the risks. The NT borders are closed still also.

Wondering peoples thoughts on draft value of the following. Obviously money and picks come into the equation but Im working off a decent cleanout and aggressive trading to totally change our forward line landscape.

Hogan and McCarthy or hogan solo, McCarthy pre season. Fully understand their issues.
I thought third round as a package pending financial arrangements. maybe one of our players goes their way as well as they will try to maximise hogan.

Peter Wright - Thought second round(future) and a couple if Phillips, hoskin Elliot, Thomas, sharenburg,

Brown and Polec package - would be our first rounder also depending some financials as well. Polec to replace Phillips. maybe a player their way.
Fully understand browns possible knee problems but working on the theory of him coming up ok.

All of our older guys to be culled, Reid, Greenwood, Varcoe etc.

Would look at the possibility of moving Steele on as well as much as it hurts to do so.

Stevo Brown Hogan
McCarthy Wright Elliot

A forward line like this would stretch defences.
also mihocek, mix it up how you please. One could play of a wing as a marking option down the line as this seems to be another area we struggle. No marking targets out of full back and half back. Elliot and de goey swapping up through the middle

tonights line up: Appleby Cameron H/ Elliot
Thomas Cox Elliot

Thats a horrendous forward line.

would take blowing the list up a bit but think its well worth it as we are deplorable forward of centre
Hogan and McCarthy is straight up no from me. just no. We have enough of field issues.

wright isn’t worth 2nd round AND players, despite his contract he’s not playing so his value isn’t that high. Gold Coast won’t just let him go, but they def want to salary dump. Late second for me.

brown is tricky, he’s been dropped, injured, not sure what he’s worth. Obviously huge goal kicker so north would want late first. Tough to know if he wants out, lots to play out To work out value. Polec to me has absoultely no upside on Phillips, none. Not interested in him at all.

there are a lot of options I’ve mentioned before other than brown, wright, Cameron, as we need both KPF and KPD, Allir Allir, McDonald, finlayson, schache, Brennan Cox etc. just may require adjusting the goal posts a bit

Doesn't change the fact that long term we don't have a genuine crumber on the list. We need to get serious about it. They are considered probably the lowest value picks at the draft table, but a good crumber is essential in any side. They kick goals. We've neglected it for some time, as the priority has been to put in midfielders who can't quite cut it to play as defensive style forwards. It worked in 2018 when we have JT and Varcoe up and running. But hasn't worked since.

I'm sick of seeing everyone going up for a mark, and no one at ground level to crumb. Its basic footy 101 really.

Yep I’ve been banged on about this for more than 5 years I reckon.

Our crumbing ability is atrocious. Bar Varcoe (who is ready to retire) we don’t really have a natural crumber in our whole team.

Next best crumber is probably DeGoey. Which doesn’t really work when he is the target.

Personally I thinks it’s partly an indictment on our willingness to target the flair of indigenous talent.

Guys id look at trading in (McDonald, Brown, Richards, Sexton) Then we should have a top 10 pick come in and Reef as well for the future.

Not sure on McDonald's and Sextons value

Maynard - Roughead - Richards
Crisp - McDonald - Howe
Treloar - Pendles - Quaynor
Grundy - Adams - Sidebottom
Mihocek - Moore - Stephenson
Sexton - Brown - DeGoey

His bad knees notwithstanding you’re effectively suggesting the net benefit of BB over Cox is an extra 20-30 goals per year. I think there might cheaper ways to get these extra goals eg recruiting a crumber.

Yep I’ve been banged on about this for more than 5 years I reckon.

Our crumbing ability is atrocious. Bar Varcoe (who is ready to retire) we don’t really have a natural crumber in our whole team.

Next best crumber is probably DeGoey. Which doesn’t really work when he is the target.

Personally I thinks it’s partly an indictment on our willingness to target the flair of indigenous talent.
Yep, I have been harping on about this as well. Drives me nuts. When the ball is in the air we are just non existent in any structure when the ball hits the deck.

It was so obvious that none of our forwards have been trained to do so, especially when you have Cox bringing the ball to ground. It’s actually one of the reasons why we have struggled to score this year imo. We are getting the F50 entries but no results for effort.