AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Not when they are at least 3 yrs from starting their raid & we are doing a bit of a reset now it seems. We'll have the hard yards done before they start raiding.We aren’t rebuilding though. Aren’t you looking at Tassie coming in as a threat for talent replenishment.
I think today's game not only highlighted the importance of TT and Hopper in this team, but also the importance of keeping your senior leaders even if you're going through a rebuild.
WCE don't win the game if they decided to trade out players like McGovern, Barrass, Yeo and Kelly (as multiple people have suggested over the past couple of seasons), and it was the senior players in Waterman, Darling and Cripps who were rag-dolling us in the attack once WCE won the ball out of the middle.
Contrast that with North who have gone full youth, and there is no leadership, structure, accountability or standards even with Clarko in charge there. North fans want their "senior" players in MacDonald, Corr, Fisher etc. all out of the team if social media is anything to go by.
One or two for the right deal? Sure. But to say we accept every half decent offer we get for an older player is ludicrous.
Our performance yesterday was a portent of how you go when devoid of midfield experience, the investment in TT and Hopper was so we had a bridge , the only break down in that plan has been hoppers questionable durability . We will have a significant transition post season and I’m expecting that baker and graham both go most likely dusty too so beyond that you don’t need to go scorched earth . We will have a load of pics , the challenge is to make everyone countThe tide can turn really quickly for a footy club, and it’s lunacy to consider trading any high quality players out of the club… by this I mean Baker, Bolton, Vlastuin, Rioli etc…
But given our list position, I’d certainly entertain trading out players with ‘value’ who I can’t see as being a big loss to our on-field fortunes: Jack Graham. Jayden Short. Broad.
Short hasn’t played really good, consistent footy for multiple seasons now. He’s a great long kick, but he’s not creative out of the back half, he’s not a great defender and he’s not going to be sorely missed .. he’s also getting injured a fair bit - I wouldn’t push him out but I’d float the idea of another flag somewhere else. Broad is a no brainer as he’s ageing and we have Tresize, Bauer and Brown coming through in a similar role. Then Graham is a vanilla player who’d still get us a 30’s pick - I’ve been waiting for Graham to take the next step to a B+ player… it hasn’t yet happened and i accept now it never will. He won’t hurt us at another team.
So that’s $1.2m in cap space and would get us a 20’s pick for Short, a 30’s pick for Graham and a late 3rd for Broad.
We don’t want to do an Eagles and miss out on all the opportunities to boost our draft hand, and we will get overs for Short and Graham as Premiership players.
It’s not in bad shape we just need to add 4 x top 10 qty juniors. That doesn’t mean necessarily picked in top 10 , means acing those top 25 pics that they’re genuine qty ,,, like shai and BaltaNot to mention our list is simply not in requirement of a full rebuild. We have a more than competitive list, with some genuine stars, and some very promising role players.
There are a couple of major components missing for now, a strong breakaway midfielder, and our next gun key forward are the main two areas. We will have the draft picks to find these type of players(of the future) this year, plus the salary cap space to find at least one quality free agent this year or next. Teams could be lining up for our future picks if we have a really low finish this year and that may give us some excellent trade capital as well, before we troll them by contending in 2025.
I reckon with mid-season draft and SSP you just have to take the best prospects available. If you look for a certain type of player in such a thin pool you end up with Kaelen Bradtke.Now that we have Clarke as well as Gisbcus out for the rest of the year, can we get 2 mid-season draft picks and if so, what half decent fullforwards are there available?
Or a kozi..I reckon with mid-season draft and SSP you just have to take the best prospects available. If you look for a certain type of player in such a thin pool you end up with Kaelen Bradtke.
The only issue I would have with trading out Broad is that we very quickly become a team with a shakey and inexperienced defence. We have Vlas down there but I think we need a Broad as the stop gap to bridge and protect the Browns of the world.The tide can turn really quickly for a footy club, and it’s lunacy to consider trading any high quality players out of the club… by this I mean Baker, Bolton, Vlastuin, Rioli etc…
But given our list position, I’d certainly entertain trading out players with ‘value’ who I can’t see as being a big loss to our on-field fortunes: Jack Graham. Jayden Short. Broad.
Short hasn’t played really good, consistent footy for multiple seasons now. He’s a great long kick, but he’s not creative out of the back half, he’s not a great defender and he’s not going to be sorely missed .. he’s also getting injured a fair bit - I wouldn’t push him out but I’d float the idea of another flag somewhere else. Broad is a no brainer as he’s ageing and we have Tresize, Bauer and Brown coming through in a similar role. Then Graham is a vanilla player who’d still get us a 30’s pick - I’ve been waiting for Graham to take the next step to a B+ player… it hasn’t yet happened and i accept now it never will. He won’t hurt us at another team.
So that’s $1.2m in cap space and would get us a 20’s pick for Short, a 30’s pick for Graham and a late 3rd for Broad.
We don’t want to do an Eagles and miss out on all the opportunities to boost our draft hand, and we will get overs for Short and Graham as Premiership players.
tt and hopper wouldn't make a difference, we were beaten all over the park and in the coaches box.I think today's game not only highlighted the importance of TT and Hopper in this team, but also the importance of keeping your senior leaders even if you're going through a rebuild.
WCE don't win the game if they decided to trade out players like McGovern, Barrass, Yeo and Kelly (as multiple people have suggested over the past couple of seasons), and it was the senior players in Waterman, Darling and Cripps who were rag-dolling us in the attack once WCE won the ball out of the middle.
Contrast that with North who have gone full youth, and there is no leadership, structure, accountability or standards even with Clarko in charge there. North fans want their "senior" players in MacDonald, Corr, Fisher etc. all out of the team if social media is anything to go by.
One or two for the right deal? Sure. But to say we accept every half decent offer we get for an older player is ludicrous.
I agree fully, just any word on if it's a good draft minus the father sons and academy players? I reckon we bid on all those good players with our first picks and force their clubs to give up lots of picks!Our contract strategy should be that we are going to bat deep in the next few drafts and get the swing of players early before Tassie destroys the drafts.
We will need to give up something of value and I would prefer that we keep Baker and give him the Captaincy and give up Bolton over Losing Baker and keeping Bolton. IF and it is a huge IF Bolton was open to a move back west, I would look at trying to get 2 First Rounders from Freo (Collingwood and Ports) plus steak knives between the two clubs.
If we give up a Short then we could get a 2nd rounder as well. He is a fabric player in terms of culture but jesus christ he has gone backwards on field.
With those 2 trades we could end up going to the draft with;
3 First Rounders - Richmond, Collingwood, Port
3 Second Rounders
1 Third
2 Fourth
We could easily turn those Second and third rounders into 2 First Rounders from Carlton and Brisbane. We could end up after a heap of points trading as
5 First Rounders (1 Top 10, 4 picks between 13 - 18)
1 Fourth Rounder
A draft haul like that is more than enough to really kick start a rebuild along with the 2021 haul.
From this we also need to star picking the eyes out of some better/younger stop gaps that can come in. We need another Houli and Grigg type trade target as well as a Chaplin stop gap in our defence. There should be a heap of good players that we can get cheap from the 2019 - 2021 drafts that are not getting a heap of games that we can try and find value in.
I don't think it is wise to trade 2 players like Bolton and Baker for just a single pick 1. Those two together as a deal would be worth 2 top 10s and later first rounder as a start. Unless there is player that could be generational like Reid then it would be better of to have as many top 10 picks as possible. Never know when career ending injury can strike.Commiserations fellas, we’ve had a really rough trot with injuries over the past couple of years and know what it’s like to put out a team missing half your top liners. Thought Lefau was very, very impressive considering how undermanned your talls were. Having started a rebuild/retool ourselves it seems like a few on your board are suggesting that trading one or two valuable players to get into the pointy end of the draft might be palatable moving forward. We’ve had plenty of opinions on whether we should have traded our flag stars Yeo/Gov/Barrass etc. and I’m sure you will too. If a deal materialised would you trade Baker and Bolton for pick 1 or would you consider those two to be more important to your side than the first pick which you’d presumably use on Smillie or O’Sullivan?
Hopefully your injured boys get back on the park soon.
Fair call. I’m obviously delighted we kept pick 1 last year and took Harley but this year (my opinion not necessarily other BF posters at this early stage) I feel like we should split it for multiple 1Rs. Was just looking at ways we could do that and proposed a trade with Tigers, Suns, Freo and us. Thought it was a win for everyone and resulted in you guys with the number 1 pick (24 hours ago) but sounds like you would rather deal with GCS or Freo directly and grab a couple of mid/late 1Rs for one of those players?I don't think it is wise to trade 2 players like Bolton and Baker for just a single pick 1. Those two together as a deal would be worth 2 top 10s and later first rounder as a start. Unless there is player that could be generational like Reid then it would be better of to have as many top 10 picks as possible. Never know when career ending injury can strike
Our contract strategy should be that we are going to bat deep in the next few drafts and get the swing of players early before Tassie destroys the drafts.
We will need to give up something of value and I would prefer that we keep Baker and give him the Captaincy and give up Bolton over Losing Baker and keeping Bolton. IF and it is a huge IF Bolton was open to a move back west, I would look at trying to get 2 First Rounders from Freo (Collingwood and Ports) plus steak knives between the two clubs.
If we give up a Short then we could get a 2nd rounder as well. He is a fabric player in terms of culture but jesus christ he has gone backwards on field.
With those 2 trades we could end up going to the draft with;
3 First Rounders - Richmond, Collingwood, Port
3 Second Rounders
1 Third
2 Fourth
We could easily turn those Second and third rounders into 2 First Rounders from Carlton and Brisbane. We could end up after a heap of points trading as
5 First Rounders (1 Top 10, 4 picks between 13 - 18)
1 Fourth Rounder
A draft haul like that is more than enough to really kick start a rebuild along with the 2021 haul.
From this we also need to star picking the eyes out of some better/younger stop gaps that can come in. We need another Houli and Grigg type trade target as well as a Chaplin stop gap in our defence. There should be a heap of good players that we can get cheap from the 2019 - 2021 drafts that are not getting a heap of games that we can try and find value in.
We need more quality rather than less even if the pick 1 was a star (Bolton is, albeit not every week)Fair call. I’m obviously delighted we kept pick 1 last year and took Harley but this year (my opinion not necessarily other BF posters at this early stage) I feel like we should split it for multiple 1Rs. Was just looking at ways we could do that and proposed a trade with Tigers, Suns, Freo and us. Thought it was a win for everyone and resulted in you guys with the number 1 pick (24 hours ago) but sounds like you would rather deal with GCS or Freo directly and grab a couple of mid/late 1Rs for one of those players?
tt and hopper wouldn't make a difference, we were beaten all over the park and in the coaches box.