List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency - Fred 11

What Picks Will Richmond Get For Baker Bolton & Rioli

I don’t mind Collingwood having a red hot crack while they think they have the cattle

Little bit hypocritical of us to be saying you have to win flags and regenerate at the same time

We’re in for a few hard years no doubt but three flags makes it worth it

The Pies having a go and having an "all in" approach thats fine I reckon............but.....they've lost all their high draft picks to get Dan Houstan...it will either be a success or go bust....thats what we did to get Toranto and Hopper...sold our high draft picks to get them to the Tigers..but our window closed. However with all the early draft picks we have got for the 2024 draft (8 in first 24) that makes up for a few years ago when we sold the farm for Toranto and Hopper.

those picks we gave werent even that good anyway

I personally cant see north trading #2 without #6 being involved and im ok with that if we have #2 then #6 just becomes another pick that we tale a midfielder with.

#6 is important for North for 2 reasons first is they have their choice of KPP and also get another with a later pick most likely trainor. 2nd reason is they can further trade #6 to GWS for #15 , #16 , #21

I think Hartley will be looking at #6 and #20 as the trade but will have to give up #6 & #18 which im ok with as it gets us the best 2 mids and leave us with #1 , #2 , #10 , #11 , #20 , #23 , #24 FOS / Lalor double

The later 2 picks #23 & #24 are the 2 picks we should be looking into trading for F1's if we decide to move them and are happy with our haul but if we stll have players we rather take just use them but there will be clubs coming for them
Geelong , Essendon , Eagles x 2 picks , St Kilda are the teams i would deal with for their F1's for #24
I'm with you. We need to get the top 2 players on our board for this rebuild, as long as we aren't giving up more than 6 & 18. Yes the extra player would be handy but id rather pick 2 over 6.

Best #2 picks -
will ashcroft, noah anderson, andrew brayshaw,Cotchin, Josh Kelly, Petracca, Cognilio, Naitanui, Roughead, Ball, wells, walker, ottens, nigel lappin
vs
Pick 6
Jack Macrae, Wingard, Conca, Gary Rohan, Ben King, Yarran, no point naming the rest.

Theres a clear difference for mine. GET PICK 2

so much jealousy over our haul its amazing mang
Amazing isn't it...we came stone motherless last in the 2024 AFL Comp...everybody is happy...I mean everybody...
let me count them...the oppo, the umps, the AFL, the afl boy's club medya, tv, everybody jumped on board...
Come the draft and we receive our draft entitlements for being stone motherless last and draft trades everybody is unhappy
I mean everybody...
Let me count them again...the oppo, the AFL, the afl boy's club medya, tv, everybody is jumping on board...
We seem to be in everybody's head!

I don’t mind Collingwood having a red hot crack while they think they have the cattle

Little bit hypocritical of us to be saying you have to win flags and regenerate at the same time

Agree flags are hard to win, strike while the iron is hot.

Rebuilds are no guarantee of success just ask GWS, GC, Blues etc…

I would too. I really like smillie.

I’d take him over Langford personally. His pace is a problem, he looks fine at u18 where most players will top out playing for Vermont, Nobel park etc… he started to look slow at vfl, and we know afl is way faster than vfl.

It was his first vfl game and his endurance is elite so you can’t write him off, but we already sook about Taranto/Graham/Hopper being slow at afl level yet Taranto at least was about 3 seconds flat for 20m.
Seen some of Smillies's highlights and I'm impressed...a young Pavlich in the making!?

He gets too many liberties needs a solid hiding

You know he gets off on pain?

He is kind of like Bane from Batman.

“Most of us adopted the pain and hidings in Groupie_ basement but tigs2010 was born into the pain and moulded by it. He didn’t even know what it was like to not breath through a gimp mask until he was a man”

Wat

Exactly this. If you think you have the cattle, then go all in and have a crack. Don't sit on the sidelines hoping you'll get better. We recruited Caddy, Prestia and Nank - three players coming into their prime - after finishing 13th with no recent success to indicate we were remotely on the right track. But we backed our list in and got paid handsomely for it. Ditto Lynch the following year. Countless other examples - premierships are rarely won with a bunch of home-grown talent, there's usually multiple key recruits that have helped deliver it. Look at Dunkley, Neale, Cameron and Daniher and to a lesser extent McKenna, McCarthy, Lyons - Brisbane wouldn't have done it this year without them.

It's why I'm not overly hung up about Taranto and Hopper. Yes we badly overestimated our list and in hindsight got it wrong, but at least we had a crack at winning another flag. Would rather that from my club than sitting on the sidelines and perpetually coming 5th - 8th with the odd prelim (think North in the Drew Petrie days). People forget that the only reason you are 'regenerating' is to eventually win a flag. If you can do it now, then ****ing why not now?

Also - re Taranto and Hopper - if they can stay on the park they will be pretty invaluable for us in the coming years. Will be very important in leading / protecting / setting an example for whatever young talent we draft in the next few years.

I would too. I really like smillie.

I’d take him over Langford personally. His pace is a problem, he looks fine at u18 where most players will top out playing for Vermont, Nobel park etc… he started to look slow at vfl, and we know afl is way faster than vfl.

It was his first vfl game and his endurance is elite so you can’t write him off, but we already sook about Taranto/Graham/Hopper being slow at afl level yet Taranto at least was about 3 seconds flat for 20m.
Yeah he seemed to offset his lack of pace by just ragdolling everyone in the juniors. He's still going to develop into a big man who can seriously play footy. Hard to pass up on.

I cant believe how reckless Collingwood (and McRae) have been. Its completely selfish by Fly and unbelievably arrogant.

Even if they win the flag this year, they have 9 x 32s+ that will be no longer there when Tassie enter the draft. Even if they win the next 2 flags, they're not going to have a pick in the top 30 for the next 4 drafts! It will be just impossible.

I reckon the arrogance is from them saying that they'll poach the shithouse out of GCE, WCE and Tassie on all their kids that want to come home or free agents. But to get the homesick kids, you need to trade for them. And the free agents dont want to come to an old, dated and aging list. They might snag say 1 free agent per year, but they're gonna need to replace 9 of their current best 22. You cant do that with free agents.

And doing ANY kind of rebuild when Tassie come would make me feel absolutely sick. Carlton have only just come out of having to do it with GC/GWS... Essendon, North, Saints still havent. Saints are the perfect example, the missed the 2010 flag by a whisker with an aging list, then have been stuck in no-mans land since - and will be for another 5 years.

We had absolutely no option but to make the call we have, regardless of the pain for the next 3-4 years.

Collingwood want to be a Geelong/Sydney and constantly top up to avoid the word rebuild. But its an absolute furphy. Melbourne clubs trying to exist like that is foolish. Geelong is basically in a different state, with a 15% bonus on their salary cap on all Melbourne clubs. You can have the dream lifestyle, for a 15% reduction on COLA... yet still be in Melbourne. Its the leg up that no other club can compete with. And they're not competing with anyone. They can make players sign for 700, instead of a million.... because they're going to make in back and more on within minutes of buying their first Bellarine home. Its not Geelong's "culture" allowing them to do it... its ****ing 15 free kicks a year. Its not cheating, but their using a different "currency" to anyone else.

Collingwood thinking they can do the same is just absolute arrogance. But the pain is going to be brutal - even if they snag another flag. The thinking that they can rely on brand for free agents or buying homesick kids is mental. A "Harry Perryman at $900k" addition each year will only make their whole structure even worse. And its all going to happen when their messiah - Nick Daicos - is in his absolute prime. When the AFL bring in changes to trading picks 2 years in advance... if Collingwood think that will help... no one is going to go hard on that, because pick 1 for the wooden spooner is going to be pick 6... a preliminary finalist will be 30 - who's buying that?

You watch the Collingwood Board in 24 months time complaining about equalisation when their new reality hits. Discussions of the NSW teams regaining COLA, the draft measures for Tassie, the Academy free kicks for northern states..... EDDIE and Collingwood supporters will be vicious, deafening. The AFL needs to remember this moment, this point in time... because whilst Carlton has chosen one direction in getting pick 3 (the right strategy), Collingwood has chosen to not think past their own nose. And if Houston doesnt get the flag he wants in the next couple of years.... he'll just **** off like any player can do these days.

I know this is thread is about Richmond and should be. But l cannont fathom what Collingwood have just done. It looks good on paper, but they are so ****ing stupid. That's what happens when you have a Coach and List Manager that long time mates/teammates... the conflict of interest is ridiculous. There is no separation and rationalisation. They've ****ed themselves HARD.

We have/had to take our medicine - but our timing is going to be the envy of 16 other clubs - who have to experience the 'rebuild' model when their time comes.
At least Collingwood are going all in, vs the limp dick strategy that we're seeing Essendon and St Kilda take.

Collingwood have 2 years of contending left, and then they're in for 5+ years of pain. Their good young players might even get poached by Tassie to rub salt into the wound.

I posted stats for free kicks for the last 7 years that showed they get sucked off by the men in phlegm and this campaigner thinks im talking about the 2023 grand final only
those campaigners shouldn't have got nowhere a flag
They were sucked off every week
Never seen a side gifted a flag like that in my.life

List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency - Fred 11