List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2020

Reckon there has been more hype around ND than any other f/s we have ever had. He’s been talked about since he was 12 years old as the next big thing. I guess you’re right Dave at the end of the day he’s probably been seen by the recruiters but at the end of the day he still has to make his case next year.

As long as things are Fairly Normal Next Year with the Shortend Underage Comp there is a Chance Nick might play some games with our Reserves

A fit Dixon would be perfect. Dixon being fit is a gamble. It's also very much a short term fix. I could only handle that if we had a developing key forward to come in when he retires, which means we would need to draft a good one this year. As Dixon isn't a free agent we'd need to trade for him which would be challenging too I imagine. I do like him as a player and I think he would compliment the group of forwards we have.

Does Dixon have that many injury issues over the past 5 years apart from his broken leg?

Other than last year the least amount of games he had since 2016 was 18 so I don’t know where these injury concerns come from. Hawkins used to have huge injury concerns, hes in career best form at 32

Dixon's recent injury history has been okay outside the leg. He missed a lot of footy at Gold Coast. Has only cracked 20 games in a season twice in his career.

In regards to list cuts

There will be a great opportunity
Love to get
A early Adelaide pick or a early north pic
Petruccele is an interesting option. Dropped off the radar a bit. Super quick but don’t recall what his foot skills are like?

Correct quick as
We're getting slower
Everyone else seems to be getting quicker

In: chol out Cameron/Cox
In: Baker out Mayne
In: Aarts out Thomas
In: Picket out Sir/wills/T.Brown
In: Stack out WHE

Can;t be bothered anymore but that is just a few
Chol will be retained I think.

There are people here complaining Bianco is to small and shouldn’t have been picked - both Baker and Aarts are smaller and Stack is the same size.
So I’d only take Stack who has hardness and give games to Bianco.

I think it's something we need to work on with Stephensons development. Perhaps its why he's been in the twos.

I think that’s a big part of it.

At the moment he’s putting in Fasolo level defensive efforts.

Which, regardless of Fas’s offensive talent, eventually led to his demise with us. And ultimately out of the AFL ranks all together.

There are people here complaining Bianco is to small and shouldn’t have been picked - both Baker and Aarts are smaller and Stack is the same size.
It was in reply to another poster. Size is irrelevant if you can play really good footy and Baker is now elite coming off half back, stack could be anything and very versatile and Aarts already looks better than some of our small forwards

I’m not sure where to start...

Nevertheless I need to say.... I disagree... Strongly.
Firstly we need points for next year so dipping into that won't happen
We have developing kpf Kelly ,tohill
We have zero currency for a first round pick apart from
Moore
Dr goey
Stepho
Grundy
Maynard

Who you giving up to get that gun kid? Proven stud ?
Not gonna get daniher,won't get Hawkins
Which other free agents?

You take casbolt ,knowing he's proven, knowing he's flexible, knowing althy he's aged he ain't been injured and is a friggin beast!

You get 2 years bring Kelly and tohill along

You pick up ronke again for zip
Improvement on Thomas, brown or even get in mosquito s ear
We ain't got a reliable goal sneak as well

High hopes for Bianco. Even rewatched his draft videos. He is a beautiful kick and weights them perfectly. His delivery into the forward line atm would be helpful.

But I’d still take a couple of the fringe Tigers players.

Aarts forward, Baker back.

And Stack could play either and ultimately could even play midfield.

That’s even before we talk about RCD who would still likely require a pick in the 20’s to pry him away.

Why should Bianco’s height be an issue? He’s the same height as Daicos. Should we cut Josh because he’s too short...?

It was in reply to another poster. Size is irrelevant if you can play really good footy and Baker is now elite coming off half back, stack could be anything and very versatile and Aarts already looks better than some of our small forwards

Not sure I agree size is irrelevant in this era of bigger bodies especially in the midfield, that’s why Rich struggled last year when Cotchin and Dusty were out - too many small bodied (<180cm ) mids eg Prestia is only 175cm.
Similarly Ess are crying out for bigger mids.
Baker off half back - we have Maynard IQ, Noble so we don’t need him.
Stack - yes, but would play him small fwd, so we don’t need Aarts.

Why should Bianco’s height be an issue? He’s the same height as Daicos. Should we cut Josh because he’s too short...?

Ask the detractors- I made the same point to them at draft time by emphasing that Rowell was also 178cm. I’m sure you have heard those voices in past crying “ why do we pick short people” referring to both CB and Josh.

I do however believe there is a trend towards bigger bodied mids, so smaller guys need some elite abilities if they are to be picked.

Ask the detractors- I made the same point at draft time by emphasing that Rowell was also 178cm.
I do however believe there is a trend towards bigger bodied mids, so smaller guys need some elite abilities if they are to be picked.

Well Daicos and Bianco are Elite Users of the Ball and Lovely Kicks

Ronke 23 goals getting scraps
34 games
back injury 3 games this year
22 years of age

Like Rohan will be better away from the postage stamp called the scg

Cheap as chips ☺️🙂🙂

Other than last year the least amount of games he had since 2016 was 18 so I don’t know where these injury concerns come from. Hawkins used to have huge injury concerns, hes in career best form at 32

I'm playing devils advocate here because I really like Dixon as a player. Even if we were to accept his injury history as acceptible (which is reasonable) is it worth it for such a short term proposition? And what does it cost given it would require a trade (Dixon is not a free agent)?

Ronke 23 goals getting scraps
34 games
22 years of age

Like Rohan will be better away from the postage stamp called the scg

Cheap as chips ☺🙂🙂
I could get on board with Ronke at the right price. Has the ability to create goals that C Brown will never have and Thomas hasn’t had since 2018.

Dixon's recent injury history has been okay outside the leg. He missed a lot of footy at Gold Coast. Has only cracked 20 games in a season twice in his career.

Yea but getting injured 8 years ago doesn't really have much bearing on his 2021 chance of getting injured, he's been very durable in recent times and has no lingering soft tissue issues.

In: chol out Cameron/Cox
In: Baker out Mayne
In: Aarts out Thomas
In: Picket out Sir/wills/T.Brown
In: Stack out WHE

Can;t be bothered anymore but that is just a few

Thomas , Mayne, Wills arent and shouldn't be best 22

Baker is a midget, vanilla.
Aarts is who?
Picketts stats this year are appalling, Cal Brown has had better output and he gets slagged on these boards. Plus plays as a forward

Rather put games into our youngsters than waste time on those tiges players

Stack and Chol at the right price , not overs in terms of wage, or trade if it comes to that?

if we waste time on the others id be surprised.

Again dont have my blinkers on , i think itd be wreckless recruiting again for the fifth year in a row if we splash out on some tiger rookies that arent all that exciting

Ronke 23 goals getting scrap
34 games
22 years of age

Like Rohan
I could get on board with Ronke at the right price. Has the ability to create goals that C Brown will never have and Thomas hasn’t had since 2018.
I think unless we're giving up something mate we have to think laterally

If list sizes drop he might be gettable, cheap
Has dropped away a bit

They have a few academy kids to look at

Yea but getting injured 8 years ago doesn't really have much bearing on his 2021 chance of getting injured, he's been very durable in recent times and has no lingering soft tissue issues.

Injured 2 and 4 years ago. Dixon needed surgery in 2019 on his leg following a broken fibula an torn ligaments in his ankle. He missed footy in 2016 following meniscus damage in his knee which also needed surgery. 2017-2018 and 2020 are injury free which is pretty good, 2017-2018 were the two years he played over 20 games in the season, the only time he has achieved that.

We ain't getting Jezza
We ain't getting Hawkins
We ain't getting daniher
We ain't getting Wright
We ain't getting Dixon

Lists will be tops 35
Clubs will all have to drop 12 players each
Clubs will/ may also have to cut 3 for kids

Basic maths means 250 to 270 guys also I suspect that a lot of clubs have high commitments to players and if salary cap is dropped say 35% lot of quality players will be available

I'm playing devils advocate here because I really like Dixon as a player. Even if we were to accept his injury history as acceptible (which is reasonable) is it worth it for such a short term proposition? And what does it cost given it would require a trade (Dixon is not a free agent)?

IF we won a Flag it would be